December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Wrecked

by Pomb - Jam Entry

Wrecked by a remote two man team.
Brendon Smuts : Programming
Paul Lombard : Art

Wrecked in the middle of nowhere, out there, in space you attempt to rebuild your ship out of the wreckage. Parts for your escape pod are within reach of your fleeting power supply. The main ship had plenty of power cells packed on board on in the lower hull facility storage drawer. Search for them to stay alive whilst rebuilding your escape pod. You only have one life, one pod, one mission, Stay alive!

Controls:
WASD or Arrow keys
left mouse button or left ctrl ("Fire1")
ESC:Quit
R: Restart

Known Bugs:
Mute/unmute with every turn
Score counter doesn't reset after death

PostMortem Page which includes timelapse
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/12/17/wrecked/



Downloads and Links


Ratings

#58Graphics(Jam)4.26
#87Mood(Jam)3.53
#119Overall(Jam)3.46
#125Innovation(Jam)3.28
#136Audio(Jam)3.32
#148Humor(Jam)2.89
#189Fun(Jam)3.10
#313Theme(Jam)2.64
#1259Coolness41%

Comments

sprawl says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:58pm

Congratulation on making such a great game in <72h.
The controls were a little hard at first but once you get the hang of it, it's really fun. The art and music is amazing too. I'm really surprised.

The only negative point is that "you have only one life" is kind of an easy way to tackle the theme.

Great job !

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:22am

The charater is really hard to control. The rotation is too fast i think. I like the graphics and the idea is funny. I'm a fan from universe games. :-) really good game

Binary Gambit says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:11am

fund game, very difficult. I liked the non-standard rotation and jetpack controls. The scrap metal is maybe a bit too heavy.

Pomb says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:39am

Thanks guys, I agree with the difficult controls! In truth we didn't spend all that much time fiddling with values or play testing, which shows. The one life was an "easy" / cliche way of thinking of the theme, but for me atleast I exceeded my expectations for what we achieved in the weekend. Comments in the office are that it would have benefited from screen space control scheme rather than facing direction.
Thanks for playing :)

Zemmi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:30am

Wow good job, your artwork is great. I agree with AtomicVikings the rotation could increment less or maybe just having a stripe down the middle of his head would make it clearer which way he is turned. Had fun and got a high score of 12.

finefin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:51am

looks and sounds very nice. I find the controls a bit frustrating, but you get used to it after playing one or two rounds. reall nice game overall!

psychomonster says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:40pm

cooooool... nice one. Like the idea... finding wreckage in space. Controls are a little difficult. But after practicing ffor a while it was fine. Cool animation when no more oxygen ^^

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:36pm

Love the artwork, really enjoyed watching your making of video too. It took a few attempts to figure out, and the controls are a little disorientating, since the mouse is involved, it'd be easier to have the cursor target the direction he thrusts in.

Tex Killer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:50pm

Good job. Only the control is a pretty hard.

kevinmylo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:19am

very cool! and in a short time frame! feels like space!

huhwhozat says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:57am

Controls were very difficult. Felt better after a while, but still very frustrating. Art was amazing. The lack of instructions was a major detractor. Nothing explains that you have to grapple the white parts back to the pod. This could easily be fixed on this page at least. Okay overall but I got bored after gathering 25 pieces and seeing no improvement in my situation. :P

glovecat says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:37am

Great Work! I really love everything in this game. It's like play a gravity game! Really awesome.
Maybe the rotation is to fast.

Diptoman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:25am

Controlling the character at low speeds was really difficult. Since he turned in a strange manner. But I guess that's part of the challenge. Other than that, everything's awesome! Awesome dynamics and physics, and great visuals!

dray says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:44pm

Love the art of the game ! the controls are very good once you are used to them and the gameplay is entertaining. I had trouble understanding the game at first because my graplink hook wasn't working if i it play again, i have to reload the game each time. i had a bug too where if i grab the piece close to the pod, the arm never retract and i can't launch it anymore. except those bugs, good job!

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Very hard to control! (which is kinda the point I guess) Would love to see a video of someone playing this through to the completed ship. (I suck too bad at it) ;___;

Xavier says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:14pm

As others said before the controls are difficult to handle the character. Very nice graphics and atmosphere, though the theme isn't too much elaborated ;-)

madflame991 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:23pm

Your concept is interesting and the game has a great spacey mood, but it could have had some more balanced controls. Also, it took me some time to realise those "space worms" were actually pod parts.

goerp says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:34pm

That's a very pretty game. The physics are solid and the sound is perfect for the game (have you ever watched 2001 a space oddysey?).
It's a shame though that the graphics were so small, and therefore I sometimes had trouble seeting which way I was pointing.
A bit too difficult maybe (just like my game, I think no one has finished that yet).

dudsen says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:04pm

Nothing to add here, I think you know where to put work already. Despite the difficult level and the direction problems, the idea, sound, visuals (ship animations!) are top notch.

Several says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:02am

Yep, most people have said it already: the graphics are great, the sound is excellent, and the controls are mean. I would have said the rotation is way too fast (it is), but the idea of using the mouse to orient does sound much better than fixing the keyboard-based turning.

TeamFlare says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:02pm

I sucked but yeah this was fun. Really cool game. Love the style.

Andrew Brophy says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:34pm

What a face.

Xaychru04 says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:56am

Wow, I loved the mood, awesome sounds effects! The character is a bit difficult to control, but when you get it the game is very enjoyable! Good job! :)

Dec 23, 2013 @ 6:01am

It takes a little while to get use to the controls but after you do it's a totally fun game, great graphics and sound as well.

Miltage says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 9:32am

I think I just unintentionally re-enacted the entire plot of Gravity...

greytram says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 6:21pm

Nice game! Great graphics and sounds.
Controlling the hero is a bit difficult, especially considering you don't have that much time :-)
Well done!

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 4:55pm

Controls are tricky but it's very enjoyable - nice work! :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]