December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Treasurequest

by andrewkennedy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

NOTE: Run the game in 1280x720 or the GUI will not display properly.

Hey everyone! I'm back for my third Ludum Dare! I created an on-rails style game where you use items from chests - but each item can only be used once!

It's pretty similar to Star Fox in theory - you are going on a set path, but by interacting with the environment you can change the course. There's even a map at the end to show you all the areas you've uncovered.

I got my artistic inspiration from a recent obsession with low poly models using realistic lighting. Of course I had my limitations (was mostly baking 512 textures), but I think the results speak for themselves! You'll notice I've been playing a lot of Ocarina of Time lately - all of the items ended up being Zelda-inspired purely out of coincidence.

Credit to http://incompetech.com/ and freesounds.org for most ear-related things.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#17Graphics4.38
#49Overall3.80
#67Mood3.67
#68Audio3.55
#135Innovation3.53
#206Fun3.33
#446Humor2.33
#537Theme2.80

Comments

Sakuyan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:29am

HOLY GUHZONGUAHS HOW DID YOU GET THOSE KIND OF TEXTURES?! WHAT IS YOUR SECRET!!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:14am

Very nice. Love the concept.

scoopsy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:43am

Very lovely! I would have loved some checkpointing, but I enjoyed it nonetheless. Has an almost dreamlike mood

ming_tea says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:47am

This looks great and the idea of a rails adventure is pretty cool.

Kruithne says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:47am

Really enjoyed this game! Would be nice if the info boxes only came up the first time you play on the first level.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:47am

Wow the graphics are incredible ! I love it ! Great job, i like the idea of an infinity runner, with that kind of art its amazing !

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:48am

Like the idea, but the pacing felt prohibitively slow, and starting a level over after a mistake felt really punishing given the slow movement speed. A dash/accelerate feature would be useful here to progress through solved puzzles.

Deity says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:52am

Love the low-poly style and rail moving. Nice work!

MatrixBai says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:52am

Awesome game! You're amazing!

X-0r says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:55am

Nice graphics! Was there anything I missed during the bossfight? The loops I was going through didn't seem to contain any items (something I didn't try... keep the bomb, and be hit by the boss, then toss the bomb against the environment :P)

Good job!

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:01am

For the boss: If you hit the boss 5 times, he'll die. I'd recommend face-tanking the boulders and healing with the potions, then throwing the bomb as you pass him.

Boss fight is a bit sloppy, my head was swimming at that point from lack of sleep :S

Thein says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:04am

Love the idea and the execution! The visuals are amazing as well. Overall a very solid game!

arkeus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:05am

Neat idea and I like the graphics. But I agree that the info boxes coming up every time is annoying.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:10am

Haven't seen a rail game like this before. Was more fun than I'd expected!

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:18am

Beautiful! It took me ages to realize I was walking in circles in the haunted forest but I figured it out eventually :)

Garrick says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:31am

The game took a long long time to load, I left it open while I played some other games. On my first run through I died at the first jump because I missed the jump powerup. Nice music and art style.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:36am

Holy...
The art is spectacular! I reckon it could do with a bad-ass logo though! ;)
Very fun, very pretty!

mcgraw says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:43am

Very slick! Well done Andrew!

Crabman says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:50am

Whoa. :O Dude, that is amazing!

Lustdante says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:34am

This game reminds me of Giant Boulder of Death!

OnionBlaze says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:36am

I find myself re-aligning the cursor to the center every time I move the camera, so maybe use the RMB for that instead? I dunno, maybe it's just a personal preference. Also, I love me some low-poly <3

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:46am

Oh the art is eye candy it's so sexy, and the gameplay is really nice.

angelk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:06am

I came for the nice low-poly style and stayed for the fun gameplay. It's sometimes difficult to figure out how to aim, and once you get the hang of it the forward motion is a little slow, but I still had a lot of fun. The bad tree at the end was awesome! A note on the audio, I think you're supposed to compose the audio yourself within the time limit.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:36am

The graphics and music are impressive, and the game itself is nice. I only wish we could disable the initial tutorial boxes.

BitDemon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:59am

Very fun. I love the low poly models.

GingerMess says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:50pm

Not sure about using pre-existing music, but it does make the game better so why not. It does get a little slow in pacing though. Nice entry!

multikorv says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:58pm

Really nice. Got into a good flow with this one.

zkenshin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:15pm

Beautiful entry. Would have liked number keys to select items, or once you had used an item it would have switched to another one for you.

JALgames says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:12am

Wonderful game! I really liked the art style with this paper-like world.

viinnyk says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:33am

very nice gameplay. Not very difficult, but still fun. The only thing I din't really like was the boss didn't require any skill or speed to beat, only the health potions from the beginning of the level. Also, loved the audio

Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:49am

Love the art-style! I'm currently obsessing over the same sort of thing myself, so this game goes straight to the reference folder! Fun game, and very well polished, great work!

Toureiro says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:13am

Excellent entry! Looks great and plays well.

Diptoman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:30am

The only thing on my mind was "How on earth did you guys make this in 72 hours!?"
If I could complain about anything, that would be the mouse sensitivity is a bit low, making it hard at times.

sandbaydev says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:33am

This is a nice twist into run-games genre... making running bit of a puzzle. Well done.

PEBKAC says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:54am

Awesome graphics. Not quite sure if the core gameplay mechanic feels smooth / natural.

pereubu says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:00am

nice concept, like it :3

bitserum says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:14am

This is awesome, idea, execution, quality. All great. Really good job.

Benjamin says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:21am

I love the plain surface 3D style. It reminds me of starfox or virtua racing sega game :) The control was strange to handle for me : I was alaways trying to click before using space when I see unexpected obstacle like boulders coming at me.

On the moutain level if you can grab chest from the right path because you can see through the moutain.

On boss level I would have love to see his deah animation instead of having this ending panel in the way :)

Great ambience ( with music change ) on each level, that's an huge ammount of work for 48h compo. Thanks on giving me this strange 3D immersion feeling I had when I was playing first 3D Aracade back in the 90's.

zebi24 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:29am

I love it. Veri unique graphics and gameplay! Awesome job!

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:33am

I found it interesting to explore for chest and keep looking ahead at the same time.
Great job on the music, they are various and all of quality (what software did you used ?)

Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:40pm

Good job!

Tonasz says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:16pm

Such a pleasure for eyes. Such an ejoy for player. ++ for hidden roads and fun with different run i took. But you really could do something about irritating mouse (maybe hide and highlight center point of screen for targeting?).

Madball says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:40pm

Throwing bombs required some accuracy, and jumping also did sometimes. It didn't feel fun to miss something.
Also, I would like some kind of level select. It's repetitive to play all the levels once more if you want to use another path.

Anyway, great game. Well, everybody says that, you know.

Xaychru04 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:33pm

Really original game, the artstyle is really nice and colorful. Good job, I like this mood! :)

Sebastian says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:35pm

Wow, this game has style! Wish those info boxes would stop bugging me though..

local minimum says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:59pm

You obviously know how to work your art tools and I think this could become a really addictive game, but I found the combination of too unforgiving mouse-clicking-while-looking-navigation and the slow pace made me not want to retry more than two three times before giving up. So my suggestion would be to add a run-option and maybe to think some on the possibility of improving the mouse-steering. I guess this especially applies to the web-player were the mouse doesn't get centered on the screen, but stuck somewhere close to where it happened to enter.

GFM says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:55pm

I liked your take on the graphics! That "low-poly" scenario came out quite nice!
But controls were a little tough... Aiming the bomb was somewhat difficult, at times, and that first jump on the crystal cave made me quit... >_<

I'll come back to this later and take the normal route! xD

rogueNoodle says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 12:00pm

Really excellent entry - I'd love to see this idea turned into something more. Maybe even without the "one use per item" restriction. I'd love to play a fantasy themed House of the Dead/Time Crisis type game

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]