December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

the Pit

by MRvanderPants - 48 Hour Compo Entry

the Pit is a short game made for the 48 hour compo contest, which was my first by the way. It is a rogue-like 2D platform shooter (if that is even a legit genre) where the main goal is to survive as long as possible in waves of berserking enemies.

So, what has this to do with the theme? Well, thats simple, you only have one live, so dont waste it. The amount of ammo you get at the start is very limited too, so keep an eye on your ammo to.

Anyway, I hope you will enjoy the game as much as I did making it.


Controls:
w,a,s,d to move and jump
w in the air to double jump
space to restart
q to bring up the upgrade screen (only if leveled up)
lmb to shoot


Used software:

Game:
Game Maker 8.0 free edition

Design/ visuals:
Game Maker
Adobe Photoshop

Audio:
Audicity
Reaper
Guitar Pro 5
SFXR


I made a post-ludum version with some bug fixes:
- spawning inside the screen
- enemies never spawn right above you
- faster loading
- other restart button

the POST version can be found here:
http://www.mrvanderpants.com/pages/games/thePit.php

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#162Audio3.22
#224Graphics3.52
#581Mood2.64
#595Humor2.03
#693Fun2.58
#754Overall2.69
#907Innovation2.13
#926Theme1.96

Comments

biscuitdough says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:20am

I couldn't get the upgrade screen to open, (the opening screen says it's 'Q'). Some of the levels generated were near broken. still, as is it was an ok game, the graphics stand out.

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:26am

I must say I dislike space to restart. First time I tried to jump... I restarted. Also loading seems to take quite long. I did like the graphics though, perhaps you should consider making a post-compo version with some bugfixes :)

crockid5 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:38am

The first time I spawned one of those things landed straight on my head, then I spawned in a wall, then I spawned in a really deep pit that I couldn't jump out of, I accidentally reset the game about 4 times pressing space to jump. Nice music though.

Citiral says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:40am

The graphics are nice and the music was good, but every time it spawned me into a level where I was instantly stuck, the walls were too high to jump over, and I also couldn't open the upgrade screen.

mortl8324 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:47am

The screenshots look great, but the download link seems to be broken?

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:52am

@mortl8324: download link is working fine for me. Asked someone at the office to check, works fine too. Anyone else having the same problem?

BluShine says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:00am

I guess the upgrades aren't implemented? I like the idea of a sort of platformer-shooting-defense game with randomly-generated levels, but the generation usually gives pretty crappy levels, unfortunately. But when you do get a good one, the game gets pretty fun. Music, sound, and graphics are all quite nice, and they work together very well. But the connection to the theme is, well, a bit of a stretch...

mortl8324 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:17am

@MRvanderPants Hmm... Strange. I can't connect to your website at all. Maybe because I am in Singapore? I'll try again in a few hours.

ambi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:24am

Unfortunately, very long loading times for me diminish gameplay enjoyment. It's also a little buggy. Sometimes the main character sprite seems to disappear. Nice graphics, nice audio and music. I just couldn't get into this game because of the many idiosyncrasies.

the says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:31am

is not very clear generation

icedmetal57 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:34am

The graphics, animations, and audio were all great. Got stuck in many levels where I couldn't jump up. Great little game nonetheless.

stephan_h says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:35am

Nice entry.

Good:
- graphics, audio, presentation
- ambition, scope
Bad:
- I really disliked the camera offsetting in horizontal direction and not fixed on the character. Don't know exactly why, but it bothered me much.
- Level loading felt very long. Perhaps call it "generating level" instead of "loading"? Waiting time would feel more justified.
- Space for reloading always get's me at least once unprepared.

Some levels were broken, but that I do not see as a negative point given the whole timeframe of two days.

caranha says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:46am

(Played it on wine. Worked, but without sound)

There are a lot of interesting things going on with this game. The little details on enemies getting knocked out by falling, and the little gun shells and gun recoil are very nice touches.

Random generation is showing its ugly head, though, as more often than not i would spawn in a level where most of the areas were unreachable. Once I even spawned in a tiny room.

Thanks for the game, and I hope you find the time to work on the post-ludum version!

(PS: I agree with Gemberkoekje, space is an awkward key to use for "restart")

PaulRdi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:19am

Very nice! Loved the Sound & Graphics! Also randomly generated levels? My hat off to you good sir :D
I came across a bug where once I fell down & restarted the level my character would always spawn outside of the cameras view.

kyyrma says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:22pm

Really cool first entry! Unfortunately my character spawned inside the ground most of the time, and the loading times were really really long.

What was working though, was really slick. Moving the character around and shooting felt great.

Did you use .wav for the audio? The download was really big for such a small game. I'd suggest using .mp3 when possible.

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:26pm

@kyyrma: yes I used .wav files. My .mp3 codec broke down in the writing process, and didn't have any time to fix it. But thanks for the tip! :)

Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:00pm

Cute game, both in style and in gameplay. Was a tad confusing when I the first game spawned either outside the screen or inside the map, though after a restart it all worked out! Really like how you cared so much about the details in the animations! Good luck!

NightShadow0 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:13pm

Game's pretty buggy, crashed on me when i tried leveling up for the second time, but it's fun and an impressive entry for 48h! Nice work!

timtipgames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:15pm

I experienced so many bugs :( Got stuck, camera froze, shooting during loading screen, upgrade screen not opening. Other than that ... could have been a much better experience in what looks like a solid game.

d_0o_d says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:17pm

Really liked the graphics, but I couldn't get a real game going...

pom9898 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:21pm

I think it is awesome, I just have a little trouble with invisible walls by platforms.

GingerMess says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:55pm

Not a bad little game - I really like the graphics and the smooth animation/gameplay. Good stuff.

occash says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:26pm

I can't open it(((

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:28pm

@occash: I tried it and works fine here. Did you get any error messages? And have you tried disabling your anti-virus? Avast is always difficult with this

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:45pm

Your shooting mechanic is well polished and fun to play. I actually found the possibility of an enemy spawning right above you to be an interesting challenge as you have to seek out cover. It would have been nice if the levels were generated more smartly (always overhead cover areas, no ways to get trapped in a pit) but this definitely scores highly in the "fun" category.

pkenney says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:52pm

I love that you included all of the fine touches from that "art of screenshake" video, they paid off.

But I had some issues. The reload screen takes a really long time. The generation of the Pit is really inconsistent. Most levels simply weren't valid and no enemies would ever come. The combination of these two factors cut down on my desire to replay again and again.

A few tweaks and this could be a blast, though. Nice work on art and sound and juice.

dsoft20 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:51am

Nice graphics.
Is the pit procedurally generated?

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:13am

@dsoft: yes it is. Thats the reason my game is so buggy too :)

Raphy says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:26am

Nice animations, too bad there are so many bugs. Good job anyway !

Maple says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:00pm

Hmm, the parallax scrolling background that moves opposite to your jump feels a bit extreme. I'd make it more subtle. Also, sometimes your random generator would spawn me in an area with a low roof and no enemies would spawn near me. Also, I liked the feel that the weapon had. The particles and SFX etc. made it sound stong. This is a really nice first entry!

dqmhose says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 1:24pm

Pretty cool actually! Really like the concept and the art style. Levels were broken half the time and you die way too fast. Half the time I didn't even know why I died, still fun to play! Keep it up!

foumart says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 9:27pm

Congrats on your first LD and for your rogue-like-survival-platformer ! The loading was too slow though.

Dec 29, 2013 @ 5:35pm

I believe without the bugs, and a bit more work on the level generation (the levels *look* pretty good and not too generic, but they don't go too well with the gameplay), this could be a really cool game. Graphics and music are already very nice.

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 11:17pm

Neat pixel art.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]