December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dead Planet

by Hypnohustla - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"Didn't you know you only get one planet"

Humankind has been doomed as a disease by an omnipotent alien race. How long will we last?

---

Arrow keys to rotate the satellites
M to mute the game.

---

My goal was to learn a bit more on how to use Unity. I think I achieved that so I'm happy! :)

I also wanted to create a cheery little arcade game with simple game mechanics. I'm hoping to add a high score system in the post-compo version, now I really just need to sleep.

LINUX USERS: I didn't know the right way to pack the Linux file, rar is ok? Please? No? Help. Tell me if it works. :)

-Roope

---

Other tools used:
PlayMaker addon for Unity
Propellerheads Reason for music and sounds
Photoshop for graphics

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#13Audio3.96
#44Mood3.79
#127Overall3.58
#139Graphics3.77
#145Fun3.45
#290Theme3.25
#351Humor2.59
#371Innovation3.08

Comments

yugillaume says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:14am

Nice work!

yugillaume says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:19am

is there a point where the 2 godlike aliens attack earth themsleves?

kunzbe says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:56am

Arcade fun :)
Really good intro, sets the mood perfectly!
GJ!

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:58am

The mood is perfect thanks to the intro and the well suited music theme.
The gameplay is efficient, Though I didn't went really far (100pts max on 3 games).
The little red ones are quite nasty.
Congrats for your first unity game.

phi6 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Absolutely brilliant! This is one of those rare games on LD that just feels and plays right, control-wise. Also I learnt something new on the first go after being eaten by the yellow creature, love games that do that! Best one I've played and rated as of yet.

Chris Mondok says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:41pm

Nicely done.
It's irritating when three of those yellow guys show up.

Linux users probably expect .tar.gz, but we're used to dealing with .rars and .zips also.

Nik Sudan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:34pm

I had fun playing this! I really liked it! Neat little arcade game. I got 101 points before I panicked and started to spin around. I really liked the animations.

nerial says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:41pm

Great game, there are great things to do with your idea of a "centered shooter". Best game i saw.

IHateATMFees says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:43pm

Nice job, it's fun and you nailed the mood!

Sylence says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:44pm

Really fun to play and the mood is excellent

kratorspore says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:45pm

Really nice ideas here coupled with great execution. Really nice wave design and some cool mechanics. I love the enemies that disable your shields.

zorfmorf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:08pm

Great game and execution! Really hard on a slow system though as the rocket shields get slowed down a lot more than the enemies by lag

xrm0 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Great intro and mood.
One typo, in the intro there was "concider" instead of "consider"

Dynad says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:32pm

Fun to play, nice music, cool looking animations ;)

mrjordan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:55pm

Oh my, that was perfect. Love the intro, the premise, and the gameplay. 93 points, yo!

@TeddyNashor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:21pm

This games music/sound was so kick ass it deserves 6/5 stars. The game play was fun, the story made sense. def a good submission. Thanks for this!

zebi24 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:49pm

Yep, this is pretty nice. I expected nothing less from the creator of awesome Lakeview Cabin. :) You rock dude!

Berzee says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:23am

Man, aliens are jerks, eh? HERE'S A TIP, ALIENS: if your spaceships are all in the shapes of EVIL SKULLS, you are PROBABLY the BAD GUYS.

I got 87. =) Nicely created! I found it all a bit noisy and stressful, but I think that was the intent and it achieves it quite effectively.

The enemy attack patterns being randomized but somewhat pre-designed was a nice touch, too. (The spiral one is my favorite as it is easy to handle but also makes me feel heroic =P).

chamberlainpi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:29pm

Cool idea! Plays nice and fluid, the yellow guys are the worst (especially when 3 of them attack, so you have to pay close attention to which one will release off your defense paddles first!). Graphics are really nice too, the music ties well with them.

Pixelbear says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:55pm

Personally I think arcade games are the best way to go for LD, and this is one of the best ones I've played so far! Played a good number of times because it was so much fun! :)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:52pm

95 score! great sound work and graphics on this one. Very high quality! I look forward to see what you can do outside jams with skills like these!

MrTedders says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:39pm

Very well done. Reminds me a lot of lovecraft. Mood is perfectly done. Not much can be said about it except maybe just more if you continue to work on it because it was a good time while it lasted!

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:48pm

Excellent game! I like the mood. The controls are smooth! I got the mechanics at first game play. Really good job!

rogueNoodle says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:43am

Great use of sound to set the mood, and just an excellent entry overall. Scored an 83 - not sure if that's good or not, but it was getting pretty tricky at that point :)

Team-KwaKwa says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:26am

Simple mechanic, easy to understand. I like the graphics and the little intro.

JoeManaco says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Nice atmosphere. Scored 93! ;)

GarethIW says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:36am

Good game! I only managed to score 53 (third try). Those yellow dudes are tricky!

Aaants says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:30pm

Really nice visuals and smooth gameplay

Jeremias says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:44pm

The music, the sound and these tentacles make this game really creepy. You set the mood up very well. Do you plan to make a post-compo version? If yes, you should try to continue on the graphics, e.g. making them in the same style like the satellites (they look really good!).

Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:00pm

Awesome audio and mood! Really amazing! Great fun too and really really had a great feel to it, can't express that enough!

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:42am

The music really set the mood well. Nice work!

Fenmar says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:52pm

I played your game and recorded it :-) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=amwahYfh8c8 (second part)

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:11pm

I've seen other games with similar gameplay, but the style and smooth controls makes yours much better.

Lacutis says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:45am

Neat little game. The yellow guys neutralizing the satellites surprised me!

dekart says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:23pm

I love the art and smoothness of the gameplay. Very solid entry.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 2:12pm

Fun little game! I love the music and the graphics are very cool as well.

Erkberg says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 1:20pm

Nice, efficient gameplay. The audio and graphics really build up the mood. Overall a really good game.

stvr says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 3:56am

Well, if it doesn't work out, we have Mars too. We'll probably fix that place up real nice. Oh! The game is good fun and clever. I actually really like how earth does not look like a place worth protecting.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]