December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Do not get shot

by MaxguN - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls :
- Arrows to move
- Space to shoot
- M to mute sound

Do not get shot is a hard shoot'em up.

You only get one try to complete the level. When you get shot, game over.

Developed in plain javascript. Used Construct 2 for the prototype.

The result isn't exactly what I had in mind initially but i'm quite happy with it. I've wanted to make a shoot'em up for quite a long time, now it's done.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#436Fun2.94
#652Overall2.82
#667Audio2.06
#813Theme2.29
#960Graphics1.76
#965Innovation1.94
#1399Coolness33%

Comments

Donutttt says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 11:45pm

This was fun - great effort, well done

vanaficionado says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:17am

I Like this game! Powerups would be a great adition, butits really fun!
Cheat : Hold(LeftArrow + Space)

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:35am

If the bullets were maybe a tad slower this would be perfect, One you get in a bit if there is lots of moving object all the bullets go invisible and you're in for sudden death.

Zolmeister says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:52am

Clean and simple, really like it.

GameRespect says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:03am

Pretty cool sort of bullet-time game you have here. Even though it seems hard, I think its quite 'fair' in its mechanics. Well done! :)

MaxguN says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:24pm

Thank you for your comments :)

@vanaficionado it's not really a cheat, you'll go up to the end of the level but you will have a "low" score ;)

@ParaPup I wanted the bullets to go fast so you have to react quickly when they're coming. By invisible you mean you experienced a bug ? Never seen bullets disappear while testing

@GameRespect thank you, that one is quite simple, vessel and bullets have the same speed ^^

Garrick says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:30am

Some more bullet patterns is much needed, otherwise it's a pretty fun game.

finefin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:28pm

a nice little shmup! I like it :)

Aaants says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:05pm

Very optimistic having 9 zeros in the score box with that level of difficulty! :D

I enjoyed it. Nice job.

Spelchan says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:49pm

Not sure if there is an end to the level or not as I am poor at twitch games to begin with and only having one life makes it even harder but it was entertaining.

larb says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:55pm

Cool entry.

It doesn't work in Chrome for me, for some reason, it just shows a white screen when you start. It works fine in Firefox though.

Nelien says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:55pm

Sooo hard!! But I had fun :D. You should try one of those music generators to get a background track going!

minibutmany says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:58pm

Nice stuff, really difficult, I couldn't last more than maybe 10 seconds!

Super Hamster says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:07am

Really addicting and fun :D

Dec 31, 2013 @ 11:21pm

I liked your game

plancien says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 10:40pm

+ Very clean.
+ Minimalist graphics are good.
- Was too hard (for me)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]