December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Oneitis

by mmickyman - 48 Hour Compo Entry

So to play it on Windows, execute Oneitis.exe



+++++Name : Oneitis
From urbandictionary, 'Oneitis is an unhealthy romantic obsession with a single person. Usually accompanied by un-reciprocated affection and completely unrealistic idealization of the said person.'

Story : The One is friend with you on Facelook, and you are desperately trying to exist for her. You're shy and won't communicate with her directly (*) but you can like update one your FL timeline... Try not afraid her !
Controls : Mouse
Sounds : None

Note : Please note the timeline update bottom to up, it's unusual I know...

(*) : Ok, this part is here to hide missing features :)



+++++Me
It's my first Ludum Dare, and the first time I make a game by myself.

Development : Pygame 1.9.1 with Python 2.5, because I'm more used to it.



+++++What's went right
My first update : http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/12/14/first-time-almost-one-day-left/
I fight procrastination hard, and relatively succeed !
I changed the story half-way and I'm glad I did it : my original idea was pretty lame.
I treated myself pretty well : no junk food (see my first update to see it) or overeating to compensate the creative frustration process.



+++++What's went wrong
I put the death of my screen the first morning to bad luck a bunch of hours lost.
Time estimation was totally off. I forced myself to forget about half of the features I originally listed... Then I had to cut that in half !



+++++Statistics during these 48 hours
Calories ingested : 2680
Coke Zero gulped : roughly 5 liters (~1.32 gallons)
Sleep : 9 hours



+++++Background
Video games soundtracks : FTL, Bastion, Streets of Rage, Super Meat Boy, We Love Katamari, Locoroco Cocorecho, Hotline Miami and Farcry Bloodragon.



+++++Special thanks
Leuhfan.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#237Humor2.95
#259Innovation3.27
#564Theme2.75
#650Mood2.55
#800Audio1.22
#835Graphics2.19
#938Overall2.34
#941Fun2.04

Comments

mmickyman says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:37pm

I'm currently struggling to make an executable...

I tried py2exe, cz_freeze, pyinstaller, upgraded and downgraded version of python/pygame, no luck...

Lot of executables give me that error : "pygame.error: Couldn't open facelook_background.png" and I couldn't make it through.

Somebody get an insight about that ?

leuhfahn says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:34am

ho shit! She is gone again!! I'm too creepy for her!

Warzone says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:48pm

It's a good idea, but could use a little more work.

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:43pm

I tried a few times and I'm too creepy as well :( Innovative idea, but I felt it was lacking some "game" feedback (that said, I think in the real world, the amount of feedback I got from this was probably realistic!)

tomc says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:05pm

"We'll never be together"

"Please stop doing this. You're creeping me out."

I feel bad about enjoying this game xD

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:20pm

Sorry dude, too much work to get the game running

mmickyman says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:39am

Last update : Executable file created !

LordHellMaX says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:14am

Game is kinda hard, I'm not sure if I have to like her posts, or not, like other people posts.. Interesting idea.

Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:44am

Congratulations on your first LD and on your first game. Great idea ! Can't seem to keep the girl :P

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:50am

This hits particularly hard as I keep getting "I don't feel the same way" which is pretty much my recent experience in dating.

Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:38am

Not very clear as to what I'm supposed to be doing here - how do I not creep One out? I have just been liking all of her posts... should I not like all of them, only like certain posts, etc.? All in all an interesting concept, however the execution and fun-factor is severely lacking.

Nichii says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:44pm

I don't really understand how this works (maybe because I never socialize much on Facebook? XD), however, this is a pretty innovative idea and pretty humour on some of the posts XD

Zephyr Raine says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:21pm

I had a look at the code, too bad there's no good ending!

Daveloper says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:27pm

Interesting idea but it's hard to learn which actions were successful and which weren't making it feel like a slot machine.

gnargle says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 6:14pm

2 creepy 4 me
Pretty interesting game.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:48pm

An interesting idea.

MaTX says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 9:07pm

Not very polished, but the concept behind it is very fun. Hope you can make a proper version of this game.

fullmontis says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:00pm

Concept is interesting, hardly much gameplay to talk about but still it is good for a laugh :)

Xanjos says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 11:12pm

Rather strange but interesting concept. Could do with some more polish but overall not bad for your first game.

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 6:47am

It's a pretty interesting take on the theme, but it could use some fleshing out with more gameplay options and variety, and some more audiovisual feedback wouldn't have gone amiss.

SamH says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 4:26pm

Wow, a game for straight males. I needed more of these.

Dec 24, 2013 @ 9:48pm

Thank you very much for your review of my game ! You are the first one to give tips about one of my game, that's was really cool to read, I hope you had fun ! Thanks again for your game, it was a really good idea and it was a real pleasure to play it !

arcticleaf says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 9:43am

made my day, haha nice

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 1:52pm

Funny!
Nice work, but a little.. sad xD

eli says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 9:23am

5/5 for mood. This is the best social media simulator I've ever tried. Very lonely and detached feeling.

ViliX says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 10:40am

Interesting idea:)

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 5:49pm

A unique and quite creepy experience, I feel like I should cleanse myself somehow!! On the game side, it was difficult to know how I was progressing / what I was supposed to do / what (if any) effect my actions were having ... until the inevitable unfriending that was! Innovative but difficult to fathom

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 12:11am

Great use of theme! Awesome idea!

TheSheep says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 7:23pm

import pygame._view
ImportError: No module named _view
You are not supposed to use the private parts of a library, as they may be platform-dependent.

Anyways, a very, very sad game, and makes me feel really bad. Good job!

Moosefly says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 11:38pm

I don't think I understand The One. Maybe I should've taken the blue pill after all.

Interesting idea, but I didn't quite know how to appeal to her. I guess thats not much of a surprise considering the fact that I am rating Ludum Dare games at 1:37am... Sigh.

Jedi says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 6:51pm

Awesome! Really innovative and funny! I would have liked a good ending but then again, you are just stalking this chick on facelook, haha.

kbake says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 10:34pm

Interesting take on the theme! I had a hard time understanding if my actions had any effect other than creeping "One" out (I did pretty good at that!). Not sure if you intended there to be a mood or not, but I definitely felt lonely trying to communicate only through clicking "Like", so that was cool!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]