December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Wizardry of Differentiation

by mortus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

There are 180 different spells in the impressive arsenal of our hero the Wizard, but as it goes, on each level He Can Only Get One.

==============
LOW FPS NOTICE
==============

If the game runs slow for you even with low enemy count, please consider trying downloadable swf version. I will really appreciate if you let me know if it's any faster in the comments.

==========
POST-COMPO
==========

Post-compo changes are very minor and I actually had them planned before compo ended but forgot to add on the last minute.

Added 1 sound effect - enemy death
Decreased electricity damage
Decreased electro nova projectile amount modifier
Increased nova fire delay

============
INSTRUCTIONS
============

Arrows to move.
Mouse to shoot.

After each level you have first to craft one new Spell Gem. Then you select from 1 to 3 of your available Spell Gems to form a spell of your liking.

=====================
CRAFTING INSTRUCTIONS
=====================

First selected Gem defines the basic nature of your spell.

Second Gem shapes the form of your spell, attack type.

Third Gem adds minor modifiers to it.

=============

I didn't have horribly much time to spend on balance, so it's far from perfect.

Feel free to share names of your favorite unbalanced spells (you can copy those right from game) in comments!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#49Overall3.80
#97Fun3.56
#151Innovation3.51
#200Audio3.12
#282Mood3.10
#343Graphics3.23
#403Theme3.07
#516Humor2.20

Comments

chicknstu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:21pm

Really enjoyed this. Would like to see this spell crafting system make it into a bigger game.

Good job :)

cwkx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:44pm

Extremely good entry - I can't believe you managed to implement such complex mechanics in such little time. The spell combining is very cool in the later levels, great job!

turnip says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:05pm

Awesome! This is easily the entry that addicted me the most so far. Really nice mechanic for creating spells, I just wish I understood how it worked a little better e.g which gem controls the firing pattern, which controls the damage type etc. Nice job!

louis.denizet says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:20pm

Really awesome realisation in such a short time!

It was one of my idea of game to do but thought it was too ambitious, looks like you done it just right =)

somepx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:43pm

Crafting system is really well made and complex - game is a bit frustrating, maybe I'm not that good! Nice job

Tsumei says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:49pm

Quite liked it. Had some problems with lag that might have to do with optimizations, but it was very creative and really got my interest. Crafting spells is a great mechanic.

My one critique is the lack of a volume slider. Otherwise great.

the says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Its fun to craft, but some spells are very weak and
unexpectedly leads to the dead. Besides, great job!

scottrick says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:47pm

Nice work! It would be nice if ASDW worked for movement as well but not a big deal :D

mtrc says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:54pm

Really good work! I'd have liked a visible health meter and maybe a faster movespeed? The core idea is really clever and well implemented given the 48 hours! Well done on all counts :)

kewry says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:15pm

This game is amazing

mortus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:04pm

Tsumei:
I'm getting lag only at later levels and only with specific weapons and tactics and I was testing on a slow machine, so that's strange. I'll add downloadable swf version in case it could run faster out of browser for some people.

mtrc:
There is a life meter - small hearts in the left-bottom corner of the screen.

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:48pm

i love customization games like this. great game.

CryoGenesis says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:52pm

Nice 'juice'! Game is fun, cool spell mechanics. Good job!

Symmeteer says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:47pm

Fun! The range of spell possibilities makes me want to keep playing even when I get swarmed with dudes.

Symmeteer says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:46pm

Pushing novas (anything + air + air) are awesome. This game is awesome. I would have kept playing for hours if my browser hadn't accidentally gotten out of focus - the game kept playing and I died while going back to my window! You should definitely fix this. Just have the gameplay pause when the window's not in focus.

capnramses says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:35pm

all of the above + i really liked the music. reminded me of DOS games from the early 90s yusss!

Alink says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:23pm

Fun and smooth impressive number of stuff on screen, really pleasing to kill and collect (only wish some magnet). The weapon variety was really cool.

carlsommer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:55pm

This was so much fun! Great crafting system on the spells and great overall variety! Good music, good sprites. I suppose, I would recommend making it WASD movement and adding a sprint feature (if you were to make any post-dare changes)

Alexbrainbox says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:33pm

This was fun! Slightly unbalanced towards Fire in my humble opinion. But then again I always play DPS mage so what do I know ;)

Given more time and some polish, I seriously think that it could be a hit :D

triforcespark says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:57am

I really love everything in this game: graphics, the roguelike gameplay, music, and simple controls. Aslo addictive.
Quite good given just a short time...

RhysD says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:59pm

Fun game :) I liked the mechanic and the choice the player gets. The sounds were a bit annoying (the fire spell), but the rest was awesome!

aviktorov says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:44pm

Wow! Very addictive game! Reminds me of Magicka with crafting and looting. Awesome! :)

Masadow says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:02pm

WOW ! The best game I played so far, and I'm sure it will remain the best ! I can play this for hours. Audio is amazing, graphics are real cool, core mechanic remind me Binding of Isaac, but it's way more funny ! I'm really impressed.

I found an invincible gem: Wind then fire then electro. You can't get hit with this one :p

Spell: Enlarged Windspray
Combined level: 124

Masadow says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:03pm

WOW ! The best game I played so far, and I'm sure it will remain the best ! I can play this for hours. Audio is amazing, graphics are real cool, core mechanic remind me Binding of Isaac, but it's way more funny ! I'm really impressed.

I found an invincible gem: Wind then fire then electro. You can't get hit with this one :p

Spell: Enlarged Windspray
Combined level: 124

Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:01pm

Cool game! Congrats! :)
I just wish there was a way to see what spell will you have when you combine the gems, before you actually enter the dungeon. So you could check the possibilities and choose the one you most like.

Ludipe says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:38pm

I liked the crafting system, reminds me of magicka, however, I'd like to have different strategies when fighting enemies(besides choosing the spell). You get to capture a feeling of empowerment with this game.

P.D.: I want to invite you to replay our game ("The sidekicks"). In the settings menu people can customize the difficulty and create crazy rules. We added this feature because we didn't have time to balance the game. It's a cool feature and some users missed it.

mortus says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:48am

Thank you for the kind feedback, everyone! It motivates me quite a lot, especially given that I wasn't so enthusiastic about the final state of the game myself when I finished it.

Ludipe: that's great news, I really liked your game concept and was sad it's so easy. I will surely check it out once more!

hadesfury says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:51pm

Great game ... I really had fun ! You should continue the dev

occash says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:06pm

Good job ! I like this game! I like nonprestressed sound and very cute graphics!

lubos says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:13pm

Really good one. Loving to explore new spells, although some of them are insanely weak. However its understandable given the limited time. Hope you will take the game further.

Elforama says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:26pm

Pushing Fire Nova FTW!

Kohijin says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:13am

Very nice spell mechanic. Sure has a Magika vibe to it, but it's streamlined in a good way.

dsoft20 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:07pm

Very nice game with great replay value :D

timtipgames says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:41pm

The number of different effects you created in that short time is really impressive. I had a blast playing it and may actually be revisiting it to test some more gems :) Good job!

Lacutis says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:25am

This was a ton of fun. I really liked the spell mechanics. Great for 48 hours. The trap form is really underpowered though and is the way I almost died every time.

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:14am

Great fun game, really well done.
Your particles system is working perfectly and the procedurally generated levels are correct.

My favorite spell so far is the burning wind nova (lvl 150).

anvoz says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 5:05pm

Awesome and very addicting game. The crafting system was really cool. I also love the graphics and the sound effects.

I don't know if monsters become stronger or I just used a wrong combination that make the spell seemed pretty weak sometimes.

Dec 27, 2013 @ 7:28pm

Wow great mechanics ! Amazing work !

HybridMind says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 8:02pm

I enjoyed trying different spell combos and seeing what happened.

mcapraro says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 4:06pm

great entry! this was neat and looks really polished. i love the concept of only having one spell per level. it would be cool to get a clue as to what you will be fighting next so you can strategize and choose the right spells/gems

Jeremias says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 5:15pm

The concept is a really nice one and it was fun to test out the different combinations. If you continue working on a post-compo, I would fix the following things: make the character move faster and add a lot of juicyness like effects on hitting enemies or getting hit, more soundeffects etc.

van noctar says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 9:59pm

Waouh! Very addictive!! Congratulations for gameplay and graphic design!

xhunterko says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 4:59am

*slaps your wrists with a metal ruler*
And let THAT teach you not to make a mouse aiming based game without WASD movement. Ow my wrist. Neat idea. A little stretching of theme. And at first I didn't think there was an ending because I kept dying. This feels like it could be explored further though.

shard123 says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 12:02am

Controls were a little annoying but great spell system which made it fun to keep playing.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]