December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Food Survival

by van noctar - Jam Entry

Don't get caught! Fries eaters are here !

Press "UP" to jump.
"P" or "ESCAPE" to pause / resume.

Food Survival is created by 2 graphic designers, one developper with Game Engine "GAME", and one sound designer!

Press "ESCAPE" to quit the credits.
Enjoy it!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#108Humor(Jam)3.11
#245Graphics(Jam)3.29
#260Audio(Jam)2.89
#369Fun(Jam)2.60
#373Overall(Jam)2.84
#445Mood(Jam)2.34
#452Innovation(Jam)2.31
#508Theme(Jam)1.95

Comments

01rafael says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:46am

too hard

glovecat says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:46am

Like it!! it's really fun :D

uRLgR3y says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:52am

Love it. Both innovative and fun.

j_stirk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:06am

I'm not really sure why all those people are chasing me. Gameplay itself is pretty fun and challenging at times, although it's easy to get stuck in a spot where you trip several times.

ahnt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:07am

It was fun and I liked the art, however on higher difficulties I experienced frame rate drops making it very difficult to play

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:10am

There's no way to get out of credits and back to the main menu if credits is clicked from main menu.

Audio in menu would help.

The collision on the coins could be extended forwards a bit - sometimes when I expected to be able to collect them, I couldn't.

The pause picture was nice.

The theme could have been stronger (was it, you only get one box of fries?)

van noctar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:29am

Sorry, for quit the credits, press "ESCAPE". Yes, the theme is the fries, you have a unique box of fries, and a hungry horde chase you.

zkenshin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:05am

Fun game, loved seeing him topple :P

Tomski says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:09am

Pretty tough to judge those jumps, but that might just be me. Nice illustrations, I want some fries now!

DrTrickster says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:04am

The soundtrack you created is great. Also a lot of fun :)

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:03pm

I kept screaming the whole game : Eat the damn fries!
Cool game though.

van noctar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:31pm

Thanks for your comments!!! :D

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:28pm

Nice artwork and audio, but those stares... Only suggestion I can think of is adding shadows to all the terrain features, so you can better judge where they are. Good job!

louis.denizet says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:47am

Nicely done but hard and a bit slow

X-0r says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:38pm

Really funny game :P
One of the best things is, that the following guys can also fall over obstacles - at least it's fair that way ^_^

KEFIR says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:40pm

hilarious game! Relly nice art and sound.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:28pm

Game is pretty fun and innovative, however sometimes it's almost impossible to avoid some obstacles, but otherwise very fun game ! :)

zebi24 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:36pm

Nice game. Great job on the main character drawing and animation. It's fun to see those enemies trip in a background :D Music is also nice fit. Well done!

seantheartist says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:04pm

Loved this game, the whole theme had a cohesive feel and I thought the animations were pretty good.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:33pm

Haha, it's funny to see that chubby guy running!
The collision detection is a bit off, and the game starts to really slowdown after some time.
The graphics and the music are good, although the music gets too repetitive after some time.
Overall 4/5.

TeamFlare says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:21pm

Love the graphics :) Moves abit slow, but it's alot of fun :)

anapff says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:47am

Was hard to see where things were placed with the perspective, I missed lots of coins, but overall it was a fun game!
And now I want some fries, damn..

Korwegian says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:52am

I want fries nao.

steamgirl says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Haha, funny! Like the interpretation of the theme, only one packet of fries! The scrolling was pretty unique as well, I haven't seen that in many games. Good job.

Warzone says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:03pm

This is hilarious!

netmute says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:28pm

All I could think was "Aaaaah, a horde of zombies wants to eat me because I'm fat!" ;)

grifdail says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:55pm

There is a strang thing with the "3d" effect but the game is really fun !

Xeke_Death says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:57pm

The game lagged quite a bit for me...
It was good to see that the enemies would fall over obstacles as well...

wdebowicz says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:23pm

No one will take my french fries! That's a fun!

Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:49pm

Nice game !! I like the way the graphics shrink down, it really give you the illusion that you are getting away. The way the ennemies get to the player is really well done too. It's a little bit scary to see them come closer everytime I get stuck or stumble on something. Great work !!

Coblynau says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:39pm

Well done :) Good to see a web based LibGDX entry.

Diptoman says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:35am

Didn't get the theme here, but the idea was very nice! Idk why, but the game started to lag horribly the more I fell though.

somepx says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:16am

Best part: fat guy falling! ;)
Should be a little faster

van noctar says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:59am

Diptoman : The theme is the french fries!! You only get one :D

yosh says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:46am

Nice drawings :)
Not sure how it fits the theme, but it was fun to play! I also like the fact that the opponents are actually falling the same way the hero does... it somehow equilibrates the game a bit more given how hard it is already :D

postmodestie says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:25pm

It is slow, maybe you would like to reduce the number of hunters, besides that it plays very well. But after a while it gets repetitive..
Brings back memories of Rambo III, i think. :)
LibGDX rulez!

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:45am

Interesting... hahahaha xD
But pretty cool :)

kcpunk666 says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:29pm

good time all around!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 3:52pm

This is a pretty neat game. I really loved the falling animations and how you handled the depth perception.

Husky says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 2:09pm

Interesting!
I am not used to play this view, so it's a little hard for me :D

Dec 28, 2013 @ 12:44am

Some awesome music there! I might have to pick your brains on how to pull out a great track like yours, in the next LD!
Gameplay is fun, maybe a moving obstacle might be cool?

olafsworld98 says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 4:34am

i reached very far, but like there was no end???

van noctar says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 9:55am

No end yes :d

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 1:46pm

Incredible visuals, very amusing characters … what the hell was actually going on there?!!! I really couldn't empathise with the player character though - I wanted those poor starved hoards to get the chips/fries! Fun entry with superb sounds and simplistic gameplay

thebrainfuse says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 7:20pm

its fun, but collision detection and coin sounds are hit and miss... also the overall pace feels too slow for me...

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 2:04pm

Very nice game

eskivor says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 6:00pm

There are funny animations and nice music but I don't unterstand the link with the theme

van noctar says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 7:11pm

The link with the theme is the french fries pack!

Kayelgee says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 1:23am

It's really hard to know when you'll collide with something

FrederickK says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 2:51am

I don't think I saw other game like this, so, very innovative!
A thing that really bother me is the sound of him running, it looks like he's walking. For me, if it was just a speed up version would make a great different, other than that, good job! :)

BradleySmith says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 6:20pm

Lovely animations. :)

Nelien says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 12:15am

It was a fun runner overall, but it suffered from a lack of diversity and was hampered a bit by the 3D effect which made it very hard to judge what objects I was going to collide with (including coins) and which ones I wouldn't. I also found it a bit too easy. But again, overall, a well polished entry.

Grafter says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 9:24pm

Good fun game to play! Well Done!

sandbaydev says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 9:19pm

Well, art was nicely drawn but not sure about the theme or the gameplay... the jump over obstacles & dodge cactus part was fine. :)

Sebastian says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 7:41am

Great animations on the player, would have liked to see a special smack into cactus animation though. I think more could have been done in terms of sound effects, but what was there was nice. The pacing of the game was maybe a little on the slow side, but overall I think it was a pretty cool game with some hilarious graphics.

Jan 4, 2014 @ 8:37am

Hilarious!

Sean Noonan says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Really nice art - I found it clashed with the sound though. Also, just an FYI, but I found the performance to be very choppy on my Surface Pro.

mtinkerhess says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 1:05am

Really nice animations. Not sure how it relates to the theme.

mortus says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 12:17pm

Collision detection is a bit off I think, but except that it's quite interesting game and surprisingly fun too! Love the perspective and graphics.

anvoz says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 12:30pm

It's fun to play. The concept, graphics and music were really good. The game became quite laggy on my computer after about 30 seconds.

I think fat guys chasing fries would be more fun than those skinny guys :)

van noctar says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 12:42pm

Anvoz : Yes, at first it was thought to do that. However, the two versions were similars. But this version is a contradictory effect of our society.

Zerkruemler says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 8:26pm

Funny idea. Good work.

RodRoy1 says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 1:47am

fun game, nice graphics, good music and sound effects. Well done.

LatFoued says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:31pm

Hilarious, i love the falling animation of the dudes chasing you. the gameplay is a bit tricky because you can't always tell if you are going to hit the things on the ground. Nice work

jfroco says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 12:50am

Great gfx. I liked the idea and gameaplay, unfortunately I got very low fps (using web version). Congrats.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]