December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Penguins Gone Mad

by _zulli - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hope you all like it! :)
#YOGO tower left.


--ADDED WASD for left handed and for people who are having trouble on playing it on laptops
--ADDED A 800x600 version for people who are having trouble with fitting the 1024x720 version.

Controls:
Mouse - Aim
Press mouse to charge and release it to throw.
Left-Right / A-D - Move.
UP-Down / W-S - Change weapon.


Changelog:
bugfix 1 (12/16/2013 - 2:15AM[UTC -3]):
- Fixed Round 11 crash
- Fixed Game over
- Fixed Gravity and explosion position bug (made explosive arrows not work at all)
- Fixed Flying Enemies not showing
- Fixed some minor stuff


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#92Humor3.47
#191Fun3.37
#331Overall3.21
#335Graphics3.24
#390Mood2.92
#586Audio2.34
#759Innovation2.48
#839Theme2.23

Comments

Fadobo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:04pm

Neat game, well done. I never trusted those penguins anyway!

sirerr says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:44pm

I really enjoyed this game, took me a few minutes to realize all I had to use was the mouse and also holding down the button gave me more power, I was pretty much just pressing the mouse button to make a whole bunch of arrows lol. This game was challenging, good job!

_zulli says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:18pm

@Fadobo: Thank you for the review! After I get home I'll play/review your game :)

@sierr: Thanks for the review! I've updated the Controls info to make how to play clearer! Thank you! As I said to Fadobo, when I get home I'll play/review your game too!

Thank you!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:20pm

The penguins apocalypse! Hehehe...is so funny. Congratz!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:18pm

Nice game. I like graphics and see all those kamikazes penguins was fun!

DaanVanYperen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:25pm

My girlfriend god mad at me for shooting the sad looking helmet penguins. thanks a lot! Seriously though, I enjoyed the bow-play, and the unexpected sky-penguins.

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:44pm

Funny, and awesome! Very fun, and great graphics

Gravedrinker says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:52pm

This is pretty cool! The enemies are fun and actually have decent variety. I liked the flying ones especially, really cute. The look is charming and it definitely scores bonus points for exploding penguins. I mean... exploding penguins, come on! How can you not like that?

If you want to add to the game, some more weapon pick ups would be fun. One tip about the background: Blurring it in photoshop or another editing software would take away the harsh edges and make it look further away.

Good job with the game, I like it!

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:59pm

This is a neat little game, and I liked the bow-charging mechanic. You could have had more enemy variety more quickly, though; and the default size of the browser player was too tall for my screen, meaning I was unable to see the bottom of the game.

Spelchan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:59pm

I've always said that giving air-miles to penguins is a bad idea and this game proves it.

_zulli says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:14pm

@All: Thanks for the ratings/comments :D Im really happy everyone liked it and had fun playing it! :)

@Gravedrinker: When I've started creating it my intention was to make you choose which weapon you would use for that specific play and create some funny weapons like exploding fish. However, I couldn't manage to make it on time :/ I'll make a post-compo version and post it later!
Thanks for the tip on background! I'll try it! :)

@JaymeeMak: I'm sorry for that! :/ I thought that 800x600 would be too small, but I forgot to think about that sometimes it's better for fitting on every computer.

sam1373 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:44pm

Very nice, although I also had the problem with the game not fitting. It's quite satisfying to explode penguins, isn't it?

_zulli says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:08am

@sam1373 and all that had trouble with fitting. Added 800x600 version.

Gamelabbers says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:12am

Exploding arrows... yes!

minibutmany says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:37am

Cute and fun!

recursor says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:53am

Those penguins must be really mad to come that far away from the pole. What did that knight do to them? I wish you had time to put an upgrade system in the game, but it is pretty fun as-is. Nice graphics.

XmmmX says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:40am

Nice game, good arrow physics, well polished gameplay. The idea to choose penguins as enemies is really funny. ^^

smnbackwards says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:05am

This game is really fun. Good job, and thanks for the rating =]

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:12am

Dude, this is a fun-as game!
I didn't survival long because of the Mad Penguins! Very cool game.
All it needs now is a parallax background, some sweet as graphics, and some custom sounds :D
This is really good for 48 hours :)

Hyde Wyvern says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:14am

Aww those penguins were a kick on the ass, so cute! I loved the game, very creative and lovely graphics!

HellBlazer says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:52am

Pretty easy game... until the damn planes show up!

j_stirk says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:07am

Nice game, and fun to play. Being in the browser means it's pretty frustrating when you're scrolling the map and loose focus though.

tcarter says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:18am

Hilarious and fun. Good work!

derdragon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:21am

Nice job. Cute graphics for the penguins.

gnerkus says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:38am

AWESOME! - The game is fun! Those penguins are scary: they must have travelled all the way from the North Pole to the castle. The graphics were very well done.

NOT SO GOOD - It took a while for me to figure out how to shoot properly. I wish there was a little music.

IDEA - Powerups!

CONCLUSION - A very good game.

lucentbeam says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:11am

Ha! I love the look of all the different penguins! My only comment (and very minor at that) is that it would be nice to have WASD controls in addition to the arrow keys, as playing left handed on the laptop with trackpad made it quite a bit harder. That being said, the control scheme and look mechanic was really fun! Awesome job.

_zulli says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:29pm

Thank you all for the amazing comments! Those feedbacks are making me learn a lot about what you guys usually look after on games to prevent errors in future, thanks!:DD

@ENDESGA - I was really planning to do this!! I think parallax backgrounds make everything feel more realistic. But I really forgot about it because of the sleepless nights :P Thanks for the tip!

@j_stirk- That's one issue I had while planning this game, how to make the camera movement work well with shooting. In early dev that was the most messed up thing but I tried my best to work it out. But in the end, you are right! It needs some polishing!

@gnerkus - Sorry for the shooting! What do you think I should add to make it clearer??

@lucentbeam - You are completely right. I didn't have time to test it on other environments so I forgot to add other control options, I'm sorry! Thanks for the feedback!

Again, thanks for the ratings/feedbacks! :D

cesisco says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:00pm

Really fun, i played it quite a lot.I would choose the WASD controls to this game aswell.

_zulli says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:04pm

@cesico: Thank you! I'll upload a WASD version.

http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/?p=323544

_zulli says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:05pm

Ooops! That link: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/?p=323544 is the post-mortem of Penguins gone mad! If you guys want to know more about the development please consider reading! :)

Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:25pm

I REALLY liked the gameplay! Great job!

ismyhc says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:44pm

Overall good job! One thing is that I wish there was cross hair indicator.

Zemmi says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:52pm

That was a lot of fun. Good variety of enemies so it never stagnated although it would have been cool to see a weapon type or two more. Perhaps a spread shot or an ice arrow to slow guys down that causes aerial units to crash and break on the ground. The planes were my favourite artwork, hilarious design.

The giant penguin was the death of me and when I restarted my score didn't reset to 0 :P

drludos says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:57pm

Very Nice Game! I had fun shooting all those penguins :)

I personally find the arrow charging time a bit too long for distance shots, so my strategy was to wait for the penguins to be near the castle, and then click on the mouse like a crazy to make arrows rain down on them and kill them all.

Dikkop says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:37pm

I love penguins so this game was great for me. Pretty fun game, excellent time killer!

somepx says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:28pm

Gunter! A little nice game ;)

Alex Higgins says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:19am

Nice concept! I think that it currently has some balance issues - the swarms are generally too hard to handle by the second half, but don't hurt you too much when you fail to take them down. Also, the difference between rapid firing arrows and sniping with arrows is a bit too drastic - it was hard to achieve a balance between the two firing modes. It kept me playing til round 11, though! Nice ending!

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:17pm

cute penguins

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:47pm

I always knew penguins were evil! :-)

Zerot says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:57pm

Nice little game. Simple but well executed

Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:44pm

Nice funny game! Huge variety of evil penguins! Great :)

Kareemroks101 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:21am

Very simple and very fun, so many evil penguins :)

cardboard says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:33am

This is great! :) The penguin variety is wonderful. The flying penguins are a pain to kill, especially the ones in the plane that shoot back at you. Some lighthearted music would make this better I bet. Also, it'd be a good idea to show the player's score and what round they got to when after they lose. I think I had around 2500 points and got to round 19 or so. Nice work on this game; the graphics are nice and the gameplay is solid and fun.

And thanks for the 800x600 version :D

Cipher says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:05am

I enjoyed it! The kamikaze flying penguins really caught me be by surprise xD

Cipher says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:43am

I enjoyed this! The kamikaze flying penguins really caught me be by surprise xD

LordHellMaX says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:26pm

Very cool, I like the progression in the levels!

DallOner says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:13am

GG! round 10! I like it... Dat Penguins haha

olafsworld98 says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:28am

the boss killed me on Round 15 lol nice game for true

Seigeengine says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 9:10am

Reasonably fun, though I'm honestly not very fond of defense games (particularly tower-defense ones) myself. Still good. One criticism is I don't feel the theme was really... meaningful. When I see games like this, I think "They wanted to make a tower defense game, and just fit the theme in". That's not necessarily bad. It can still produce a fun game, but the relationship between the theme and the game is loose at best. Another criticism is that I didn't really understand what the different weapon types really meant, when they were refilled, or what. A little bit more explanation would go a long way.

To clarify, since you directed me over from my game, the tile editing was NOT an intended game-play mechanic. It was just an easy way for me to play around and build the levels without bringing in other tools. Since things went poorly with IRL obligations, and the like, I figured I'd just leave that in, and let people play around with it.

Anyways, thanks!

LukeR says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:49pm

Nice Game!

murilo says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 8:03pm

Nice game and pretty cool graphics! I just didn't like how long it took for the penguins to start coming on a new round.

_zulli says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 9:02pm

@all:
Thanks for the wonderful comments and reviews! :)


@Sigeengine:
Even tough the comment was rude, I understand your point. However, at least for me ,is almost impossible to give a certain "psychological analysis" of how one had an idea. There are a million ways to have an project idea, from "I want to do this kind of game and I need to fit this somehow into the theme" to "From the theme proposed I've deducted a whole new concept for an innovative gameplay" there is no wrong or right.... The focus here is to finish a game and to have fun with this wonderful community's projects.

Talking about refills, well that was a last-hour design decision. I should be different. :)
Chill out and have fun.

robhor says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 12:01am

Good work! Nice variety in penguins :)

Seigeengine says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 6:05am

@_zulli:
If you mean my comment was rude, it wasn't, at all, and while what I said might bother you, which is understandable, I hope you can appreciate the complete lack of rudeness or malicious intent within that comment.

I explicitly stated that there is nothing wrong with having an idea for a game and fitting a theme into it. I'd suggest you reread my previous comment.

There is nothing rude about criticism, and I had no negative emotions while writing my previous comment comment. So I must return your own advice to you.

"Chill out and have fun."

Eddy93 says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 3:23pm

Hiii!! I liked this game very much :) Defending the castle seemed easy in the beginning, but became tough in the end. So good job with that.
It was really fun to play.

I only missed the theme a little bit, and some backgroundmusic perhaps.
Those were the only two minor things.

Overall: Well done!

TijmenTio says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 4:58pm

I really like the diversity of the enemies. Like the penguin-airplane haha.
It's not very polished and it's just a basic tower defense game, but you still accomplished a lot and I think you did a great job nonetheless ;)

Mutt says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 3:04am

Pretty cool. The idea of a "tower defense" game where you directly play one guy on one tower is pretty clever, one of the more inventive uses of the theme. The graphics are kind of crude but the sound and visuals of shooting the penguins was pretty satisfying. I like the different looks of the penguins too.

Dec 28, 2013 @ 3:17pm

Yay, penguins! Nice visuals and the game is pretty fun. The only thing bothering me a little were the controls - I didn't quite get why you could move your character in the first place since it didn't really made a difference, and the way the mouse holding affects the way the arrow is shot is really hard to control.
The flying penguins were a positive surprise though. Good work!

ehtd says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 4:17am

Quite entertaining, great kamikaze penguins!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]