December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Byte's Socks

by drkrunk - Jam Entry

-Controls
Arrow keys to move and jump.

Description:
Byte is a robot from outer space who is allergic to dirt. When his UFO ran out of batteries he has to venture out in search of fuel, the only problem is that he only has one pair of socks.

Art/Animation/Sound:
by: DrKrunk

Programming:
by:William Peters

Hint:
Mud/Oil dirties your only pair socks(the exclamation point).
Water cleans the socks(Byte's smiley face).

Thank You in advance for playing. Hope You enjoy it.

*Edit
I've been talking to William about making a post-comp version with tons of new levels and graphics, but we don't want to work on something that nobody wants to play. So if you would like more please comment below telling us so that we know that it would be worth the time or not.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#72Fun(Jam)3.52
#81Graphics(Jam)4.10
#82Humor(Jam)3.29
#95Overall(Jam)3.54
#98Audio(Jam)3.46
#117Mood(Jam)3.38
#204Theme(Jam)2.98
#213Innovation(Jam)3.02

Comments

Kayelgee says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:34am

Very nice art and music.
It feels like a standart platformer. I feel like the game wouldn't have been any different without the sock mechanic.

David Colson says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:27am

The game looks lovely, and its an interesting take on the theme

Moist says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:28am

The "dirty sicks" mechanic is really fun. The game feels very polished, I love the artstyle. Well done!

bitserum says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:29am

A nice entry, really good display of artist skills in such a short time. It feels good, it looks good.

headchant says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:31am

Almost the perfect LD game: fast and fun! Nice music, great graphics and the mechanic is simple but fun. Only cons: the movement might almost be a bit too fast and the levels are quite hard. Still: great game!

Lyje says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:31am

Couldn't launch it on OSX 10.6.

Lissar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:24pm

I loved the art style you have here, and I thought the dirty sock mechanic was an interesting way to create a potential fail state without making it an instant fail state.

Venks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:54pm

I really like the art style for this game. I've never played anything similar to this style. Great stuff!

Diptoman says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:00pm

Love the artwork! Weird take on the theme though, and the mechanic is... interesting, to say the least.

Strangelander says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:09pm

Worked fine in OS X 10.7.5. Fun game, nice mechanic.

mutilator says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:30pm

Interesting change to the normal platformer, when is dirty underwear coming out?

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:36pm

Sometimes it felt weird when the socks got dirtier by jumping through the air but overall it had enough challenge and was silly enough to be entertaining and fun. Plus, robots. No more need be said.

Shaun Lebron says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:12pm

Cute game. My favorite things are the subtleties: sock's red band on health meter to signal the dirt limit, kicking around in the water to wash your socks faster, and robots not caring about wet socks, haha.

anvoz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:14pm

This is really well made. Great use of theme.

Why does his sock get dirty while he is jumping? :)

IHateATMFees says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:43pm

A robot with dirty socks. This is exactly the type of irreverent game I look forward to every LD! Only gripe would be no gamepad support!

MatrixBai says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:09am

A robot wears socks, that makes me laugh. Really like the art style.

zorfmorf says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:33am

Sadly wouldn't run for me on linux. Just opens up to a blank white screen.

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:37am

Great all round feeling to this one :) Really smooth game play and engine and it's a game about a robot who doesn't want to ruin his only pair of socks, so you can't go wrong there.

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:06am

I like the art and graphics, it has a good personal touch. Good job!

john_conder9 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:09am

All around one of my favorite entries! Simple, enjoyable, fantastic to look at, fantastic to control, fantastic to play. The *only* complaint I have about this game (besides not enough content, I really enjoyed it and would like more!) is the sock mechanic is not something I particularly enjoyed. It was cool since it made me make sure each jump was precise, but it took forever to clean them! Eventually I realized I could run against a wall to make it go a bit faster, but, I really think it would be better if you just dipped in the water and they got all the way clean. Also, maybe not dirty them up when you are jumping over water? :D

Anyway, absolutely great submission, wonderful job!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:46am

I really wished while on air your socks didn't get dirty... But I guess there are enough germs in the air to contaminate them :D Nice mechanic, I liked the graphic style and music. Very well done.

Sebastian says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:07pm

This is a very nicely polished entry mate. I like that the bar could have been something generic like energy, but you chose dirty socks. It made it all that much more enjoyable.

Jgpicatoste says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:28pm

An overall great game. I enjoyed it, and found the socks mechanic puzzling and interesting. Keep up the good work!

psychomonster says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:59pm

Very fast and smooth feeling platformer. Very cool idea. Nice main character. Enjoye playing this.

pele says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:54am

Nice artwork. Funny interpretation of the theme. The rigid/tight controls made me wanna try to finish the levels with the socks as clean as possible!

Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:56am

Really fun but i could only jump once and once i started going forward it didn't stop

Tomski says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:26am

Really nice work, I need to go clean my socks now. Good job all around!

Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:37am

Nice music and art.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:42am

Fancy graphics, tight controls, and interesting gameplay. I like it.

Mutt says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:44am

Very polished. The art style is great, I love the rocks with swirl's on them (in particular, for some reason.) Music is really good, and the run and jump physics are good. Really good all around. And the whole sock thing is a pretty brilliant take on the theme. A good reminder to take an extra pair of socks with me next time I go into space.

Hyde Wyvern says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:57am

This game is flawless, the idea is sooo original! I had a lot of fun playing it and i must admit that I even left the window open after I finished to keep listening to the background tune! I loved it, you should upload the soundtrack to YouTube! Perfect 5/5 ^^

NightShadow0 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:40pm

There's a little bug where the socks get dirtied/cleaned if you're standing on the edge of a platform right next to a stream of mud/water, threw me off a bit at the beginning. (http://i.imgur.com/kkRA1wh.png)
Fun game, though! I love the smiley face haha

Tom 7 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:21pm

Cute idea, I played it all the way through. Art and music are great. The sock mechanic was basically just a timer with save points; I thought the puzzles could have been much more interesting. (For example, I don't feel like my socks should get any dirtier when in the air or standing on clean-looking concrete?)

SamH says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:06pm

One of the most polished entries I’ve seen so far. As mentioned by others, the mechanics are sometimes a bit too punishing (socks getting dirty while jumping) and having to wait for the socks to clean themselves in the water kinda breaks the fast pace; they could be cleaned instantly.

Other than that, it could really become a fully featured game, maybe with some level design improvements: I think the closest water spots should always be visible, maybe by making the screen larger, or through other visual hints.

jprogman says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 7:41am

Very nice game. I don't know why a robot wears socks but that doesn't matter. I love the graphics and the "atmosphere."

Dec 26, 2013 @ 2:04pm

Nice game even if I got stuck at third level.

GarethIW says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 10:06am

Fun take on the theme, and feels great to play as well!

GFM says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:00am

Great game! The animations are good and so is the music! The levels were also well made and fun.

My only complaint is: why does jump dirty the socks as much as walking on the floor? XD

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]