December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

TankoKitty

by JohnnySix - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Dogs vs Cats in this ammo saving adventure across time and space. Ballons, Bones and Potatoes. Sucks too.

Move left to suck stuff , up down to aim, space to fire.

Forks kill balloons, Potatoes kill crates and dogs.

It was originally going to fire just forks, but the potato was too fun, so it kinda bent the theme somewhat, but you can't enjoy potato without a fork, and tuna..

Engine is construct 2, graphics in photoshop , music / sfx in flstudio and audition.

Props to Scirra guys!

Added a couple of pictures of the star of the game. :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#47Audio3.64
#120Humor3.34
#127Fun3.49
#158Graphics3.71
#205Overall3.39
#242Mood3.17
#411Innovation3.03
#962Theme1.83

Comments

WojWorks says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:44pm

Even though it doesn't fit the theme very well, It is probably the most polished and fun game I've played so far.

ahm99 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:44pm

This game is pretty cool. It was a little glitchy, but it was fun. I also thought that the sucking feature was interesting.

drludos says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:44pm

Nice Little game! I love the music and the graphics, and the physics-based gameplay is nice. Good job!

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Great graphics and game feel. The music is BUMPIN'. Could use more content and has no connection to the theme.

multikorv says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:23pm

Really cool! Nice mechanics.

acp_ld says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:26pm

excellent game, the one bullet theme seems to be really common but overall the game is really well done

rezoner says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:54pm

I didn't liked the gameplay too much - but couldn't stop playing because the music and visuals! Cool physics and very moody prod.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:03pm

I definitely love this sort of pixel art and I definitely love cats. Do I enjoy shooting forks out of tanks? The answer is yes. Yes I do. The suction thing was very cool as well.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:45pm

Cool music and visuals! Really, really odd game but sort of fun, now if it only was longer and hitting balloons was easier.

Kyatric says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Interesting Monthy Python clash between dogs and cats. The "sucking power" was indeed interesting to use once I understood how it worked.

Funny experience ^^
Congrats for making it, even with the time constraints.

Aaants says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:06pm

Well, that was awesome...

Jejeboy says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:59am

Awesome physics. I like the theme too, pretty funny.

Scifer says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:54pm

lol, nicely done, although I cannot seem to get hurt by the enemies before they blast themselves on their backs. And I'm not sure what exactly you only have one of, in-keeping with the theme. Still a fun little game!

Brian says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:17pm

Pretty nice looking, nice audio and good controls, well done sir !

lennaert says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:24pm

Awesome :D loved the tunes

glovecat says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:30pm

Good pixelart, good physics, good muuuuusic! amazing game (and... good cats!!)

juaxix says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:00pm

Hey, my game is designed to be played with a gamepad, i think yours is right but with a lack of gamedesign because you can easily loss the rock and cant continue anymore ,leaving you the only option of restart it...overall, good, i love the idea of the animals inside tanks, that's the true indie spirit ;)

abeing says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:29am

everything done perfect! great work!

Nelien says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:42am

Haha, that was awesome. The randomness is great, and the fact that the enemies are useless made me laugh my ass off! :P Great work!

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:44am

You have one potato meal. There was supposed to be a bonus once you got the fork stuck in the potato but I couldn't figure out the glitchy in time. :p

thatwhichis says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:22am

A winner is me!

Thank you. Thank you for letting me play as the kitty instead of the doggy.

zatyka says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:09am

I enjoy how ridiculous it is. I definitely had fun playing it. Great art, awesome music, lots of polish, and pretty cool game mechanic. My only complains are poor connection to theme, and that it was so short. I hope you keep working on it, because I would certainly like to play a few more levels. Overall, really nice job.

finefin says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:08am

very nice game. took some moments to get used to the controls but then it was fun! good work!

LatFoued says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:41am

The pixel art is very beautiful and so is the concept and gameplay, but i think more instructions on what to do are welcome. Good job

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:56pm

LOL this game idea is weird but extremely funny! Grats!

Jgpicatoste says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:13am

One of the, if not THE, funniest games in this edition.

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:02pm

Wow, really polished and fun game! I think this one has to be developed into a full game.

Eddy93 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:08pm

Well done! You did a good job on the graphics and it was fun to play. For me it was a little bit too easy. I found out that you can win this game by holding forward and keep pressing spacebar.
Still a good game :)

Nut says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:13pm

This was a lot of fun, and the mechanics were surprising and innovative!

It's a bit strange that the vacuum effect happens when moving backwards; this made fetching the fork awkward sometimes.

Almax27 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:20pm

That was a lot of fun :D especially running away at the beginning so the cat has to catch the tank! hehe, nice work!

Gungnir says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:21pm

This reminds me of a dream my cat had that made my cat happy and violent. Nice.

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:37am

Very fun and well polished. Loved the audio!

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:48am

Looool! Really funny concept! I had a lot of tunna!

Diptoman says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:28am

The game's really polished and well made! The theme didn't fit too much, but still had fun! The menu music should've been nicer to play in the game though...

Xaychru04 says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:28am

I really had fun playing this game, hilarous mechanics, beautiful art, shame the level is too short... Good job anyway, awesome game! :D

van noctar says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:54pm

Great graphics and sounds! Gameplay correct :D

Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:28pm

Nice game :) The graphics are really great. The mechanics / control of the character is smooth. I like it very much. Great work !

Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:01pm

5/5. I particularly enjoyed the music. It would be nice if the cat made some cat noises. I hope you make more levels it seems like you have only *scratched* the surface.

Piat says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:19pm

Great art and music, interesting mechanics, very fun.

aeveis says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 4:34am

Nice art, the sucking in mechanic was interesting.

Inso says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:28am

Very great games ! No idea how it does fit the theme, but that was very fun nonetheless !

loxo says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 10:24pm

Nice game with an interesting gameplay. More levels with varying objectives would be nice.

greytram says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 11:52am

Meoooooow!!! Cats in tanks! This game is fun!
Graphics are cute, soundtrack is entertaining and sound FX are nice. Animation and physics are well integrated.
I'm a bit puzzled though regarding how the game relates to the theme. It's also too easy to complete (what about a few more levels for a post-compo version?).
Well done overall!

GarethIW says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 1:43pm

Great spritework and music. Gameplay was enjoyable. Bonus for kitties!

GFM says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 10:28pm

It's a fun game with great controls... but you kinda blown your use of the theme...

Great game, nonetheless.

peacegiverman says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 3:00am

Nice! Pretty graphics and pretty polished. It felt a bit too easy since you could retrieve the rock and the fork at any time.

patrickgh3 says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 5:01am

Moving back to suck up the bullets was neat, I could imagine more complex fighting situations where it could prove interesting.

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 8:00pm

I like the cat photos in your screenshot section. ^_^ This is a very impressive entry for 48 hours too - thought was a jam entry at first! Some of the pixel art detail and animation work is very impressive, rated highly. :)

Sean Noonan says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 1:54am

I found the controls pretty confusing, but otherwise a nice polished game. Also, it's awesome that you used your cat :D

Jan 5, 2014 @ 10:05pm

Amazing!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]