December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dungeon Darkness

by TomboFry - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Dungeon Darkness is a fast paced split-screen platform game. Pick from 4 characters and 3 different maps to see who has the ultimate trigger finger, but beware, you only live once, so don't go walking into bullets!

Features key configuration and up to 4 players all at once! Your key config settings are saved for later use, so you don't have to rebind (if you choose to). Key config is for gamepads only.

Supports up to 4 players with gamepads or 2 players with the keyboard. Confirmed working with Xbox 360 controllers

EDIT: Added keyboard support for those who don't have gamepads! However, only two players are supported this way. I consider this similar to porting, as no extra features have been added. To use keyboards instead of gamepads, press Q or Right Control (this is the Action key) when the controls screen appears.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#145Fun3.45
#163Overall3.49
#178Audio3.18
#198Graphics3.60
#250Humor2.91
#314Mood3.03
#565Innovation2.81
#723Theme2.47

Comments

meek says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:08pm

Unfortunately I can't play because I don't have a gamepad. From the screenshots I'm impressed with the graphics though!

syl says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:22pm

two gamepads ?

DallOner says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:34pm

This Game Have All! Good Job guys!

gnerkus says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:39am

I couldn't play it because I don't have a gamepad.

jackolondon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:08pm

Quite a mess! but it's really fun^^

Alismuffin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:17pm

Wow! This has got to be my favourite so far.

Capitals says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:18pm

I can't play it but the graphics look good, and i liked the main menu.

vapgames says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:33pm

Looks cool, but i'm foreveralone :< and have only one gamepad

Pixlexia says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:33pm

I wanted to play this badly, unfortunately I don't have gamepads nor friends to play with. :( This looks really fun though, graphics look great!

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:44pm

Love the graphics though ! Simple but effective, nice job !

Diptoman says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Bloody brilliant! Just make a single player version for others later, or at least have keyboard input!

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:47pm

Unfortunately I can't play because I'm on a mac and don't have two gamepads. However! I looked at the trailer and the grapihcs were great and the music sounded superb :)

SamH says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:56pm

I have two gamepads but I had to I play against myself. The good news is, I won. I really like the graphics and the arcade feel; not many games get the jumps right, but this one did.

ACE says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:58pm

nice job hope to see this completed some day

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:22pm

Yeaaaaahyeah! Nice game! Really fun!

01rafael says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:25pm

Great sound and graphics. But you didn't touch theme though.

Daniel Debert says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:27pm

Wow! That's a great game that you've made!

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Wow this is amazing! Fantastic art and animations!

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:51am

I dont have gamepad but it seems very fun and has nice art ;-)

Hyoga-3D says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:51am

Can't say the much I love Split-screen :D

mikemanwba says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:56am

@01rafael. The theme is that you only have one life.

Tomski says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Really fast and responsive controls that feel right, keyboard controls would have been nice though :P (master race)

Good job on it!

Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Adding keyboard controls as well would be nice. I like the art style.

rnlf says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:34pm

It looks really nice and fun, sound is awesome. I just can't really play it because I have no friends. Will rate as if I had some though!

Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:37pm

Catchy song, cool gameplay ! Very well made, I like the pixel graphics ;)

bitslap_ says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:41pm

I loved the part up to where i couldnt play because i am alone. looks cool thou.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:34pm

Thank you for reviewing my game. I'm a very sad panda that I'm unable to play this. :( The trailer looks absolutely amazing!! Music, visuals are top notch. :D

rosa89n20 says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 7:43pm

Nice graphic, nice action game. reminds me Super Crate Box

LukuluK says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 6:00pm

Really fun to play, but the game don't follow the theme ! For one people in 48 hours, this is very good ! Ambiance is good, controls are smooth and the assets are pretty ! The retro-style music is cool too !

Ludipe says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Great game! I had a lot of fun playing with some friends. I love the fact that there are so many multiplayer games this time.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]