December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One True God

by kidder - Jam Entry

The One True God!

Build a cult and take over the world. Make millions of dollars and gain millions of followers. A simulation game of epic proportions! Developed and tested exclusively in Chrome - not sure how well it works in other browsers (but please report any bugs!)

Instructions & Hints:

The goal is to gain followers and cash by converting citizens to your cult. Careful management of society's perception of your cult and grooming of your bishops is critical to success.

Most buttons and controls and labels have (occasionally helpful) tooltips - mouse over something if you don't know what to do.

Bishops are exceedingly important and their attributes can never be high enough. Creating a pool of great bishops is key. Be careful that they don't defect - paying bishops the median region income is a good start, but might not be sufficient if their loyalties are low!

Keep track of Fervor and Hostility. Carefully manage your tithing rates to keep your congregations growing.

Make sure to read the tooltips!

Starting Out:
It's important to get your first region in a good state before expanding. Your goal is to get hostility low and fervor high, and to have a bishop with high stats. If your starting bishop isn't so great, consider recruiting a new one or training one to get his stats up. Once your starting region is positive in growth and profit, start expanding to other regions.

There is a wide variance in difficulty depending on starting conditions. Sometimes the best option is to restart (refresh) if you're stuck with lousy bishops and a hateful population.

Have fun!

Authors - @kiddarr and @pedawia

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#38Innovation(Jam)3.69
#87Humor(Jam)3.25
#93Overall(Jam)3.55
#111Fun(Jam)3.34
#139Theme(Jam)3.21
#162Mood(Jam)3.24
#386Graphics(Jam)2.76

Comments

code-11 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:51am

This is a very ambitious concept, and shows promise. It was created in a very short amount of time, clearly, but if you have more time to fix it up in the future I would gameplay testing. For me, the learning curve was very steep and it was difficult to tell when certain things would happen. How much is "good pay" for a bishop? Do bishops leave their posts when you train them? How much do bishops improve when you train them? How can I make money?

kidder says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:00am

@code-11: Thanks for the feedback!

Totally agree on all of your points. We would have loved to get more of a tutorial or way to learn in-game, but as you can imagine time was pretty short. I've tried to make some things clear via the in-game tooltips and the instructions on this page, but some things are intentionally vague to encourage experimentation and exploration. But that's a fine line to walk, of course.

Some of the UI actions are a bit unclear - I'll try to clarify the language in places to make it a bit less overwhelming.

angryfacing says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:07am

This is a very, very fun. I forgot I was going through and reviewing games and got carried away for about 30 minutes just clicking away. Very entertaining, really enjoyable, would actually love to see more to this game. :)

Bribz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:12am

Actually very in-depth, interesting, and fun. I'd love to watch this progress!

stvr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:15am

Did you make SimChurch in three days?! How?

j_stirk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:25am

Loved some of the random events, even if half my followers did die in a bus crash :D Great idea, and an interesting take on the business/tycoon sim.

Zerkruemler says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:34am

Very interesting and very promising. A good entry for a ludum dare, but quite hard to understand. I didn't manage to 'survive' more than a few rounds each time. Maybe this is intended, but for me it made it hard to know what to do.
I would like to get guidance how to play.

Seigeengine says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:36am

This game was enjoyable, fairly easy to understand, but I lost interest at about the point I had a few territories really good and conquered.

BluShine says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:52am

Fun, funny, and clever use of the theme. Some of the mechanics could be more transparent (I wish bishops had a "happiness meter", and I wish regions were colored differently to separate them or indicate population/income), but the game is still very playable.

Nut says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:54am

Ooh a strategy game. I'm not finished but I think I'm creaming it? I have money just rolling in and I'm expanding at maximum church size as fast as I can hire bishops. The balance probably needs some tweaking. Regardless, this is a lot of fun. The only serious downsides to me are that it doesn't really evoke the theme, and that there's no sound.

john_conder9 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:14am

Month 11155 | 180673 | $1,000,0007,132,592.76

I think I got the high score. Super fun game, the first ~15ish tries I went bankrupt and then it things went well and I started to understand the game. Around month 50~ish my manage bishop button quit working and I could not replace or recruit bishops :/ Around month 70 it got boring so I pressed & held enter and ... now I'm a trillionaire. HOLLA.

kidder says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:46am

thanks for all the feedback guys!

@BluShine happiness meter is a great idea. Region coloring was on my todo list, but it got cut :(

@Nut definitely needs some tweaking. The balance between profit/growth is a bit funky right now, and it basically comes down to expanding churches. Gonna think about how to adjust that a bit.

@john_conder9: I just fixed the bishop management bug :P The balance right now makes it easy to get money but hard to get followers - there actually is a win condition if you get enough.

Jago says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:13pm

A lot of potential in this one.

Hypermagical says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:18pm

Good to see a strategy game on here.

I was running into an issue that after a while some of the buttons didn't seem to line up with their clickable areas. This was on Firefox.

milugames says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:21pm

This was pretty good. I spent a good amount of time playingit and enjoyed it.

The lack of graphics was a let down though. Just the small thing of having a few buildings around to signify the cities would have changed a lot for me. Just a few blocks and the whole thing looks a lot better and is more exciting.

Other than that a cool game. Good job!

Lacutis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Really nice concept. Was really difficult to play and I ended up going bankrupt.
I think it was really ambitious and interesting for a LD entry!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:39pm

Very cool to go from managing money in a small church to planting megachurches all over the place!
How much money is the win condition though? I got to $60 million, built a convention everywhere but got too tired of keep recruiting bishops to run them.
A great take on the theme!

udo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:51pm

I loved this one very much, very nicely done! I always wanted to manage my own cult... er: church :)

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:42pm

Man, that was a really awesome game. Turned out Allah surpasses Jesus, Putin and patriarch Kirill, so I guess I'll just go and have a sip of Kool-Aid ;)

Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:17pm

Great in depth work for such a short time. With more time I'd work to implement a good tutorial to help you get into it easier as it's a bit overwhelming at the moment

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]