December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

GASP

by Nancybeast - Jam Entry

This is my entry for Ludum Dare "You Only Get One". It took me a while to come up with an idea that was both unique and achievable and I believe I did that with GASP.

You Only Get One Breath!

"You're a scientist, working his everyday job, handling dangerous chemicals when suddenly, an alarm begins to ring. Toxic gas begins to fall from the vents on the ceiling as you cover your mouth and rush to the nearest airlock!"

In each chamber, you get 5 seconds to take as big a breath as possible by repeatedly mashing the 'E' key (sorry ._.). As you mash it, your breath bar increases allowing you to remain in the next room for longer. Be careful though: as time progresses, your breath bar decays away and you get one step closer to death! There are also a couple of 'power-ups' within the later chambers which should help you survive for longer if you can get to them in time.

I didn't have too long to work on this hence why I did the jam. I also didn't want to work on this for the entire weekend as last time, I became rather flustered. I'm not the most at developing a game but I think that I had a good go and ultimately, I'm pretty happy with this game.

Anyway, enjoy! I can't wait for the next LD!

-Lewis

EDIT: If you want to play the Windows version, I wouldn't recommend playing it at a resolution higher than 1024x768 otherwise the GUI elements will get butchered. I'm not very good at modifying it based on resolution so sorry :(

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#37Theme(Jam)3.69
#89Innovation(Jam)3.40
#272Mood(Jam)2.87
#298Overall(Jam)3.04
#313Audio(Jam)2.71
#351Fun(Jam)2.65
#363Graphics(Jam)2.85
#393Humor(Jam)1.88
#1217Coolness44%

Comments

@TeddyNashor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:18pm

Looks really nice, and is a smooth play. Not a huge fan of the button mashing as a mechanic, but it would help if you made it two keys.

David Colson says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:19pm

Fun little game, the idea is really innovative and original, nice work!

Nancybeast says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:24pm

@TeddyNashor Yeah... after I had the mechanic in place I really wish I had have done something similar to DDR which would have introduced more skill to the game. It's probably one of my biggest regrets x_x

Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:29pm

Really gorgeous game, the breathing mechanic is a bit irritating, but overall fun with a cool application of theme.

Calciumtrice says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:34pm

I liked the two stage idea where you perform the breathing (not the biggest fan of button mashing though :D) and you are creating your own time limit for second half of traveling through the level.

I think I need more button mashing practice though. And I couldn't help but go for the pill on level 3 each time. I got greedy.

travislucia says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:34pm

Awesome game, great concept and excellent use of theme.

Nancybeast says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:47pm

@Calciumtrice In retrospect, the mashing was a pretty bad idea, haha. I myself have to mash with two fingers in order to get past the later levels which is pretty terrible design.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:02pm

Me knuckles Cap'n! They cannae take any more! D:

Nice game idea, very cleanly implemented!

daredevildave says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:03pm

Nice interpretation of the theme, well done.

Aaants says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:27pm

Cool idea and nice execution. Congrats :)

ryanmurakami says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:26am

really fun. great job.

Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:05am

Interesting idea, but in the end it all just came down to press the button fast enough and walk down this corridor. Good effort, but there needs to be more game play and less button mashing.

Raphy says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 10:52am

Not very original concept but I liked the "gasy" ambience and it's overall interesting to play.

jarnik says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 9:59pm

Good idea, well executed! It's nice you're forcing the player to start over from the very beginning - makes a challenge more real (I got frustrated after 4 tries, enjoyed it nevertheless).
It would be nice get rid of the buttons in menu (hitting the SPACE / ESC might be more convenient).

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]