December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Christmas Puzzle Nightmare

by uRLgR3y - 48 Hour Compo Entry

First entry into a Ludumdare 48 Hour Compo. Game implements the theme of "You Only Get One" by only allowing the user have one move to solve each puzzle. And since it is the Holiday, I gave some of my graphics a Holiday them. The game is browser based and done in dart/HTML 5 that has been compiled into JavaScript. It should work on all operating systems and most browsers.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#69Theme3.76
#275Fun3.21
#491Overall3.00
#537Audio2.42
#660Innovation2.65
#716Humor1.75
#750Mood2.39
#881Graphics2.09
#1041Coolness47%

Comments

chicknstu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:46pm

Played to the end. 'I am the winner'!

Some nice puzzle design, and a good twist on 'Puzznic'

Good work

Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:57pm

Awesome! Racking my brain searching for the "linchpin" in each level was totally fun. Nice puzzle music, too. Very good use of the theme, too.

postmodestie says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:00pm

Good game! Played till lvl 8, that one is really hard. Very good execution congrats!

Rynig says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:47am

pretty good!

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:54am

The 'success' sound for switching the blocks around successfully is a bit too loud in relation to the music playing - especially since it's high pitched, so that's unpleasant to the ears.

I really enjoyed the puzzles - well done!

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:21am

Great concept! I love picking one move and watching the dominoes fall and how it ultimately eliminates every brick. Great puzzle design!

ajfischer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:25am

This was quite fun and I was surprised at how long I played. A puzzle mechanic that has been done a million times, but allowing only one move really adds to it! I liked the background and how each level taught a new mechanic at the beginning.

pkenney says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:30am

Cool stuff! Reminded me of my old Tetris Attack days, but turn based. Played through the end, nice work.

KWL_TW says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:34am

Reminds me the Puzzle League, but still fun to play!

torcado194 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:36am

nice puzzle game! some of them were easier than others, and it was mostly just watching things fall into place. good job!

mystakin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:46am

This is a really rad game. Knowing that every puzzle's answer is a single move is mind boggling at times. Well done!

blearn says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:34pm

Nice game! I like the idea of one move that causes a chain of events. I got stuck on level 8 for a while then gave up.

Und[0]ne Devs says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:51pm

Nice game!! I like the only one move in every puzzle ;)

van noctar says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:50pm

The four'th or fifth level is so difficult! Good game!!

Nelien says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:33pm

Very addictive, couldn't put it down till I finished it: the chain reactions made it very satisfying; I would by the crap out of it on mobile. (with a more immersive background :P)

madflame991 says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:09am

Very clever puzzle game. It takes some thinking before you can decide which swap will clear the whole board. It's engaging and addicting - good job! (I won't say anything about the background image...)

Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:04pm

Great game ! Congratulations.

smash ball says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:14pm

It was a fun game that I played until the end. Don't make the background colors the same as the blocks, my eyes get confused.

gre says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 11:23am

Good game mecanism I think,
Very good take on the theme, I was able to reach level 7 and am a bit blocked now, it goes smoothly hard.
Nice music, graphics are a bit rough.

mobyvb says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 6:37pm

Challenging and fun.

anvoz says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 2:57pm

Great puzzle. Very challenging but also very entertaining. I really love the idea. It's very good use of the theme.

xrm0 says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 11:28am

Enjoyed the game. Well done.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]