December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Deci-minute Gamer Dinner!

by Aske - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my second Ludum Dare. This time the game is combined by the LD theme ("You only get one") and a school project I am making about videogames effect on people.
Compared to my last LD game, the collision system in this, is relatively better, but could still use some improvement.
The idea was that you only get one way of learning things: Through videogames, but then it evolved and Became: You only get chance, You only get one 1 minute and you only got one problem.

If you have any feedback PLEASE say it. It helps a lot :)
With nothing more to say... enjoy...

Controls:
-Arrow keys for movement
-Z,X,C for interaction
-Spacebar to exit text prompts

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#737Graphics2.44
#835Theme2.24
#864Innovation2.25
#935Overall2.35
#963Fun1.94
#1399Coolness33%

Comments

postmodestie says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:06pm

Haha! loaded so long i almost gave up, but it worked. On a sidenote, one standard fail in gamedev is to use 'z' for control, cause it will nortoriously be somewhere else on another localisation .. read it even in the LD-tips i think ;)
But nice work over all!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:12pm

I like the hotline-Miami style top down look. The wall collisions were pretty huge (my game has the same problem), and the doors were very narrow. Result: hilarious.

The page load time was pretty long...

Aske says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:32pm

I have updated the web bersion. SWFcabin was too long, so i just created a google site.

GravityScore says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:56pm

Nice game. Time limit was quite short. Took me a few attempts to get it.

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:20am

amusing game. i was confused when I was playing CookGame, and the current occupation said playing GTA, but otherwise, nice puzzle. good work.

Binary Gambit says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:20am

is this "winnable"? Being stuck in a house with Payday II and GTA V is my idea of a horror story :D

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:43am

Interesting game. Congrats on finishing your second LD!

Aske says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:46pm

Cheshyr, I have fixed the GTA bug in the post compo now :)

drnick says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:43pm

Took a few attempts, but very fun

Orangy Tang says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 11:54pm

Google drive download link doesn't work here :(

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]