December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Blast Miners

by Zeno - Jam Entry

This is a multiplayer-only game, played by two players on one keyboard. There is no end game or win-lose in the game currently.

Blow up your friend, but you only get one bomb at a time. Blast and mine your way to victory. Victory not implemented.

Controls:
Player One:
WASD to move, J to place bomb, K to mine dirt

Player Two:
Arrow keys to move, . (period) to place bomb, / (slash) to mine dirt

By Zeno and sleepyprincess

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#169Fun(Jam)3.15
#241Graphics(Jam)3.30
#355Mood(Jam)2.67
#380Audio(Jam)2.40
#394Overall(Jam)2.79
#495Theme(Jam)2.00
#517Innovation(Jam)2.00
#1358Coolness36%

Comments

kyyrma says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:00pm

It looks like it would have been a really fun Bomberman-clone if you had more time to work on it. I had the chance to try with a second player, and it was fun. Some simple additions like a way to restart the level or tally a score would have made all the difference. Also, the way the characters bounce against objects is pretty disorienting.

Katamori says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:18pm

I've seen your screens about it, let's see that you could do.

Bouncing is funny, graphics are neat, gameplay is promising! But how is it related to the the? Still, 5 overall!

Dry Tree says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:26pm

nice bomberman tribute. I really like the walking sound effect - it fits just right with that retro gaming style.

moop says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:35pm

Nice twist on bomberman. Oil barrels were a good addition to help keep the pace up with the single bomb at a time restriction.

DallOner says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Good game!!!
One Bombeman of 48h.

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:57pm

I had a lot if fun and can see how much more fun and captivating it would be with two players :)

Hyoga-3D says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:50pm

hahaha this is pretty good, congrats on your entry! i really like that you can use your pickaxe as a weapon, very nice!

WojWorks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:01am

Nice Bomberman-clone.

udinjelek says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:54am

nice bomber mannnn!! it is possible playing with friend via wifi or lan? because its very exciting XD. good work after all

Und[0]ne Devs says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:05pm

Nice game bomberman style! It will be fun playing against second player ;)

kcpunk666 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:43pm

A good beginning to a bomberman like game indeed. i enjoyed the walking sound.

Orangy Tang says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 11:39pm

Good fun! Really needs to declare a winner at the end but interesting use of the theme. :)

Jan 4, 2014 @ 3:06pm

Fun 2 player game!!! Really well done! I included it in part 20 of my Ludum Dare 28 compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) youtu.be/O9M3TIYW4UU

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]