December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Panacea

by TriBeard - Jam Entry

Panacea - The one cure for every disease. Too bad the cure is the violent explosion of all infected victims.

Your job as the player is to take out as many of the infected as possible. You do this by passing over them to administer treatment. Every victim you 'treat' and everyone hit by the explosion that follows adds to both your score and combo.

You only get one combo.

Oscar Bjorhn - Programming
Andreas Lindstrom - Audio
Chris Wilson - Programming
Anton Osterlund - Graphics

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#164Fun(Jam)3.16
#170Audio(Jam)3.19
#200Innovation(Jam)3.05
#242Mood(Jam)2.95
#251Theme(Jam)2.80
#298Overall(Jam)3.04
#409Graphics(Jam)2.67
#409Humor(Jam)1.79

Comments

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:13am

Nice!

Squizmek says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:09pm

Very nice!

dsoft20 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:28am

Nice entry, I really enjoyed the music :D

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:40am

I love this kind of thing :) Wasn't sure exactly what my combo was, or how I used it so I just stumbled into an enemy on purpose and realised quickly what I was up to. Nice one!

brogrammers says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:42am

the game is nice, the only thing I would say it's that it's not very challenging

Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:43am

2679 combo, is that good? :P
Cool game though, pretty and addictive. :)

Diptoman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:03am

Only one combo? Good use of the theme! The soundtrack was especially great, and the chain reactions from exploded enemies make it really addictive! I kept dying from the explosions all over the screen xD

Venks says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:05am

Huh I was still comboing and I suddenly died, but the timer was on 2.6
Glitch?

supremefist says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:11am

Nice idea and well executed!

sandbaydev says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:21am

This is a very interesting concept. There's the feeling of "must reach that dot.." present all the time. Slick work!

TriBeard says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:24am

"Huh I was still comboing and I suddenly died, but the timer was on 2.6
Glitch?"

Were you hit by one of the explosions? That will get you killed.

glovecat says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:56am

Totally addictive, good work!

Fadobo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:57am

Super-Addicting! At first I was like "Pfft, this is easy" and then my brain slowly wasn't able to follow all the dots and predict the explosions anymore. My Highscore is: 43783398 with a x2971 combo.

Dyn says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:09am

Sumple but addictive!

mybluecorners says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:21am

This is pretty fun, I liked the progression of difficulty in keeping a combo. The explosions are an interesting addition because they encourage you to be more strategic about the areas you are working in.
one thing I noticed : The character felt a little funny to control. I think they might be walking much faster in diagonal directions than horizontal directions, but I couldn't be sure.

fullmontis says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:22am

Interesting game! I'm not a fan of score based games but this one had an interesting mechanic that kept me playing.

SimianLogic says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:41pm

Kind of like an arcade version of boomshine. I didn't get the one combo thing--was that just the score? Nice music.

chiguireitor says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:24pm

Nice mechanics. Would benefit from having the combo multipliers pop up from the player so you don't have to look the top left corner.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:01pm

Got a combo of 913. Fun little game, and indeed quite addicting. It's cool how the gameplay shifts once the screen fills with more dots and everything around you starts to explode by itself. Visual style and music are cool as well. A very enjoyable experience overall. :)

AlexVsCoding says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:08pm

Love the colour scheme for the game! Felt like firework pollination.
1. The anticipation of waiting for the enemy orbs to gather enough in the centre at the beginning reminded me of the Crash mode on Burnout 3. Was a good call to let the player take their time and choose when to initiate.
2. Game definitely gave of the feeling of being an architect of your own destruction - was a definite panic moment when the orbs began to just explode themselves and spread.
3. Liked that you had the grid area but didn't limit the player to it - was chasing a string of orbs out of there one time and thought it would stop me but was pleased to find that wasn't the case.
4. Music was peaceful for such a chaotic game, gave off a doctor who-ish vibe. Good Stuff!
5. Think that once you've died, the remaining exploding people should be added to the score.
6. A slight noise when you infect individuals would be good, maybe even increase the pitch as your multiplier increases.
7. Would be interested to see if local multiplayer could be implemented - seeing players attempting to seal each other off and destroy one another would be fascinating.
8. Would've liked to see many many many many colour explosions or if you could figure it out, a different colour depending on how far down the chain it went.
E.g
first exploded orb = blue
second exploded orb (as a result of the first) = green
third exploded orb (as a result of the second) = Red.
With that you'd get distinguishable waves of colour which would look awesome.

Great work, thanks for making this and hope to see more from the project!

davisan says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:56pm

Nice game! I think if the movement was faster (or accelerate with the time) it would be frenetic. I made 3280 combos. Also the music is very good!

Miltage says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:31pm

I like the concept. A spin on a common one. Fits the theme nicely as well.

van noctar says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 9:33pm

Good job :)

atombrot says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 4:16pm

very nice! I like the theme and the music.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]