December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

YOGO - The Detective Story

by psc1997 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

First time I made game in RenPy Engine ;-)
But in my mind it is good.
If I have more time, I want to add some things, but... time is end...
But game is COMPLETED! And I'm very happy from this! :)


NOTE: There is many semi comprehensible words, and probably bad writing. I'm sorry for that. I'm not perfect in English :c
But! Feel free to send me a dialog corrects, and I will update it!

POSTCOMPO NOTE: I fixed bad writing and semi comprehensible english ;-)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#434Humor2.37
#598Graphics2.74
#744Audio1.57
#791Mood2.31
#845Theme2.21
#851Fun2.31
#897Innovation2.15
#913Overall2.43

Comments

X-0r says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:39pm

Does the police and detectives really yell at a witness, threatening to arrest them, even if they are not guilty? /me shudders

Anyway - nice short story-based game with a lot of options to try =)

302_Dave says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:33am

I liked the artwork. Particularly the police officer. He reminded me of like a 90's cartoon policeman.

Shigor says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:23pm

Bad writing and sometimes semicomprehensible english.

The Axe Cop, sorry, frendly cop, was about the only think I liked (because I'm Axe Cops fan)

pusheax says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:34pm

Like the game feel. It's good humour: CreateGame Studio, reference to Ludum Dare. Good graphics.

Daveloper says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:23pm

Technically a proficient text based adventure game. Though the broken english, odd dialogue and a plot that needs polishing didn't allow me to enjoy this game very much.

Harsay says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 12:03am

Never seen the game like this before in Ludum Dare.

GreaseMonkey says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 3:05am

Can you please get rid of the adfly links and just give us direct downloads? It's not in the spirit of Ludum Dare.

psc1997 says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 9:10am

@GreaseMonkey: You have right... This is not in the spirit of Ludum Dare :/ This is my 3rd Ludum Dare, and first time I add adfly links... This is my mistake... Sorry for that ;) I added dropbox links ;)

Thanks to all, for comments and support ;) I fix broken English, and sent PostCompo version, but if you find semi comprehensible english, feel free to sent me fixed dialogues. Then I will update dialogues in code ;)

nicotr014 says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 9:44am

Good job, it has potential

Capitals says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 12:16pm

The writing isn't great but it was fun at least.

steamgirl says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 1:27pm

Really enjoyed it. I actually thought your English was perfectly comprehensible, didn't struggle to understand the story at all. The ending was a little disappointing, as I felt the reason for why I should have known who was the murderer wasn't strong enough. I would probably have said the same thing even if I was innocent. But I'm genuinely impressed with what you managed to achieve in such a short time - I've used Ren'py before and I'm not sure I could do the same!

I hope you make more of these in your own time (maybe with an English editor buddy) - I'd play them! :)

Threef says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 4:27pm

5 stars in humor for "blond chair" killer!

tobbez says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 12:31am

Like the story, a bit hard to read at times but a nice idea and nice artwork.

multikorv says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 12:46am

Nice potential for an adventure game.

psc1997 says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 9:30am

Thanks for feedback very much! With this feedback I must think to develop full game after Ludum Dare ;-)
Without semi comprehensible english ;)

@Threef: HAHA! Chair killer! Ohh no! He want to kill me now, because We found him! :P
But seriously I must fix this word :)

caranha says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 2:36pm

Thanks for the effort in the LD.

To be quite honest, I was not very satisfied with the game. The biggest problem is that there is only ONE information in the entire game was important for the ending, and part of the information necessary to get the ending right is contained outside the game.

When you make a puzzle game, it is usually good practice to make sure that ALL information necessary to complete the puzzle is inside the game somehow.

Cheers!

arcticleaf says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 9:45am

gooddd

folmerkelly says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 2:53pm

Rough, but p much the definition of having its heart in the right place. I'm not into the art style but it is decent

lucentbeam says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 5:33pm

I enjoyed this a lot! Had a blast playing it.

ViliX says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 6:16pm

I have lost, but still enjoyed this grat entry. You should be proud to make such a story in 48 hours..

iiechapman says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 11:29pm

Hey there, wanted to let you know I updated the game to fix the problem you were having!
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-28/?action=preview&uid=14399

01rafael says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 2:30am

Great entry! However, I don't like read too much when I playing. Maybe somebody else. But, everything looks great

Atmospherium says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 2:33am

Games that require a lot of writing are typically hard to make, especially for a game jam, but you really did a good job in making things pull together. Yeah, there are some weird phrases and some odd dialogue options, but I didn't find it too distracting. Cool artwork and story. Keep it up!

HeyChinaski says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 2:28pm

Nice work on the character drawings. Game play was a little linear but the story was consistent.

crockid5 says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 5:06pm

This really isn't my type of game, got very boring very quickly

psc1997 says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 7:05pm

Really big thanks for feedback! This motivating me to more work !
Actually I started to work on the full game, with more dialogues, soundtrack, best graphics, more advanced story and more options to try !
I can't wait for game results ^^
But now... have a nice day to You, the reader ;)

Jod says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 11:38pm

Liked it, was able to play it no problem! Some tips:

-Turn off Developer mode before compiling the final code (I was still able to hit shift-D and enter developer mode :)). It's in the options.rpy, I believe.
-Did you know you can show menu options based on variables? For example, only showing a menu option to ask about a suspicious character if someone mentions him before. It's something like:

menu:
"Go left.":
...
"Go right.":
...
"Fly above." if drank_tea:
...

(see http://www.renpy.org/doc/html/menus.html)
-Love the artwork! But don't forget that your text-screen will take up quite a few pixels, so if you want your characters to show up 'centered', you have to make them a bit higher.

Hope to see your next game in the next Ludum Dare!

michail says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 8:02pm

Maybe the plot and writing are not amazing, but I still enjoyed it. I liked the graphics and i think the game has a potential, especially if you would add some simple sounds and music.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]