December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Step To Fail

by NightDreamer - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Game will be playable under Windows & Linux. :)

Do you want to test, how good you are? Then play this game! :)

You have to collect the yellow coins to open the door and go to the next level.
But although you have to avoid the lasers! ;)
Can you beat the game?

Test it! :D


My main goal by coding this game for the Ludum Dare 28 , was to learn how to casting rays in a 2D environment. :)
If you see, I got it, but it is not pretty. ^^

Have fun! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1545Coolness24%

Comments

somepx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:06am

Lasers always catch me! Damn the top coin is hard to get! ;)
Rays work like a charm btw

NightDreamer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:23am

Thanks. :)
But I'm not really satisfied with my rays. If you look closely, you will realise, that sometimesthe ray goes through a corner of a block. -.-' :D

JaJ says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:12pm

It's a little too hard for me, it would have been a little more forgiving. But the rays do work.

LukuluK says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:04pm

It's really great ! The difficulty is directly hard, but if I keep trying I succeed in moving forward ! Good job :) The feeling of the game is cool, perhaps could have some sound feedbacks.
It reminds me the lasers in Super Meat Boy and the infiltration levels in Metroid Zero Mission !

Orangy Tang says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 11:52pm

Any chance of a mac version?

taocayo says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 11:21pm

would love to try it out on mac

agunter says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 2:39am

Loved the game; the physics, tight controls, and speed of movement were perfect.
Only complaints are a lack of sound, starting at the beginning after any and every death, and the lasers shining through 'cracks' in blocks(which made me stop playing after reaching the third zone).

NightDreamer says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 1:23pm

Thanks for the feedback, dudes! :)

I don't know, if I could make a mac port. I think there aren't any libraries. >.<
Did the mac support Java? I can look up, if it's possible for me. :)

I think I will make a better version with sound! :D
Maybe than it's even more funnier to die... :P

Yeah, that event, when the laser is shining through 'cracks' is what makes me unsatisfied... :(
But I don't know, how to fix it. But I'm trying. :)

stvr says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:03pm

Is the first coin (the one that's almost straight up) even possible to get?

NightDreamer says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 7:48am

Yes. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]