December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Better Half

by ocmu - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Whew, submitted. Then fixed two bugs in the submission hour, then resubmitted!

**********************************************
This is a game about love and relationships. You and your better half walk through the world, meeting people who may want to be your friend or may want to destroy your connection. Stay close to your partner to stay safe!

**********************************************
INSTRUCTIONS:

> Let enemies come between you when you are within the relationship circle.

> Don't let them come between you if you are out of the circle (you will lose).

> Collect coins, pandas, and secret kitties!(?)

**********************************************
CONTROLS:

ARROW KEYS - movement
OR
LEFT MOUSE - movement

ENTER - navigate menus

**********************************************
Thanks for playing! Please rate and leave comments!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness95%
#159Innovation3.49
#301Humor2.75
#326Overall3.22
#408Graphics3.10
#431Theme3.00
#510Audio2.49
#555Mood2.68
#557Fun2.78

Comments

mcapraro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:44am

really well done and really neat idea!

Donutttt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:44pm

Very clever, well represented idea, one of the better takes on the theme that I've seen so far.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:45pm

The idea is really great.

celsyum says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:47pm

cool implementation :D very unique and gameplay is very user friendly

vallde says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:56pm

Love the idea, but bouncing on others is a bit annoying xD, specially when they just get literally over her lol

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:21pm

Really good feel about this game, love the novel mechanic and the artwork, the extra modes round out the experience nicely, thanks :D

Move127 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:32pm

Very good game, might just have to come back to this one later.

derdragon says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:14pm

Loved this. Though my "friends" did bludgeon me mercilessly against a wall.

Korwegian says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:16pm

Took me a while to get the hang of it but I like the game.

Bonifacio2 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:20pm

Nice one. :)

Hyoga-3D says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:00pm

Good take on the theme!

Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:14am

I really like this concept, and it's very well implemented! God Job! :D

tomc says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:57pm

Not bad! Good use of the theme. It was a little easy though -- I was usually able to get all the coins and pandas with a minute to spare.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:13pm

Cool idea

Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:17pm

Very nice idea! Love :)

Nelien says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:10pm

That was a unique game for sure! Cute concept and a lot of nice feedback for whatever you were doing. I wasn't quite sure what the little ghost like people were supposed to be, but I tried to befriend them anyway :). The sound got a bit annoying after a while so I had to turn it down to almost quiet. Overall a great submission! 4/5

multikorv says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:17pm

Nice mechanics! Original idea.

somepx says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:26pm

Didn't know submitted games could be bugfixed - my game sorta needed that! I <3 graph and gameplay, a solid entry

Zemmi says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:39pm

That was a neat mechanic, well done and good use of theme.

Since your partner walks around the whole level I can just hang with her and get everything I need with time to spare. I would enjoy if she moved less, forcing the player to run out of range and risk their ties being severed.

Cute graphics btw, loved the pandas and your partner's heart-shaped face.

Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:49am

Great game, great idea. I want more levels!

GingerMess says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:46am

A lovely little game, I really liked it. Nice!

Jan 4, 2014 @ 4:24am

Nice concept, cool game! I included this game in my Ludum Dare 28 compilation video, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/UY85Y9qNh3Q

Raphy says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 10:34pm

Cool concept !

Alink says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 10:38pm

Nice game idea and well done. Is there a way to speed up the timer after collecting all coins?

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]