December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Party of One

by ydg - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The world needs to be saved from so many evil overlords.
It's a shame your party only gets one hero to defeat them all!

Controls:
Z - Accept
X - Menu/Back
Arrow Keys - Select
Enter - Confirm your name

Each time you defeat an overlord, you get one attribute point and one coin. Spend them wisely... well, or not. The game is quite broken (For example, Speed doesn't work as well as I'd like to).

This game supports leaderboards! Defeat as many overlords as you can so you can tell your friends how good you were at that bad game!

Every 20 overlords, face a powerful boss!
Will you be defeat the Shadowlord that appears after 100 combats? I wasn't.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness96%
#136Humor3.28
#265Audio2.96
#274Theme3.28
#339Overall3.20
#351Mood2.97
#389Fun3.00
#523Graphics2.88
#709Innovation2.57

Comments

mcapraro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:17am

cool game! i liked the humor and could see that played up even more

caranha says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:05am

Hello from the Dinosaur Brigade!

Thank you for the game! It was surprisingly fun. The menus and the combat all moved smoothly so I could just keep clicking and playing, I liked that. I made it to the First boss before dying :-(

Some suggestions:
- You should make the damage numbers bigger and more colorful - they are the most important feedback from the game right now.
- The victory sound (fireworks?) sounds kinda bad. Maybe you could replace it with something else?
- If you added random sprites for the enemies, this game would be 1.2 times more awesome :-)

Thanks for the game! I had fun!

ydg says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:11am

Thanks a lot for the feedback!

- I used the same spritefont for the entire game, so yeah, you're completely right, I should have used another one for the numbers.
- I would have liked to put a little fanfare, but time wasn't really on my side and I'm quite bad at making music and sounds, so I just used that sound to indicate that the battle was over. It doesn't feel much as a victory, right?
- I actually planned to! It's a shame I didn't have enough time though. Fighting the same enemy over and over might get quite boring, and that would have spiced up the game.

And thank you for playing it! :D

ncannasse says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:59am

A bit repetitive, but quite the style of game I like :)

DanielVF says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:10pm

Definitely makes you want to keep playing, and the interaction with the UI feels polished. I got up to level 39.

Thingus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:13pm

Yep, that was fun :-) The two quick changes I'd recommend are have some way to see your stats on the level up screen, and make it a touch more obvious when the player is damaged.

kyyrma says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:14pm

A bit underwhelming, but a decent entry nonetheless. I wish you had the time to make the battles more involving, as now the game consists mainly of tapping Z and the enemies don't really pose much risk.

I tried the downloadble version, and was shocked by the filesize. A whopping 55Mb for a game of this scope! Also, I got a login screen for something called Clay.io, apparently it has to do with the development tools you used.

Good use of retro stylings in the graphics, and I'm glad you decided to add music. Generated with autotracker, right?

ExtreLime says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:38pm

It was so simple while i was beginnig to play... But suddenly, my enemy become much more strong so i died :(
But it was fun to play it. Good retro style graphics! The game is simple but attractive. :D

ydg says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:03pm

@kyyrma
I even thought of adding magic and spells learned by level, the usual rpg stuff. But yeah, time issues.
About the filesize, not much I can do, Construct 2 doesn't handle exporting to exe as well as it should. The Web version is just 2 Mb!
Yes, Clay.io lets you to add achievements, leaderboards (in this case), and such to your game.
Autotracker, indeed! Quite recognizable, but gets the job done :D.

Again, thanks everyone for playing!

SamH says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:21pm

This game is strangely addictive. 5/5 for fun.

ehtd says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:47am

Very simple, yet very fun!

the says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:33am

Great one button RPG, addictive and fun. Unfortunately, did not find a way to lose.

nka says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:51am

Really great RPG. It's simple but requires tactics and planning. I wish I could see a counter of how many overlords I killed. Failed to beat last boss however :c

ydg says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:15am

I just did some tweaks so you can reach the final boss a bit more easily, since most people didn't go beyond level 19. I'm quite surprised @the, who actually managed to do it!

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:00pm

Interesting concept, man. Beautiful theme interpretation!

biscuitdough says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:00am

Cant believe I played through till the end. Reminded me of cookie clicker/ candy box.

zatyka says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:52pm

That was fun and strangely addicting. I played it for quite a while. Adding some more variety to battles would give the game a lot more replay value.

Very nicely executed!

Dec 27, 2013 @ 11:22pm

Really solid game. I had a lot of fun and it was quite humorous. Would be nice if I could see what level I was in the various skills (like you can with the equipment) just because I started to forget as I got further into the game. Good stuff.

sykotomy says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 4:46am

This was fun, but seemed a little repetitive to me.

foumart says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 11:45am

Very nice. At first it looked that you need only STR and Swords, but the second boss refutes that theory :) Good job

ViliX says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 2:46pm

4/5 for humor :)

Elforama says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 10:32pm

Nice game, interesting use of the theme.

thebrainfuse says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 10:32pm

good concept, but gets a bit repetitive... does it favor any strategic play? i was blindly button mashing, and i got to 8... the menu could have been modded(?) to fit the game's
look or vice versa...

Xanjos says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 9:11pm

Simple but pretty interesting one hero only rpg game and nice take on the theme.

Jan 1, 2014 @ 12:12pm

Awesome game, got all the way to 99 and died against the final boss :( very simple idea that works well with the theme, only downside was the lack of overlord attack animation its absence made me a little sad.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]