December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Battle of the Orange

by TheThirdOne - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Note:I was not able to fully complete this game.

You are a British general, you are holding the single last orange in the Atlantic. The pirates have attacked, trying to take the orange to rid themselves of scurvy.

Controls:
a/d: walk
space: attack

KILL THEM ALL!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#451Graphics3.00
#649Theme2.60
#1516Coolness26%

Comments

feizenbara says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:58am

It looks fun, but it's a shame you didn't complete it :-)

Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:07pm

I like the graphics, and it's a nice concept, I'd love to see it completed!

Crabman says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:10pm

I must admit that I still kinda like this. I guess that's charming graphics for ya. :)

Kvisle says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:20pm

The graphics remind me of the C64 era. I like how the boat rocks up and down. The colission when I fight is a bit off I think -- I'd love to see a win/lose condition added to the game.

Arkazon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Love the ship movement, as others have said - shame you didn't manage to finish it.

xrm0 says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 1:01pm

Nice idea, and the sprites look good

Orangy Tang says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 11:46pm

Really nice style, you should definitely try and finish this.

Dec 29, 2013 @ 7:20pm

I really like the graphics and the idea of having only one orange :P I included it in my Ludum Dare 28 compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/IHhkgdPuakc

atombrot says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 11:46pm

theme is special. It's sad you didn't had the time to finish it

csanyk says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 10:21pm

Keep going!

I found the controls and hit detection to be quite weak. It ididn't seem like the pirates did anything more than walk back and forth waiting for me to kill them -- I assume you didn't get to finish an attack mode for them.

I like the graphical style. The animation is crude, but looks like a decent Atari VCS style. I did like the rising and falling of the ship -- very convincing wave-like motion. Well done there.

Needs sound effects and some music to round it out. And endings.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]