December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Life

by SnoringFrog - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You only get one life--live it well.

A game/interactive fiction piece written in Twine. Simply access the game and click "Begin." to start.

WARNING: This game can't be saved at any point. It's best to play it from start to finish in one sitting. It's not very long, so 10-15 minutes should be sufficient to complete it.

Should the server go down for some reason, you can play the game with just the .html file. Just open it in any browser and it should work.

There were supposed to be 2-3 major storylines (the cop/robber decision originally led to two entirely different stories), but I ran short on time and wasn't able to implement them for the compo. I will probably add at least one other storyline to a post compo version at some point. For what it's worth, the ending with your wife was the 'real' ending (meaning that was the original ending before I added multiple endings), and I think that one came out the best. The other endings were more rushed and did not feel as 'right' to me.


Update: Fixed a couple typos (a sentence was appearing twice in a row)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#180Theme3.48
#208Mood3.25
#554Overall2.95
#570Humor2.08
#756Innovation2.49
#845Fun2.32
#937Graphics1.90

Comments

tklovert says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:12am

Not a bad choose your own adventure. Could've used a few bigger decisions though.

I liked the story.

whiteknife says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:15am

A solid piece piece overall, but I felt like I could have used a bit more build-up. Going straight from being a little kid to disappointment over over-priced Mexican food to having to make a life-changing decision was a bit jarring. That said, it was well-written, and for the time frame, I thought it was a good showing.

Snail_Man says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:39am

Nice text adventure. I liked the story a lot. Good job.

ferrzo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:55pm

Its pitty, that it didnt go deeper, because it had a nice story.

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:49pm

Not bad at all!
Nice..

Michcioperz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:40am

Wow. Wow. I feel bad for choosing <spoiler goes here>.

kbake says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:42am

It was pretty engaging and had a decent amount of content despite the time limit you were under! There was at least one line that repeated itself (though this may have been intentional and I didn't read it correctly!) and at one point I read a sentence that didn't go with the choice I made (but the rest of the page made sense). I would be interested to see more!

kbake says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:16am

Hey I saw your comment on my game, is there a way I can contact you about the things I mentioned? Or is it ok to just post them here? I don't want to give away any spoilers.

DST says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:41am

I'm not too big on text-adventures, but I did enjoy the story in this one and made it to (one of the) ending(s?) :)

Bcadren says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:45am

Is this...an HTML-based text adventure? O_O; It felt a little random; jumping from 'cops and robbers' to 'Mexican food' to 'major life-changing decision'...I feel like it would have been better served to develop the main scenario farther...IDK.

mactinite says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:29pm

So first off I want to say as a game, this is obviously nothing special in the terms of game-play. Now that we got that out of the way, let's talk about the absolutely wonderfully written narrative. As I read through this short story some points actually gave me chills(I'm a bit susceptible to this when it comes to engaging stories lol). I feel like although the story was a bit rushed, it hit on the key points to get me to feel as if the character was real. I'm not sure if the choices I made had any effect, but the story itself was engaging enough that didn't matter much. Nice job!

Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:31pm

this was great, you used the theme to great effect. i mean, it's been done before in other games, but i was still very surprised when i wanted to try out the other storylines but couldn't.

the story is perhaps a bit short (took me about 5 minutes), and i don't really understand what the beginning had to do with anything, but i liked it nonetheless. good, sparse prose, just the way i want it.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:39pm

The story is rather simple, and the writing is kind of... not bad in any way, but not really memorable most of the time. The back story when you're at the Mexican restaurant felt rather verbose. All in all, it felt like a rather standard Twine story.

SPOILER


Then I tried playing it again, and... oh, very nice. I've never seen that done with a Twine game before. You definitely get an extra star on Innovation from me. (I'd still like to go back and see how other choices would have panned out. But heck, such is life.)

joekinley says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:35am

Mh hard to say what I really think about that without sounding too harsh.
First off, nice take on the story. My second attempt at the game really freaked me out a bit.

That being said, it felt kinda displaced with the choices you had to make turning out to be futile regarding the end of the game. The last decision was tough, and I would have loved to see more coming out of it. As of now, you are not quite sure wether it was a right decision, wether you turn out to be happy with it or wether you maybe turn out to regret it. Could be much deeper.

It could be a nice story, but somehow it just didn't get to me too much. I'm sorry to say that, I'd have loved it for the story to really get into me and make me think. I'd have loved for the story to shuffle up my day leaving me pondering about it all day long, and a few days after that, like a dream that just really gets into you. I guess the story has kind of potential for this to happen, but maybe it's just the short timeframe of the compo to not end up being that.

So yeah, good take on the theme, overall a nice experience (don't worry, no bad points here), and special points for the potential it might have. If you wanna keep doing these storys, please please put everything into it that you can give, plus more. I want these storys to phase me out of my every day live.

Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:35am

Strega:
Nice to see a text adventure in the mix of all the ludum games. It's good to play something emotional every once in a while. I wish I had more choices in some events, but I understand the time constraint.

(This is a team account)

Diptoman says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:03am

Damn, I wanted to play it again to get another ending but that's some very strict application of the theme xD. It's cool. Enjoyed the story anyways.

Masadow says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:29pm

I'm not a big fan of the genre, but this one is well done :)

gustavodort says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 2:43pm

Yeah, you have a good thing going on there! :D

kibertoad says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 3:18pm

great to see a twine game where I can't predict the outcome at first screen. I get that you were going for butterfly effect in the beginning, but at least some foreshadowing would work better. also, I really like how it's written. btw, how did you make go back one page not to work?

kibertoad says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 3:21pm

you clever bastards.

Xanjos says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 10:16pm

Pretty engaging text adventure. I liked how you've incorporated the theme in the (rather difficult) choices that the player will have to make and I really loved the fact you only get one playthrough.

Jan Marcano says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:33pm

I liked this very much :) I kinda expected the 'one-playthrough' thing, but I enjoyed it anyways.

Would like to know what would have happened if I made other choices, but I guess that's how life works.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]