December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Final Order

by Fervir - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Take control of a frog who's a master of martial arts, armed with explosive fists and aided by a snarky green helicopter sporting a pompadour.
Your goal seems to defeat the malicious intent which seems to follow you wherever you go backed by a legion of strange creatures with the same intent.
You only get one chance at life, but it seems as if strange events take place surrounding your death.

Do you have what it takes to defeat this malicious intent and carry out your Final Order?


Protip : You can alternate between Q / E to punch really fast.
Protip : Q or E advances text in the game.
Protip : You can control and shoot with the robot helicopter.
Protip : You can defeat the boss.
Protip : Death is not the end.

This game was made with Construct 2
Audio: bfxr and famitracker
Sprites: Aseprite

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#77Humor3.57
#218Audio3.06
#255Graphics3.43
#276Innovation3.24
#332Fun3.12
#348Overall3.19
#390Mood2.92
#827Theme2.26

Comments

Zolmeister says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:20am

This game is awesome! Not that I like being insulted, but it's pretty hilarious. Not to mention the great art, well done sir.

Mnemusyne says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:09pm

Amazing game, GOTYAY congratulations.

GaTechGrad says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:20am

Good work on the sprites. Was that a huge anteater head following me?

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:01pm

Gave you 5 in humor and fun :) Well done.

Magdev says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:58pm

this seems like the plot of a movie thats so bad that its enjoyable, love it

robhor says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:04pm

Really cool game, enjoyed the fighting mechanics :)
Controlling both characters properly is quite difficult

pighead10 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:09pm

Controls felt a bit fiddly, but it was a good game overall and I had fun.

Piat says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:11pm

A great foundation for a beat em up games.

Kyatric says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:26am

The controls seemed a bit difficult.
Plus the fact that WASD layout on an AZERTY keyboard doesn't make a lot of sense, I couldn't get very far.

It seemed like an enjoyable game with nice fighting mechanics though (the type of game I like).

Congratulations on making a game in 48 hours, and a game that got such nice comments as well.
I'm not rating it to not bring down the notes, considering I haven't really tested it.

Fervir says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:36am

Aw man, sorry you couldn't play the game.
If I ever decide to take this game further.
I will definitely try to keep the other keyboard layouts in mind.
And also less difficult controls.

zkenshin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:57am

Loving the audio.

Mekuri says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:58pm

Fun and mysterious game. I did managed to beat the boss after some keyboard smashing :P I liked the idea and it was well executed. Good job.

Ryusui says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:10pm

I liked this game more the longer I played it. Nice work with the graphics and story.

If I could make one recommendation, though, it'd be to make W jump and spacebar attack. That one switch would improve the controls immensely, I think.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:07am

Cool game! What I enjoyed the most was the music! Super catchy! :D

occash says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:32pm

Web source doesn't work(

Fervir says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:31am

You're gonna need Construct 2 and the tiled tmx importer.
Details about the importer here
http://www.scirra.com/forum/plugin-tmx-importer_topic49949.html

ittlebit says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:38pm

Oh sweet pompadour. Martial Arts Frogs need more of them. Fun game.Bbit of a learning curve with the controls. Nicely Done!

Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:30am

Man this is awesome but rather difficu─▒lt. Or I suck at these beat'em up'ish games. But the music, man, dat minimal yet effective music! I also liked the challenge, even though I kept failing. Congrats, fellow C2 user!

Dec 25, 2013 @ 1:18am

5/5, awesome graphics, pretty cool music, very fun game play, great job.

Dec 25, 2013 @ 7:38am

You chose some really awkward keybindings, but the art was super nice. Well done.

runsintowalls says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 2:14am

I controlled the helicopter the whole time. I died but kept coming back. No consequences!

goerp says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 3:57pm

Wow, great everything. Music
that transported me back to the 80's, fun sprites (headcrabs!) and intruiging lines every time you die (that was a surprise when I found out you could continue!).

The controls were hard for me, so far I haven't been able to defeat the boss.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]