December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

parallelsync

by 0x0961h - 48 Hour Compo Entry

There's always a lighthou... wait, I've already heard it before somewhere. Maybe not in this timeline, though.

Do you believe that there are unlimited timelines and we are the true masters of the Time deciding what path should it choose? Yes, multiverse is a great idea, but... but what if you only get _one_ parallel universe?

Controls are described on title screen:
* Space -- change active universe
* Arrow Left / Arrow Right -- move character left or right (respectively)
* Arrow Down -- wait for one time unit
* Escape -- return to menu

Levels are procedurally generated.

Windows/Linux/MacOS version requires JRE7 and can be run via .jar file or via .bat file.

Web version may have issues with music (it's not looping properly).

Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#56Innovation3.80
#261Overall3.30
#321Graphics3.27
#368Mood2.94
#421Audio2.67
#507Fun2.85
#597Theme2.68
#625Humor1.96

Comments

TaleLore says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:36am

Pretty cool game.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:38am

Good job on the procedural generation! Really cool puzzle idea.

Crigs says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:02am

Very interesting mechanic!

zzzev says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:10am

Great game, love the unique mechanic (different from similar things I've seen before) and it's very well implemented. Have to say it's the first game I've played here that made me consider the nature of the space-time continuum, so that's gotta be worth some extra credit.

ashen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:19am

The parallel timestamp idea is interesting. Nice graphics style. At first I thought my sound card had blown up ;) but then I got used to it and I found the sounds atmospheric. Good game!

apwolf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:58am

Great art style and the mechanic was very cool.

GravityScore says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:13am

It's a cool concept and quite pretty, but it was very easy. It would have been cooler if you'd done something a bit more with it, but I can imagine that this would have been very tricky due to the time constraints! Great job!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:16am

I like it! A crazy use of the theme well implemented! And the clean art style really brings it together. :D

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:42am

The sync is very cool.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:42pm

I love games like this. Great Job. I just wish that it ended a whole lot sooner.

PaulRdi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:46pm

Procedural world generation is awsome :) Graphics + Music fit the asthetic very well and the mechanics play out nicely!
The Soundeffects could have been a bit lower volume otherwise rly nice game!

ricklesauceur says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:53pm

The game is neat, easy but really enjoyable from the graphics to the gameplay.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:44pm

This is a really cool game!

mutuware says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Aah, I got stuck right at the end :(

postmodestie says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:10pm

I think i get it!

Tonasz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:14pm

These two universe specific tunes made the whole fantastic mood!

LatFoued says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Very intresting mechanic, was a bit confused at the beginning. Very good job.

Fadobo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:49pm

I played until around 120 and did not really have any challenge at all. I had maybe 3 situations overall that required the other one to stand on a switch.

Flyinpig5 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:52pm

Very cool generation, graphics and mechanic! It is a little easy though, perhaps continue this after LD has finished and make it harder? I'd be interested to see what you could make :p

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Very cool, would love to see this concept fleshed out.

timtipgames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:54pm

I had no music/sound playing in the web version (other games in browser do work). I only found out because I read comments about the music ;)

I like the game and its execution. I got stuck when I disabled a key while in the other universe the guy was standing on the corresponding platform. I could also imagine that it will be hard to expand this. Do you have any ideas for it? What mechanics could you see fit in here?
Overall well done!

Flyinpig5 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:55pm

Forgot to rate! *Dumb me*

Kotucz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:55pm

Nice! Could be more complex, but at least looks finished:-)

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Pretty simple mechanic. I thought you'd do more with it though. Other than that good job.

0x0961h says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Thank you all for all your comments. I really appreciate it, thank you again. :)

@GravityScore Exactly. It has some sort of potential, now I see it. :)

@PaulRdi Oh yeah, silly me, I forgot to turn the volume up when I tested sound. Please, tell your ears that I'm sorry. :D

@Fadobo It's all about generator. One time it creates a challenging level and next time you get a flat wtf-level with non-sense wtf-blocks'n'switches. Adding a great generator to make all levels challenging and riddle-y required additional hours which I didn't have to my pity. :c

@Flyinpig5 Well, who knows, maybe I'll be able to make something out of it. :)

@timtipgames Oh, the sound in HTML5-version (and a version itself) was a big pain in the a♥♥ for me. At first, it refuses to play sounds, after that -- refuses to loop them. Well, it seems I didn't solve _all_ the problems with it... -_-

Yeah, it just a bug. I tried to kill as many bugs as I could, but I guess some are still alive. My friend-tester, for example, keeps falling through the level. :)

Well... tbh, one day it WAS my idea for the game, but I had absolutely NO ideas what to do with it next. Seeing you, guys, playing it and telling me that it's quite interesting... well, it gives motivation, maybe I should look on it again and maybe evolve it into something I can (well, who knows?) put on Greenlight and not being kicked out with whistles and flying tomatoes. :D

@Kotucz Oh, I wish it be very super-puzzle-ish, very smart and everything, but I was v-v-very ill, I've lost a lo-o-ot of time getting well, so I tried v-v-very hard to make something, that totally worth playing and absolutely worth spending time on without great regret after it. :)

Parasyte says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:50am

I liked that the stages are procedurally generated! The first that I played had a lot of non-challenging switch-block placements (just simply walk by in that timeline until reaching a non-passable block, or a switch). The concept is really quite entertaining!

I did not hear any audio at all, using Chrome on OSX 10.9; The dev console shows a lot of 403 Forbidden responses from Google Drive when attempting to load mp3, ogg, and wav files! I had to mark "n/a" for an audio rating. (I will amend my vote immediately if you can resolve the loading issue.)

mcapraro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:25am

nicely done, i really like the concept of having to keep those two worlds in sync

0x0961h says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:05am

@Parasyte Oh my... 403 from Google Drive... *sigh* Like I had no other problems with web-version, thanks Google... -_-

Reuploaded game to itch.io, everything should be fine now.

metkis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:33am

I thought the mechanic was really cool! I think the random generation of the levels is really swell technically, but it left me wanting something more handcrafted because the mechanics were so neat. Great game, really different than a lot I've played so far. Looks nice too.

bitowl says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:22pm

really cool idea! would love to see this mechanic explored more indepth.

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:35pm

Very good work!
Game mechanic looking very interesting.
This game too short. But 48H I understand.
If there will be more gameplay elements it will be very good puzzle game.

Shaun Lebron says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:23pm

Great concept. Really nice art.

dinos says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:04pm

Great concept. Nice game with a very interesting and unique gameplay!

WetDesertRock says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:34am

Hah, was not expecting to see a game with the same mechanic as mine.

I'd suggest reducing the amount of unnecessary switches, and haveing more puzzle mechanics.

mrjordan says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:09am

One of the more unique mechanics I've played for LD48! Given more time I'd love to see other types of puzzle developed in this framework.

embero says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:53pm

Really cool, liked it a lot!

Photon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:25pm

Nice idea, but the gameplay boils down mostly to walk and wait. Gets kinda repetitive pretty fast. The procedural generation doesn't necessarily help; you walk and wait almost just the same.

Cool idea. It could've just used a little more fleshing out.

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:22am

It's like a game made by industry designers.
Real nice and something different to look at..

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:16pm

I think this is my favourite game of LD 28. I think it's a brilliant idea. The graphics are neat. The sounds and music are not bad. Congratulations! :-)

dudsen says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:21pm

Clever concept, definitely worth putting some more work into polishing! Only thing that sucked was that i stepped into the "goal" with on character, while i needed to step on a switch to help the other one, but couldn't move the on stepped into the beam-thingy anymore :( kinda frustrating and a very harsh punishment for my dumbness ;)

Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:26am

Cool idea and nice art, audio.

yosh says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:59am

Unique and very interesting game mechanic... I'm going to recommend this game to some friends because it's really worth it!

Before Light says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:26am

I liked it. It was fun to play. Is there any importance the ground colours?

Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:17am

Super cool idea, it didn't work well on my browser but I had fun when I got the concept.

glovecat says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:25am

Very original use of the theme :) I liked a lot the parallel universes idea, fun gameplay!

tchem says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:38am

Great work!! The mechanic is very cool!!

0x0961h says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:45am

Thank you everyone. You are so awesome. :D

@Photon: Sure thing. :)
@dudsen: Ahhh, it's totally not your fault, I just forgot to mention about it in the tutorial. :D
@Before Light: Nope, just coloured level. :)

X-0r says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:15pm

That's a great gameconcept! Procedural levelgeneration is great, too - even if it creates trivial "puzzles" every now and then =)

cappelnord says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:26pm

Awesome entry for your first LD. Procedural generated levels are very ambitious but didn't feel very challenging. One guy of mine went out of sight once and never came back/no death screen. But overall very solid aesthetics and core idea is great!

turnA says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:49pm

The target mechanic and their goal is a bit unclear, but I love the dynamically generated level and art style.

0x0961h says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:58pm

@X-0r Yeah, generator should be more awesome, but ended up being this simple. But it generates interesting levels, I swear! :D

@cappelnord Either he falls down when the block disappear because of timestamps thing or you've met a bug. :)

@turnA Thank you. Glad to hear about art, 'cause it always was a very painful part of gamedev for me. :)

JesterBLUE says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:59pm

cool!
It would be awesome if when you reached the end, it did a synchronized replay of the two worlds.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:35pm

I dig it! All the little subtle differences from each area was a nice touch! Lets us remember that DETAILS MATTER!

Pyrofoux says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:31pm

Novative ! Good job.

TomboFry says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:31pm

Brilliant concept, although slightly too slow paced for my liking (not to say others don't like it though). Sometimes block placement was slightly pointless (but it's the random generator's fault!) but otherwise I really enjoyed it.

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:14pm

interesting concept. fun to play.

Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:00pm

Interesting idea but it's too much repetitive and not enough fluid..

Dec 25, 2013 @ 9:34pm

Nice game, neat graphics. Innovative gameplay, I like it !

Alex Higgins says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 11:24pm

Technically, really impressive, and it's a great concept! I'd really like to see this idea explored in a way that presents the player with some actual challenge, though.

somepx says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Truly innovative, loved graphics & audio too. Nice entry!

van noctar says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Very good job! This game is fun and addictive!

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 10:35pm

Nice and clean, with an interesting mechanic, and procedural generation is always fun (check out my entry =D). I like how the music changes when the dimension is switched.

Jan 1, 2014 @ 8:12pm

Very innovative!

goerp says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 11:08am

Great game, original mechanic.
What I like very much is that with just these simple options you still manage to make an interesting puzzle game.
Nice smooth graphics.

I understand why you have procedural puzzles (and they are good), because it saves you a lot of time (I didn't have enough time and my puzzles were too hard or way too difficult), but I think if you put in more options for your game, it will be even more fun with just the right well thought out braintwisters.
Maybe you can have a combination of procedural and none procedural elements?

The music was not really suitable for long play I think (it's playing while I'm typing this), but at least you made music (I do like the chiptunesound).

I found a bug (maybe already solved in the post mortem), I think it happened when the bottom character walked on a tile that just at that timestamp was activated; the character stood on then fell through the just activated block and from then on was one blocker lower than it should have been.
the game worked normally, but the character was just drawn lower than it actually was.

0x0961h says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 12:24pm

Thank you every one again! :)

@goerp I'll see if I can manage to make a great generator, I'll make something like "Endless" mode. But I think I'll have to make levels first anyway. :)

Music was made in the last hour before submission, so I'm glad even if it's "okay". :)

Oh yeah, I knew about this bug, it's just "last time bug". Didn't manage to fix it. :c

Thanks for the feedback. :)

anvoz says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 1:45pm

Really cool concept, especially on the idea of the timestamp. The procedural generation was really good but I think it can not create any challenging for the game. I believe this game will become a great success base on its core concept.

Madball says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 3:06pm

A good idea, though I didn't understand it at first. However, it wasn't challenging at all.
Also, borders of blue blocks are difficult to see.

hadesfury says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Cool game ... more thrill needed :D

01101101 says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Well done, would be great to be able to move a bit faster though ;) More variations in the puzzle would be welcome as well and it looks like you might be working on that, so good job!

nyrrrr says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 10:59pm

Great game. I like the proc gen aspect :)
The only thing that bugged me a little was that you can't holf a direction key so he moves several steps.
But that's nit-picking. Good job! :)

LTPATS says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 5:07am

Liked the use of the theme, the graphics and music were nice and added a lot to the experience. Not the most challenging, and a couple minor issues occurred while playing.

One when a character walked into a block right as it appeared and they permanently walked underneath the floor about one tile down (it actually didn't affect the gameplay, just visually weird).

Also not sure if intended or not, but when a character hits the finish, they can't backtrack, this was frustrating when I realized I needed to activate a switch after I already moved one character to the end and I needed to restart from the very beginning.

Overall it's a cool game and I enjoyed the procedurally generated levels! I'd be interested in seeing this game expanded into something larger!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]