December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Jump

by Xanjos - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My 2nd Ludum Dare entry and my first for the 48hr compo.

The aim of the game is to just reach the exit. However, you only get one jump per level (hence the title and gimmick for the theme)

Don't mind the crude graphics (I can't really draw) and some things are really buggy (like moving platforms). Also, I'm really bad at making platformer levels.

UPDATE: I've added standalone versions for Windows, Mac and Linux. I had to slightly readjust the position of some objects as they seemed strangely out of place compared to the original web version (I highly recommend that you try playing that version first before downloading any of the standalone version instead). Also, since I don't have a Mac or Linux machine, if anyone can download and test those versions and see that there's no problems that would be great.

Game Instructions:

Arrows/A and D to move. Spacebar to jump. R to restart the level.


Tools Used:

Language:C#
Library/Framework:Unity
Graphics:Paint.Net
Sound/Music:bfxr

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#101Theme3.66
#641Humor1.93
#703Audio1.89
#746Innovation2.50
#768Fun2.44
#898Overall2.46
#899Mood1.98
#963Graphics1.74

Comments

postmodestie says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:17pm

Got stuck in the third level, replay button would not hurt. Overall kind dull but definietly a game :)

Korwegian says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:33pm

Much confuse.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:14am

@postmodestie: You can press R to restart the level if that's what you're looking for. Don't know why I forgot to mention it in the first place.

Beavl says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:38pm

Despite some problems with collision and stuff, some levels are interesting. Sure thing “one jump” is a gimmick, but it is a good constraint to exercise on level design. Keep up working, man!

taocayo says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:57am

It's kinda funny how the player character sticks to walls. It allows for a bit of cheating. Good take on the theme.

The level I liked the best was the one before the final level (level 3?). It was much more about puzzle solving than trying to avoid the spikes.

Xaychru04 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:38pm

There are some collision problems, but the concept is nice!

sfdnetwork says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Really good concept. Graphics could have been better though.

Tomski says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:15pm

Found it pretty difficult to jump, not sure if thats due to collision problems or just timing, nice idea though :)

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:57pm

A bit buggy with collision and movement, but pretty enjoyable. Having to use the mouse for buttons is a bit bothersome, too.

Zephyr Raine says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:16pm

Made it to the end, the controls are very rough, especially the jump. Collision are a little bit messy. This is a nice try , tho'. Keep improving.

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:57pm

Very smart implementation of the theme. Your puzzles are well thought out if a little frustrating.

LoneStranger says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 5:42am

Well put together, but having to move my hands back to the mouse to click the buttons was really frustrating. With what should be a boring mechanic, you did a good job coming up with twists to keep it fresh.

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 6:31pm

I liked this game! I thought the physics of the player were really good, and there were a good variety of tricky platforming tropes on display - falling and moving platforms, sticking to walls, switch plates etc etc. The difficult curve could have been a little smoother but given the time available this is pretty complete and really had that "just one more try" thing. Music would have added a lot, and perhaps some particles?

van noctar says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 11:41pm

Very difficult to move on moving platform!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 12:31am

Thanks for the mostly positive comments guys. I've actually got time to clarify a few things:

Regarding the wall sticking, that was unintentional.

Jumping is a bit weird as you have to build some momentum (i.e. make a run) to jump further.

@jimmypaulin: I did create some background music but I ended up deleting it because I couldn't get it to loop properly in Unity.

@van noctar: The moving platforms are extremely buggy as I couldn't get the player to "stick" to the platform properly as it moves so you have to move with the platform instead (which is rather weird).

mmickyman says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 1:34am

Weird physics sometimes here :)

Dec 24, 2013 @ 10:02pm

A lot better than you give yourself credit for. The idea is innovative, and the gameplay is pretty challenging without being unfair or broken. The levels look well-designed to me.

My only issue is that it's a bit hard to control your character (I had to retry the level where you move the brown block quite a few times, just because it was so easy to slide over the edge). Also, once I got to the level with the disappearing floor, I couldn't progress any further: I couldn't go to the right, but if I jumped down the pit I just bobbed up and down without dying or progressing. Not sure whether that was a bug or there were no more levels.

Still, quite an entertaining game.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 10:35pm

@Christina: Which level was this? The bobbing thing is probably due to the code that stops the player going off camera (since it works on all sides) and also, the fall zone trigger probably needs to be adjusted for that level too.

Dec 25, 2013 @ 1:11pm

I don't know which number level it is, but it's a fair bit into the game. It's the one that has a narrow lava pit at the start, then a section of the floor near the end of the level that falls away when you step on it (that section is visibly separate from the rest of the floor).

Hope that helps.

tobbez says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 7:04pm

Some glitches with collision and movement. The leveldesign was nice considering you can only jump once but it is probably not the best idea for a platformer. I missed a button to go to the next level.

RodRoy1 says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 7:11pm

Good idea, the controlls are a bit floaty though. I like the wall grabbing, but i dont know if that was intentional or not. i think you could take this in a number of directions for levels if you can tighten the controlls up a bit.

xrm0 says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 1:46pm

As you play with the keyboard it would be nice to be able to retry the level using the keyboard also.
Also, if you jump when you are right next to a wall, it doesn't jump

davisan says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 6:01pm

The concept is very interesting and nice take on the theme. The controls need to be tightened, but the game idea could evolve to something great.

ViliX says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 10:39pm

A bit confusing, but great game :)

Dec 29, 2013 @ 9:48pm

The level with the drop down, jittery moving platform, and the door inbetween the spikes is where i got to before it wasn't fun. (too hard) i need friction to land on that platform. lol Amusing. nice.

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 11:07pm

Great job! Loved the puzzles that arised from only being able to jump once. Awesome level design.

Raphy says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 9:19pm

Interesting level design, well done. Too bad the physics of it all are very hard to control, making it a bit frustrating.

Pitzik4 says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 9:32pm

I eventually gave up on the level with the "chimney" of spikes leading down to the door because for all I knew I would have to line myself up pixel-perfectly to get down it. It's too bad, because it seemed like the levels were starting to get interesting.

ALobker says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 2:30pm

Needing to use the mouse was kind of annoying. If this game was developed further, it would be an interesting puzzle platformer.

Jan 4, 2014 @ 4:15pm

Your interpretation of the theme was original, although I would have liked to see more polish even if it's a 48h entry. (like no wall sticking or having to use the mouse to retry a level, more visual flair, etc.)

Vi-King Games says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 1:47am

Good take on the theme, and fun level design. However, the physics/collisions/controls/whatever feel unnatural, moving platforms are very hard to stay on, and there's a wall-grabbing glitch that makes it easy to cheat (but also kinda fun, maybe make it a game mechanic for a new game? ;)). Maybe the graphics could be more developed too, but I don't really mind.

Zerkruemler says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 9:27am

Cool idea, and good 'tutorial', but somehow unexact controls. I had fun the first few levels, but was not able to jump where i have to push the brown 'colleague' into the spikes. Maybe a bug? I don't really mind the poor graphics and sound, but the controls are important, they should work flawless.
Keep on the good work.

SnoringFrog says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:24pm

Only ran into anything buggy once or twice. Nice job.

jfroco says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 12:57am

Interesting mechanics. Well execution. I didn't like the idea to press the replay and main menu buttons with the mouse when you play with both hands in the keyboard. Congrats.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]