December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

YOGOS - YouOnlyHaveOneShield

by Muciojad - Jam Entry

***PATCHED TO 1.1 ***
*fixed small bugs
*fixed audio bug
*added new enemy attack
*added boss in every 1500 points
*fixed shield points locking
*fixed shield points increasing

18-12 repaired explodes after boss destroy and repaired often boss spawning(now rarely).


IN ARCHIVE ARE TWO VERSIONS!
- v1.0 - it's first version
- v1.1 - patched version
If you want - play old version, but remember, there are a few bugs and until you vote, try patched version (changes isn't too big, but are helpful) ;)
Here it is!

I wanted to my game resembled older games from low-bit consoles and somehow alluded to the species named shmup, I hope I managed to ;)
In YOGOS you are pilot of spaceship.
Your ship has a energy-shield, which is destroying enemies, asteroids and bouncing enemy lasers, but each this action is decreasing your shield's stamina points.
If stamina points will be smaller than 0, you shield will disappear and then you only need to get only one shot to die.

The goal is... grab much points as you can.
You can catch bonuses (3 types), which help you survive long as possible.

This is the game allows you to have some fun, come back to it every now and then to break the record ;)

C++ && SFML2.1;
Working time +- ~30hours;
JAM ENTRY(solo);

***NOTES***
If you have problem with run game, please install vcredist_x86, this is in game folder.

IF GAME IS RUNNING TOO SLOW FOR YOU, SIMPLY RESIZE THE WINDOW TO SMALLER.

***WARNING!***
In XP are sometimes problems with music in game,
I don't know what,so
PLAYING ON XP ISN'T RECOMMENDED.

THANKS FOR PLAYING AND VOTING, I WISH YOU GOOD LUCK!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#275Fun(Jam)2.82
#305Overall(Jam)3.03
#322Graphics(Jam)3.03
#358Audio(Jam)2.52
#374Humor(Jam)1.95
#387Mood(Jam)2.57
#495Theme(Jam)2.00
#499Innovation(Jam)2.12

Comments

code-11 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:36am

A fun shooter. I found that the regular gun was not able to damage the enemies, and that I pretty much survived from one powerup to another or by crashing into enemies. I especially like the fact that my character started spinning mad fast when I got a powerup. It looked really cool.

Darkcoder says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:47am

Pretty cool upgrades, but the game itself is too repetitive.

Muciojad says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:00am

#code-11 Thanks a lot ;)
@Darkcoder - yes, after some time game becomes monotony, but in 30 hours of work it is very difficult to extend the game, however I did everything in my power to do this ;)
My last entry-game was very extended, and wasn't appreciated, so this time I wanted to make some simple game, and I did it ;)
Very thanks for opinions and votes, I always listen opinions and notes from players, and I still working to be better ;)
Cheers! :)

Dynad says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:09pm

Is it possible to die at all? Enemies are just moving based on you key strokes which makes it kinda boring.. it should have been more fun if they move unpredictable. Just 1 kind of enemy, no end boss or whatsoever.. btw, isn't jam team based?

Muciojad says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:50pm

@Dynad - it was possible earlier but it was difficult xD. Now I patched game, player die more often, but still not fast ;)
Thanks for comment, I didn't see it before I started coding patch, and when I read it I know the things added/fixed by patch could be helpful. :)
Very thanks for comment!
BTW JAM is based on team, but I wanted to make game alone (I didn't submit it to compo because I late ;))

Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:34pm

I love the spinning !:)
The boss fight is not satisfactory... I think have seen a little explosion.. Meh.

Muciojad says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:50pm

oO Probably I don't uncomment the explosions in my last patch...
Wait a minute :D

Muciojad says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:08pm

Repaired. Thanks! :D

TeamFlare says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:24pm

cool game, but i am not able to master the endboss :D good job :)

Threef says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:20pm

I smilled after getting first bonus, but then gameplay became boring.

Muciojad says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:10pm

I didn't have time for add more options, and I will don't add anything longer (without patches - if I find bugs/something like this).
For me, this is the game allows you to have some fun, come back to it
every now and then to break the record ;)
I like my game as it is, and I'm very happy that I made it in short time.
Thanks for comment! ;)

Benjamin says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:25pm

I killed the boss 2x times scored about 16000 nd then gave up because its seems difficulty was not increasing. The fire and explosisno are cool the impact sfx is nice too. The spinning thing is a bit weird, but you get used to it very quickly and it makes some nice bullets pattern :)

netmute says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:48pm

The screenshots look promising, but I have no way of playing Windows games, sorry :(

Raphy says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Nice shooter at first, but then it kindda gets too easy when you get the trick. Good job anyway !

Nelien says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 7:27pm

It was pretty fun, but a bit too easy; I just stopped playing at about 26384 score. Might've benefit from ending, instead of being infinite -- some sort of final boss. The other problem were FPS drops randomly; I don't see anyone else commenting so maybe it's may machine acting out.
At any rate, an enjoyable play.

Dec 27, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Excellent shooter ! I love it, the bonus are really awesome !

indegame says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 10:54pm

I found the game was okay. THEN I STARTED SPINNING AND IM LIKE WHAT IS HAPPENNING. But other than that it was okay

goerp says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 6:50pm

No music for me as well on Windows 7. Maybe something to do with non standard or multiple sound cards?
That's a shame, because your music was quite orginal (in an 80's kind of way) and would have fitted the game really well. I played them from the sfx folder.
Hold on! I just listened to loop4 and I think you have to credit other people for some of the music. Loop4 ended with something familiar from a C64 game I think (or did you make that music?)

I loved the bonus effect where your bullits would swirl in all kinds of sinusoid shapes.

The original game was too easy. At some point I tried to create music by shooting enemies in the rhythm of my bullit sounds, because I was never dying.
I also played 1.1 and that was certainly better, with a boss fight and more difficult.

Muciojad says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 2:11pm

@goerp Thanks for feedback! :)
I think problem with sound is in SDL_mixer, I modded this library a bit and maybe somewhere I made a mistake :0
Almost all content is credited in credits.txt, loop4 is here:
https://soundcloud.com/michaeljohnwilcox/glider-rider-remix
I didn't add all credits to game because to deadline I had very short time, and after I basically forgot :/ ;)
Very thanks for playing and feedback! :)

Dec 31, 2013 @ 2:29pm

Cool game with awesome upgrades/boosts (?) that you could pick up during the game! That the bosses were diverse made it feel like continous progress even when the background and other enemies didn't change. Good luck! :)

Orangy Tang says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 5:30pm

Any chance of a mac build?

dalbinblue says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 10:00pm

The power-ups were pretty cool and overall gameplay is solid, but it did unfortunately become a bit stagnant after a while. Also, I don't know if this was on purpose, but the game experienced some serious slowdown when the "deadly gyration" or whatever the power-ups name is, was activated, and I was using a pretty beefy machine.

PaulSB says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 10:56pm

Interesting choice of spinning the ship around for bonus effects - the bonuses actually felt too powerful, I was charging around like a wrecking ball in there. But it feels coherent and well presented. I like that sometimes the sound effects during constant fire sounded like some sort of rhythmic beat music :P

Muciojad says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 7:24pm

Thanks for all feedback! :D
@Orangy Tang - unfortunately no, there isn't any chance for Mac build :)
@dalbinblue - thanks for opinion, and my game doesn't like when any other program/app is running in background and eating RAM (my mistakes in code ;)) :)
@PaulSB - thanks! :)

PaperBlurt says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Space always works for me.. Nice gameplay and pixels!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]