December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

No Mistakes.

by meek - Jam Entry

Your job is to enter numbers. Don't make any mistakes. Seriously.


Designed and programmed by Sonny Meek & Dean Foster

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#55Innovation(Jam)3.57
#74Theme(Jam)3.49
#74Audio(Jam)3.59
#75Graphics(Jam)4.15
#76Mood(Jam)3.56
#89Humor(Jam)3.24
#206Overall(Jam)3.22
#251Fun(Jam)2.91

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:33am

Can't last more than 10 seconds. Try making the speed a little slower?

ppelle says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:35am

Nice graphics and game but I agree with the speed

mcapraro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:28am

wow, really awesome! a little hard :) wish there was a shorter entry to get you started and in the mood. amazing feel and graphics!

meek says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:30am

We realise it might be difficult for some, so we've added a 'normal mode' where there are slightly less numbers to input.

Thanks for playing!

majorcrampas says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:37am

Liked the style! Gamemaker <3

meek says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:49am

Thanks! It's a little buggy at the moment, but hopefully we'll address a few of these issues today at some point.

xgeovanni says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:58am

I have nowhere near the typing speed for this.

madlee says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:00pm

i really like this, even though I couldn't even get past the first number :) I'll have to try again on a keyboard with a number pad

Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:01pm

It`s really tough, but I love the graphics and sounds.

milugames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:02pm

Great style all round. Both graphical, audio and gameplay. Absolutely awesome game idea and execution.

Really frustratingly difficult though. And I would've changed it so you can keep typing from memory when the numbers have already scrolled out of view. That would be more interesting. I kept finding that I'm not making mistakes, but I just can't type the last two digits until the thing already leaves the screen.

Would be awesome if that memory typing was a feature. It would still be just as challenging. Just would add a bit.

loxo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:05pm

Nice graphics and a good idea. I miss some annoying printer sound effects and an easy mode :) Maybe an increase in numbers over time.

louis.denizet says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:06pm

Nice game ^^
Easy to understand (the second time xD)

Idovoodoo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:09pm

Neat work guys, well done :)

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:57pm

First of all... your pixel art style is AWESOME! One of the best I've seen here! :-)
The game is... hard. Very hard. :p Even in non-hard mode hahh! :D

TijmenTio says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:11pm

Nice, compact game! Didn't get really far, since it's a bit hard. Maybe starting a bit slower and gradually going faster would be better?

meek says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:23pm

We had that in mind, but it turned out it would have added a lot of programming time. Perhaps in a future update someplace. Thanks for playing!

anvoz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:41pm

Very challenging but really fun to play. I've never tried to type number fast so this is a very good game to practice.

Doubstract says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:04pm

16 seconds!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:08pm

Very hard, but it's fun! :D

cesisco says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:54pm

Very nice, but with a slower learning curve would be even better.

Zhrack says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Cool game! Very nice art, especially with that old printer!

G70 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:35pm

Nice idea and very challenging, however it seemed to stop taking my input after the first number, so I get the first but it stops letting me type after that. I am on Chrome if it makes a difference, I tried both my keypad and the number keys along the top.

meek says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:44pm

Thanks for letting us know, G70. Fixed that bug now, should be working again!

meek says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:46pm

@G70 Thanks for this feedback! I had not noticed this bug...the game has now been fixed. I put the bug out of it's misery...

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:25pm

this made me laugh. great game. :-)

squibbons says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:51pm

I am absolutely terrible at using the numpad to enter numbers, so this was insanely hard. It feels like it should ramp the numbers up in length for peeps starting with shorter numbers. Interestingly, it feels like a different take on of what I was attempting to do for this competition, and I think yours is better. =)

Pixelulsar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:32am

Cool idea but I only can make it a few seconds I can't type in the numbers that fast. Looks nice.

gamepopper says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:58am

I couldn't last for 10 seconds, but I really enjoyed what I saw. The graphics definitely have a Paper Please vibe, and the amount of pressure put onto you makes this game both challenging and addictive. Great job! :D

stenol says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:42pm

It's hard but it's a funny little game. Gratz !

ismyhc says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:16pm

Really cool idea! I love the old school printer ;)

Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:53am

This is pretty cool. I really dig the unsettling mood.
Great work!

Colorvade says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:07pm

I'm not familiar enough with the number keys to do this, but the feeling of weakness here coupled with the supporting aesthetic is really novel and probably memorable. I wouldn't want it any slower.

Ras Lyon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:50pm

Hahah, I love this. Super hard because I don't have a number pad. It's like the typing games we'd play in Junior High. I think words would be more accessible than numbers. The design is fantastic, in one look you understand the scenario. COol!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Haha, finished the game in 7 seconds!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:23pm

Pretty cool.

I see comments about the audio, but I didn't hear any? Too bad.

I thought the speed was alright. I got to 3:48 the first time (numpad).

Norgg says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:52pm

19 seconds on hard mode :D! If you have to look at what you've typed, you're already dead. Haven't had to use those rapid-action number-pad skills in a long time... Have either of you had a soulless job in data entry in the recent past by any chance?

Alex Higgins says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:45pm

Really nice color palette and theme. Sadly my laptop has no number pad - I wasn't ever able to get past the first number string.

headchant says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:58pm

Perfect execution of a very good idea!

Jeremias says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:04pm

What's name of the guy in the game? Stanley?

(Nice graphics but... not... my type of game :D)

meek says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:38am

@Steve [tacospice] Sorry about the lack of audio. I had noticed this bug before...Are you using firefox by any chance?

@Norgg The programmer served 4 years hard time in a call centre

nka says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:50pm

Very hard and you made me turn light on lol. Nice theme interpretation!

Venks says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:09am

I'm a pretty slow typer so this was pretty much impossible for me. Very interesting though with solid art.

GarethIW says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:14am

Yep, I can't even type the first number. But I really loved the idea, the atmosphere, the artwork and the audio :)

Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:35pm

No audio for me in Firefox for OS X.

I made it to 1:55 after I remembered I had a keyboard with a number pad. OH MY GOD THE TENSION. I'm not sure I could've taken much more. Any kind of ticking or beeping sound effect probably would've done me in. Wow.

Love the artwork and the premise; this is the missing prequel minigame inside the Stanley Parable.

But oh my, the difficulty. Perhaps finding a much faster way to get the player back into the game (a la Super Hexagon) would help. Testing the game without using the number pad might give you a good gauge for an "easy" setting that's still challenging. This game could be great for numpad practice.

-mildmojo

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:08pm

I liked it! It's complicated, even in "normal" mode. But I managed to last 1:23 in my first play :-)

Before Light says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:21am

I can't win this game :(

drkrunk says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:11am

Ahh this was a little difficult, but my laptop doesn't have a num-pad so it was harder for me. I lasted only 19 seconds haha. Great job for making it so challenging!

stvr says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 1:10am

Simple, terrifying, and excellent.

nyrrrr says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 5:00pm

I fail so badly :D
But nice graphics and I like the idea

dudsen says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 12:07pm

Ok now I see how people feel when playing my entry... Unfortunately very unplayable with a laptop without numb lock (Additionally I suck at finding the numbers at the top of the keyboard fur sure...). Wait...there is a hard mode, too? Give me a sec, brb. ---- Ok. Even with a numblock impossible for me :D

But there is something about the style I really like. Cant even point at it.

An easy mode would have been nice, and maybe more time for typing the numbers in? I mean there is no reason to register a "mistake" if the numbers are out of screen still being busy at typing. I had them in my head and could have typed them in even if the new number would have appeared.

Overall mood is great by the way!

Zerkruemler says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 7:24pm

Nice idea well implemented. I like the printer sound. I only played it once since it has no big replay value and got to 1:16. I think I really don't want to do this job...

Jan 6, 2014 @ 10:06am

The game and graphics where really good, it would have been better to have a slower speed but other than that great job.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]