December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Jejeboy: Mad Shitter

by Jejeboy - Jam Entry

Avoid the absurdly large pair of buttocks. Do not let its inherently atrocious fecal matter decimate you into oblivion.

You only get one enemy. [Side note: there is an end goal if you stay alive long enough]

Default Controls (Configurable)
Directional keys: wasd / zqsd
Confirm/Jump: space
Cancel: left ctrl

Gameplay video:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wEuvOZ0tlJ8

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#71Humor(Jam)3.35
#78Fun(Jam)3.48
#79Overall(Jam)3.63
#148Graphics(Jam)3.76
#157Innovation(Jam)3.21
#242Mood(Jam)2.95
#398Audio(Jam)2.27
#464Theme(Jam)2.16
#1283Coolness40%

Comments

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:57pm

Best screenshot ever!

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:02pm

Haha, loved it. The extensive menu system and custom quality options at the beginning were an added bonus. Dug the sound fx and the running blind. Music and a distance counter would be cool, to compare high scores.

john_conder9 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:34am

Haha, dodging a gigantic arse that shoots blocks of fetal matter at you is certainly not a game I expected to ever play in my life. This is awesome, it's really well done. Very enjoyable to play, but man it is really hard and unforgiving - even on easy. I didn't even try the hard mode out, my best run was about a minute in, sometime after the camera zoomed out a bit. It was cool, but it got reduced to me just doing the same part over and over again so I ended up quitting.

Fun game though, great job!

Jejeboy says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:47am

I'm glad you guys enjoyed it. :)

Protip: moving in a diagonal direction makes you move slower.

Broxxar says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:07am

Really polished looking game, though really strange. I can't imagine what possessed you to make 'G' the jump and confirm key...

dremelofdeath says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:12am

haha, great concept! I really dig the graphics. Though 'G' for jump? weird control choice

Jejeboy says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:26am

Yeah, I'm used to using my right hand for non-directional control. The games I play usually require multiple buttons and I always start with the 'g' key followed by h,j,k,t,y,u,i. I should change the scheme for the next game.

By the way. You can change the controls on the start of the application by accessing the 'input' tab.

Mutt says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:51am

Da fuck I just play? No really, this is fantastic. Took me a while to figure out exactly how the, um, fecal mechanics worked. I think I gave this the highest ratings of anything so far, it's extremely polished, to a glossy finish even. (You could even call it a polished turd.) I love the graphics -- kind of makes me want to make a simply styled 3d game like this. Heh, of all the games to make me really think I should try out Unity, funny it would be this. Good work!

udinjelek says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:20am

I prefer [space] to jump, hehehe but its ok, hemm.. anyway when the player hit the wall in front (not wall that chase the player) it automatically die ya?? nice game after all

Fenixin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:30am

Very polished feeling, funny!

Dmitrix says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:50am

I really liked it. I think if you added a timer and tightened the controls to make them feel more twitchy it would be really awesome.

Alismuffin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:55am

So clean, yet so so dirty!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:57am

Well I sure didn't expect something like this from the theme. Very polished game though, looks and plays nice disregard the odd key placement.

Sakuyan says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:40am

Really digg the fluid animations

allinlabs says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:48am

Reminds me of some levels of an good old called Crash Bandicoot on PS1. Lot of fun !

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:36am

Totally one of the best games here!

rnlf says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:51am

Wow... I will probably install Windows just to try this one :D

It looks so amazing!

grifdail says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:27am

Graphique are realy good. I played with a joypad as I use an Azerty keyboard and we cannot remap these key. The control feel strange. The game is good.

Pixlexia says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:30am

I didn't read the description so it took me a while to find out where the confirm button was, LOL. But anyway, really fun and well polished game!

HuntTheWumpus says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Like the idea of running towards the camera (instead of running away from it, like many other games do it.)
Great game, a little bit hard, but fun to play! Best enemy you can have ;)

stromchin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:52pm

Holy crap! (get it?)

vapgames says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:03pm

Great game, well balanced and very fun. Took me some time to realize that i'm chased by a giant ass XD

zkenshin says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:41am

Really liked his flip animation and the art style. :)

rnlf says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:26pm

Great gameplay and graphics, might need some kind of arcade mode with high scores though.

Not a big fan of the humor though, but to each his own, I guess.

Good game all in all.

olafsworld98 says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 8:06pm

awesome!!!

Benjamin says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 9:23pm

With a highscore table of longest run it would have been perfect :) The respawn is bit too fast, maybe 1-2 seconds death animation / explosion would make a good transition.

mmickyman says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 10:28pm

Shiiiiieeet that game is hard. Fun and funny, as other already said, it has a Crash Bandicoot vibe, good job.

rezoner says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 10:53pm

I can sense a new Canabalt

Dec 25, 2013 @ 10:59pm

Runs smoothly, has quite a menu system for a jam game, and the voxelly graphics look great in motion.

Since it's built in Unity, why not add builds for OS X and Linux? It's a shame it's monoplatform right now.

The projectile collision seemed off. There were several times when I couldn't see how I was hit, so I started just drawing fire all the way to one side, then all the way to the other to make sure I left plenty of room between us.

Having rebindable controls is fantastic! I wonder why you didn't support the arrow keys for menu/player movement and Enter for menu selections, though?

-mildmojo

OJ Navarro says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 11:45pm

Hmm. I never really considered a timer or a distance display meter since I thought everyone can finish the game. But that's an interesting idea.

The fast respawn was a design choice. I didn't want to punish players for dying. I also did not want to kill the player's "momentum" and "engagement".

Yeah. I noticed the collision detection too. I guess it's not just me. Thanks for the heads up. I'll try to shrink it in future games / builds.

Maple says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 1:47pm

Awesome game!

local minimum says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 4:58pm

Unfortunately I found the game too hard (at least in this state of being sick), the fecal cubes gave very little time to move out of the way. I like the game concept though, running towards myself, and I retried quite a few times to get to play some of it at least.

davisan says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 10:10pm

Nice game! Very funny.

GaTechGrad says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 4:30am

Nice. Sort of like Indiana Jones, except with a huge butt instead of a boulder.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]