December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Save the Bullet for Later

by teoriointimies - Jam Entry

A simple mood-driven game where you are a robot trying to escape. You only have one bullet.

Music: Crudelis Diabolus (@Golden_Sin), https://soundcloud.com/crudelis-diabolus/worm-in-a-sandbox

Tools and libraries used:
- Eclipse
- Paint. Net
- MP3Transform (library for playing MP3 files with Java)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#70Mood(Jam)3.57
#142Audio(Jam)3.29
#208Theme(Jam)2.95
#258Humor(Jam)2.38
#269Overall(Jam)3.09
#281Graphics(Jam)3.17
#329Fun(Jam)2.70
#481Innovation(Jam)2.22
#1259Coolness41%

Comments

DaanVanYperen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:53pm

Very dark, gameplay was fun, interesting music. I like it!

Nighley says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:27pm

Flimsy controls but overall quite fun to play and the sprite colors work perfectly with each other. Nicely done!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:35pm

Really great entry. I hope more people play it! I like the story its inviting. Theres a lot there for the time given: good show.

gusanolocovg says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:37pm

Gave up, the poor collision detection combined with inconsistent and sensitive controls did it in for me. The game looked nice and music wasn't bad. Theme tie in was a bit weak, a single bullet that can't be used until you need to is a stretch. no real choice there.

Xaychru04 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:45pm

Yeah the character movement is a bit strange when responding to collision with walls, but the game is still fun to play. Nice art, great mood too, I just found the levels too easy/short.
Good game!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:49pm

Character movement was a little stiff but once I get past this I really enjoyed it. The mood was perfectly set, and the ending was just so sad.

TheWhiteLlama says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:24pm

All in all a nice game! There's one map where I am stuck at the moment (the first map with two of the big ones). Very hard and challenging, maybe also because of jump'n'run technic which was used. Very funny and nice sounds :)

DST says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:49pm

Good use of the theme and straight forward good working gameplay :)

MrTedders says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:51pm

Solid platformer you got here. It's a little unforgiving but it might have also been me being bad at the game. Good audio and story.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:17pm

Movement: Yeah, it kind of sucks. At least you can get used to it?

Difficulty: It might be a bit hard (actually the map with two of the big ones is the last one @TheWhiteLLama), but all of my beta testers got through it so it's definitely possible to complete. I hope everybody doesn't mind playing through it before rating because the ending is pretty important to the game!

gmfk07 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:26pm

Relatively short and not too long, but pretty good! Is there a different ending? I got the "bad" one, and I'm pretty sure I never used my bullet, but I couldn't fire it at the end, I thought that's what you had to do. Still, a decent game, even though the controls could be tighter.

Dir3kt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:26pm

Really liked how you introduce the story and how the game starts with the music that kicks in and so :) Good graphics too. Bad jump/collision though. But still the game is doable and fun to play.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:28pm

Pew, those controls... I surely died 50 times in the second to last room before finally reaching the end.
But other than that - pretty good. Especially the music and overall mood you set up with those signs. And a good interpretation of the theme. Kind of tragical.

_zulli says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Cool game. The graphics look good! The background color of the gray tile doesnt contrast well with the white tile and for me it took some time to get that the white tile was "collidable". Not a big issue it was my fault, but i would make them contrast more. The rest of the graphics are cool.

Talking about the mechanics, the collision detection and the controls were, for me, the worst problem. But the game is fun to play.


If you have time, rate my game too. I would really appreciate it :)

rincewind_cz says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:21am

Nice little game! I liked the overall atmosphere of this. Controls are bit weird sometimes, but nice job on this. :-)

jonask says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:57pm

Nice graphics, poor controls/collisions but fun.

lowcade says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 2:23pm

Very fun game. Very nice music and simplist art style. I like it.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]