Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:
? DAYS, ??:??:??

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014
? DAYS, ??:??:??

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.


Ludum Dare 31:

Ludum Deals

???

 

Recent:

MiniLD #XX


Ludum Dare 28

December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

My Champion - jacklehamster - Jam Entry

CONTROLS
============================
arrow keys: move
[space]: kick/run


ABOUT
============================
This game was inspired by Stephen Chow in Shaolin Soccer.

So the whole team has been knocked out by the opposing team, the Gorillas. Only left is the replacement player on the bench.
YOU ONLY GET ONE PLAYER!

Good luck for everyone in the jam, and have fun!


UPDATES:
============================
K, so I'm done with the Jam. I didn't do the compo this time cause I needed a bit more time, but I'm glad I got nice graphics in. I'll probably make a separate post-jam version for newgrounds later, with medals and highscore. Hope you guys like it!
--------------
Feel free to check out the post-mortem
Working on a post-jam version, but it won't be for a while. it will add some details like referee and crowd. I hope I get to it before the jam's over.
--------------
If you're interested, here's the version shown at the real world meetup (after 48h):
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/s/ijx08ibn9ew2y8e/champ3_made.swf
----------------
Warning: Apparently, it's not just me. This game is really DIFFICULT. Happy Holidays!
----------------
Post jam version posted.

OTHER LD28 GAMES:
========================
* Mama's Sick - pretty emotional game. I didn't like it at first, because I didn't think you could win, but you actually can.
* Natural Sheep Care - The concept is not that new, but it's fun and I like the environment
* Creator Story Saga Tycoon - quite addictive... I hope the creator added roaming creatures in post.
* Princess Kingdom - Love it
* Ludum Simulator 3000 - If you feel you lacked time to finish your game, check this out!
* Other games part of #LD48 #NOKILL: http://goo.gl/w05wsr

View jacklehamster's journal. | View all entries by jacklehamster

Ratings

Coolness100%
#110Theme(Jam)3.31
#110Humor(Jam)3.10
#208Fun(Jam)3.03
#239Innovation(Jam)2.94
#280Mood(Jam)2.85
#281Overall(Jam)3.07
#314Graphics(Jam)3.05
#370Audio(Jam)2.46

Comments

LTPATS says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:35am

This was awesome, I spent so much time trying to score unsuccessfully before realizing the solution. Short but I like where it's going!

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Thanks LTPATS, please check back again after jam, when the game will be done!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:42am

HAHA nice! i had more fun than playing fifa :) great idea, great job!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:28am

This game was fun. So fast paced!

Hyde Wyvern says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:29am

extremely adicting u don't know how hard I tried to score a goal :( amazing game, really fun and perfect for the theme!

KWL_TW says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:32am

Great game! I love it!

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:29am

BTW, can anyone confirm if that the win/draw screen is working? I can't beat my own game ;-/

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:51am

Quite fun. Very hard!

Moist says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:59am

Very fun and addictive. The only thing I dislike is how you stop for a while after being hit. I think it would be much nicer to have the character slide instead. But anyway, great game!

Dohan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:48pm

Wow, very fun and very hard! The draw screen works fine, but I've been unable to win... I've been scoring at least one own-goal per match.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:06pm

Never mind if it's not, (I may have just felt like it), or you know it already. When you move diagonally vertical and horizontal speeds get added and you move faster than moving sides. You can fix it by little trigonometry.
Here's a brief explanation.

http://forum.unity3d.com/threads/120296-First-Person-Controller-walking-twice-as-fast-when-walking-diagonally?p=809166&viewfull=1#post809166

antila says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:29am

I lost 0-3! :D

recursor says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:08am

The graphics are lovely and the sound isn't bad either. I managed to score one goal and felt pretty good about it. Quite Fun.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:12pm

Haha, very cool!
The graphics are good.
The sfx are a bit annoying.
The name parodies are hilarious.
And I suck at this game bad as I suck at soccer IRL.

f7f5 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:00pm

My player is a diver!! I actually managed to score once. Hilarious but very hard.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:12am

Its real hard but very gratifying when you actually do score. I lost 3 times in a row before figuring it out. The art for the characters is amazing, but it makes the grass stand out as being not as high quality. Controls felt very responsive and smooth. Very well done.

zorfmorf says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:56am

Haha the feeling of unfairness is strong with this one! Just had to play the game until I managed to get at least one goal in against these *****

_zulli says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:47pm

Cool idea! Very challenging!!! Good job :)

If you have time please rate my game! I would really appreciate it :)

Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:52pm

Really hard!

Nelien says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:02pm

The controls are very tricky for me, not sure why, this makes the game impossibly hard. But I really like the visuals and tongue in cheek humour. Well done!

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:10pm

Haha, this game feels like a metaphor for life. ;-D

Very fast and good controls, but very very hard.

stvr says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:40am

Dang, this is frustrating. But it's a lot of fun, too! After getting a destroyed a few times you get the hang of it.

Joao Kucera says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:08am

It´s so fun to play. The theme was nice too. Congrats!

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:34am

I loved it! First game so far that I've wanted to sit and play over and over.

BluMist says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:06am

I just got gorilla stomped.

lilinx says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:36am

This is a great little game! Ok I got my ass beaten up 3 times and that was quite humiliating. The whole idea of having to play a match alone against 11 gorillas stronger and faster than you is wonderful.

rojo says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:07am

Pretty tough! I like the use of the theme, though.

glovecat says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:17am

wow! It's a very hard game! but also very fun, great work! :)

alyip98 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:28pm

Nice game :) challenging but fun :D

ParaPup says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:07pm

Cute simple game you got here x3

Bruno Massa says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:51pm

I lost so many times.... hahahha

zkenshin says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:24am

Quite a fun entry!
Collision boxes around the gorillas for knocking down the player may have been slightly too large.
Great job (:

Jgpicatoste says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:22pm

It's so good, but it's sooo hard. Fuckin gorillas ¬¬. Had fun playing this!

van noctar says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:04pm

It's the first football game that i see! good job!

Gaspard_ says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:18pm

Arrrghghhghg! Can't win!

kill0u says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:29pm

The win & draw screens work :)

http://imgup.motion-twin.com/twinoid/b/6/3d03a878_8297.jpg
http://imgup.motion-twin.com/twinoid/7/2/757fa899_8297.jpg

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:41pm

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:42pm

What a cool game. well done!

anvoz says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:43am

Really fun game to play. A gorilla was named Justin Bieber lol. I could only score once after a few tries. Really good AI.

yosh says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:50am

Really fun! It's just very hard to survive face to these giant and powerful gorillas :D
One weak point would be the AI, as hard as it can be to work on a functional & smart AI in 72h, there is still a situation during which the bots get stuck with the ball and you can't do anything because your poor cat is way to weak to tackle or anything :P

Hypnohustla says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:54pm

I cant believe I could actually enjoy a football game. :D Really addicting! With some gameplay adjustments, this could be something really awesome! :) I hope you continue to work on it.

Diptoman says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:11pm

That was really hard. D:
But great concept, and the A.I. is very well made for such a short time!

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Pretty fun. The controls are a bit unwieldy, but not necessarily in a bad way. Why is diagonal movement so fast, though?

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:46pm

First of all IT HAS CATS, so that's already something. At start I was confused, but after game was good.

Dry Tree says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:37pm

Great game, with good challenging gameplay (and I usually don't like football games - but this is an exception!!) on one game I managed to somehow send the ball over and past my goal and although myself and the gorillas kept chasing it we never found it - after a minute or so I just restarted. I found the sound a bit grating (and it's the only game so far when someone else in the room asked me to make the noise stop ;) ). Overall though a very fun and compelling game. Good work

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:42am

Awesome game, very cool :)

olafsworld98 says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:33am

ha nice

mcapraro says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 6:01am

really hard!

LatFoued says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 10:34am

Very nice gameplay really liked it, makes me so mad when you can't get the ball from the big guys xD. Good job

ayame9joe says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 10:16am

Awesome

Dec 30, 2013 @ 2:14pm

This was really cool! Loved the challenge and Ronaldo McDonald.

Beavl says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 8:12pm

Really nice soccer game. It reminds me of Sensible Soccer. Good all fun!

henrykun says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 2:52am

Freaking gorillas!!!I really hate them >< I wanted to punch them in th face and take the ball from them haha. Awesome game man, great job.

Colapsydo says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 9:45am

It's quite hard since gorillas stun you so easily, but it's a kitty against gorillas so I guess it's ok.
Nice work on the players name.

cappelnord says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Fun little game :)

mmickyman says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 9:58pm

Tricky, but funny eheh.

AlexFili says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 11:04am

This game is really difficult. Interesting theme though and best of luck in future LD contests.

Jeremias says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 1:43pm

The controls are very unfair: I know I have to be weak (story-related), but it's hard to get to the ball or make a goal with the limited view and the big range of the enemies. Anyway, quite fun!

sahoskins1 says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 8:12pm

Think the biggest problem I had with this was how difficult it is as soon as you get knocked down. Maybe a sideways knock in momentum or something would have been a bit more fair than falling down. Still, good effort with nice cartoon graphics!

ziomorti says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 1:40pm

Argh! Quite difficult! Loved the names :D

Cake&Code says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 7:13pm

Hahaha, love the inspiration. ;) The game was pretty hard for me since my perspective was to just try to shoot it into the goal (sports is not my thing...) but after much perseverance I was able to manage ONE goal! Felt good, even though I still lost. :) Great work!

jacklehamster says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 9:02pm

In the post-jam, I toned down the difficulty but added a goalie. I hope the game is still reasonably challenging.

Raphy says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:13pm

Funny game but it felt really hard to control the ball. Also other players are gigantic and so hard to dodge, it's a bit frustrating. Camera zoom makes the terrain feel kindda weird too.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]