December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

alONE

by Christopher Schulte - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I took "You only get one" to mean "You only understand one," which motivated me to create this game about loneliness and how, in its severe forms, loneliness influences all of one's perceptions and thoughts.

Directions: Press the one key


Developed by Christopher Schulte
(@ChrisM_Schulte / missingstitch.com)

Development used FlashDevelop, flixel, Gimp, and Pickle Editor.




Downloads and Links


Ratings

#13Mood4.12
#161Audio3.23
#241Theme3.35
#399Innovation3.04
#577Overall2.92
#611Graphics2.71
#995Fun1.62
#1141Coolness45%

Comments

y2bd says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:08am

Really enjoyed the sound design going on here!

somepx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:06am

Nice mood, a very interesting game experience. Bravo! :D

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:09pm

I found this game very inspiring. In some ways reminds me of my own attempt this LD. Nice one Chris enjoyed it a lot.

Move127 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:20am

Very interesting and depressing.

Tsumei says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:21am

Interesting. Glad people are making games like these aswell. I almost wish the topic of loneliness could be tackled in an event that was not so limiting in theme :)

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:23am

Sweet mood. Could have used less iterations of the loop; I got bored before I got to any sort of ending

ninjacharlie says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:45am

Interesting idea. I would have liked it to have more variation after the third or fourth time. Other than that, I liked the sound and mood a lot.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:46am

@Danman9914 The loop is actually endless. Boredom is something I wanted to get the player to feel. Extreme loneliness takes away interest in normally enjoyable activities (anhedonia) and I hoped to get that tedium across (also a "quitting is the only escape" perspective).

Pitzik4 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:56am

This is a really bizarre. It gets really, really, really laggy really fast, though. Is there something you're forgetting to remove from the scene?

Integershift says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:10am

I got a headache from the lights if I clicked it too much. But it was alright!

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:14am

Great use of theme. Very eerie

Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:14am

I liked the way you played with mechanics and the endless loop to really zone in on the feelings you were trying to express. Awesome work.

psychomonster says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:15am

Wow cool atmosphere... it feels depressive ans desolate... good for the cold winter days :D Mood++

torcado194 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:24am

quite interesting! i like how you pulled this out of the theme

ryanmurakami says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:51am

very nice.

y2bd says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:57am

I already commented, but back for the rating. Love experimental games like this, and as said, excellent usage of the theme.

drkrunk says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:38pm

Interesting take, insightful and rather depressing. Well done with the sounds.

Dec 25, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Interesting game I included it in my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/Sii3dnpSvEI

DangerPenguin says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 9:07pm

I don't want to say this game is fun, but it is unique, and does a great job of putting you in a different mood.

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 5:40pm

Rated highly for mood - interesting and unique take on the theme.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]