December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

1 Minute Capsule

by jfroco - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In 1 Minute capsule use the left and right arrow keys to rotate the playfield and the gravity to guide your capsule to the checkered flag. Green blocks start to appear when you are close to the flag.

You have just one minute to complete each state.

Avoid black holes and destroy small blocks hitting them at high speed.

All content was made by me using:

Game Maker Studio
Paint.net
ChordPulse
Mixcraft 5
GXSCC
SFXR

HTML5 version requires WebGL and it has graphics glitches.
I recommend the Windows version.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#123Fun3.50
#189Audio3.14
#212Overall3.38
#264Innovation3.26
#326Mood3.00
#346Graphics3.22
#537Theme2.80

Comments

SilentBunny says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:49am

Made my head spin, in a good way. The markings on the tiles seem very intriguing

Loren says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:01am

fun style, i liked the textures a bunch. Cool mechanic too

capnramses says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:01pm

i really liked this game - what a nice way to move the little capsule guy around!

ovenchips says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:24pm

A simple but fun mechanic. I do a fondness for physics based games. If I had one suggestion, it would be to add more levels because I finished it quite quickly. But you've got the structure for a great game - well done!

skarab says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:19pm

Hey this is cool! remind me sonic special stages a bit :)
controls are really fluent!

bspa says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:02am

Played the web version. Very cool concept, but it's making me dizzy. I'm not cut out to be an astronaut. Difficulty of the first level was good, but I had to give up on the second. Will probably try this game again once I've got some food in my stomach. Nice effort!

Rynig says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:02am

Fun game, but would like to be able to see more of the screen or be able to rotate quicker.

natpat says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:15am

That was really good fun. Would have liked more levels, but i enjoyed the music and the graphics worked, as simple as they were.

GagaPete says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:14am

Nice little game, but I got a bit sick while playing.

SamH says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:05am

As I don’t have Windows I played the WebGL version and I didn’t notice any severe graphical problems. Nice game overall.

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:52pm

Nice mechanics!

Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:02pm

I really sucked at this game, but it was VERY nice and well done. I included this game in my Ludum Dare Compilation series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/0DcB_uEEmYE

zatyka says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 3:21pm

The turning speed was a bit frustrating, but otherwise, it was quite fun. Nice job!

RodRoy1 says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 1:35am

really impressive little game. Loved the music and the idea. Its fun to play and looks pretty good too (although you may want to check the cyleing of the background star map). Ether way really nice little game.

van noctar says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 1:58am

Very good concept! This puzzle game is fun and addictive :)

olafsworld98 says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:09am

good idea for the theme

mtinkerhess says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:35am

Solid. Nice sprites, music, controls, and gameplay. I got frustrated when I died on level three and had to start over on level one again.

Super Hamster says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 3:14am

Fun game. It reminded me of this one game I used to play as a child that I really liked. Good job!

FrederickK says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 3:33am

A pinball game! Liked very much!

chapachapa says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 3:37am

Great graphics and sound. I loved the game!
Especially loved how the music accelerates when time runs out.

pjchardt says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 4:17am

Fun. Great start. Wish there were more levels :)

Canyon says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 4:37am

I love this game. I love how it feels.

junt74 says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:57pm

Nice mechanics. Looks like "Cameltry", I had so much fun!

Xanjos says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 12:45am

Pretty fun game with a rather nice control mechanic.

Jan 7, 2014 @ 12:47am

Fun game! :D great work! kind of hard for me tho xD nice! :D

Jan 7, 2014 @ 1:13am

Nice and challenging, good work :)

Nut says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 1:26am

Pretty interesting game; I played a couple of levels. Could use a visible timer and some sound.

Lyonsbanner says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 1:27am

Great level design.

Several says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 1:35am

Mighty charming little game.

I enjoyed the graphics, the levels, and the gameplay.

Don't have much else to say.

Kudos.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]