December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Eldritch Racing

by ian_snyder - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Race for your life, fleeing an eldritch terror you've awakened! Make it back to your manor to escape the horror.

WASD to move. Hold RMB or SPACEBAR to look around. LMB or Left CTRL to shoot the revolver.

POST-COMPO BUILD: Made it a bit easier and clarified the choice of your starting item.

IF THE SITE ISN'T WORKING: Please try reloading the page a few times, my web host has issues :/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#64Mood3.68
#189Audio3.14
#212Graphics3.55
#411Innovation3.03
#587Humor2.04
#657Overall2.81
#701Fun2.56
#728Theme2.46

Comments

mcapraro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:13am

Looks really good, and you were really successful with the mood. it's got that scary vibe to it. i liked the concept, but wish the gun was usable from the keyboard.

ian_snyder says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:21am

Hi mcapraro, thanks! I quickly added the ability to shoot using Left CTRL. The revolver is purposely wonky to use, though :P

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:47pm

Finally, a "racing horror" game!

chicknstu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:50pm

Like the concept (First person racing game) but found it very difficult to play.

Nice graphics and audio for 48 hours, and I do love a bit of Lovecraft! :)

timtipgames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:03pm

Great mood, awesome setting, very cool graphics, barely playable game mechanic ;)

burgerdare says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:11pm

the handling of the car is kind of slippery and enjoyable, but a good effort everywhere else. Maybe this could do with a post-mortem touchup in the mechanics department?

JoeProgram says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:13pm

Wow, those tendrils of power look great! I also loved the way you setup the choice of item - it was a fun use of language. I couldn't really see the road or shoot though. If the player is supposed to be doomed, it would be fun to have an ailment afflict them rather than just losing.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:19pm

Hey, great mood and atmosphere, but the game is a little too hard, the abomination only gets closer! also took me some time to realize i had to choose between the lantern and the revolver, at first i thought i had both items.

alexc says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:49pm

What does this have to do with the theme? Otherwise it's a great game.

ian_snyder says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:58pm

Thanks for all the feedback, everyone! Specifically are you all having trouble with the driving itself? I think I've gotten too used to it :P I'll definitely work on a post-compo version with your feedback in mind :)

ian_snyder says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:05pm

Oh, and the idea from the theme is you only get one: either the lantern or the revolver :) The lantern is the easy way; you can see the road and just run :P The revolver makes it so you depend on the Terror's light to be able to see the road, so that's kinda the Hard Mode.

timtipgames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:28pm

oh now things clear up for me. I didn't read your desciption before and three things happened:
1) I didn't realize the "revolver vs light" screen is a selection for one of them but thought i do get both. I always clicked on the revolver though
2) I didn't realize I have to flee from the thing, but thought I have to shoot it with the revolver.
3) I found that impossible to do and blamed the controls.

If I choose the lantern and flee now, I don't think the controls are too bad anymore. But imagine you are trying to shoot the terror without fleeing whilst sitting in your car ;) Adjusted my rating :)

Nick Weihs says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:53pm

Making the webplayer so small was a cool choice, and I liked the level design.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:38am

Hi! I'm on Linux and there's no Unity webplugin available for it yet, so if you could provide a downloadable build, more people would be able to play it then. Thanks!

ian_snyder says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:32pm

Hi Lorenzo, thanks for the comment, there's a Linux build up now, please let me know if you have problems running it :)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:20pm

Awesome, thanks!
I think you might have forgotten to add the custom resolution the game is supposed to be played in to the list of res options to the game Loader for that build. Right now, all of the options crop it on the sides.

I really like the idea of the game, haven't really seen anything like it before myself.
The mood is great! I think you really nailed that with the sound and graphics.
The controls are a bit too sensitive for my liking, though.
Nice work overall!

KumoKairo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:54pm

I liked that I could see the castle almost all the time, so there was that mood of "just a little more.."
I was like "omg, I'm gonna hit a tree, I'm gonna hit a tree!"
Didn't get that idea with the revolver though, why would I need?

Car physics are great, very smooth! Definitely my vote)

ian_snyder says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:51pm

@Lorenzo: Thanks again for all your feedback, I've uploaded a new version where I THINK I fixed the resolution issue for Linux :)

@KumoKairo: Thank you very much, it means a lot to me! I'm really glad you noticed the castle :) I just left a review of your game, it's incredible! Get that on the App Store ASAP! ;)

Kyle Mac says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:41am

The website is down for me. I'm not sure what's up with that.

stvr says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:04am

The driving controls are a bit difficult, but this is a really unique take on the racing genre!

Kyle Mac says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:17pm

It's very hard to see this game even with the lantern. And as other people have already pointed out, it's really hard to use the controls.

ian_snyder says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:50pm

Could you give more specifics about what you find difficult about the controls? Is the steering too sensitive, for example? I'd like to improve the post-compo version with people's feedback :) Thanks!

stvr says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:08am

In my opinion, it feels a bit like the steering is undersensitive, then it ramps up and gets oversensitive. That, combined with the "slidiness", makes it pretty hard to stay in control.

Lissar says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:57am

From what I could see of the graphics, I liked the style, wish I could have seen more of them! I liked the concept too. It was too difficult to control, though. Oh well, going mad is a fitting fate.

SimianLogic says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:22am

After describing it to my wife (who worked on Deadspace): "That doesn't make sense. Racing is fast and horror is slow."

Me: I had a really hard time seeing/driving/knowing what was going in. But the visuals and audio are pretty nice for a 48-hour project! What does the pistol do? I always seem to get caught from behind and the pistol only fires forward as far as i can tell

skysthelimit says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:24am

Interesting idea, couldn't really see where I was going or what I was doing for the most part, but it was very creepy and great to see the horror genre mixed into racing. Would love to see it developed further.

lando walters says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:27am

Visually, its very interesting, and I love the mood.
However, it could be hard to find the path if you ever lost it, and it sometimes felt like that game was killing me for no reason :/
Not entirely sure how the theme fit in...
Overall a very good entry

kevinmylo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:29am

Pretty Cool Idea!
Definately cool for the short amount of time you had to work on this project!

kcpunk666 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:38am

Good job, great mood.

Scipio Xaos says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:42am

Interesting game.. I think I ran into an unusual bug, though. On my first playthrough I didn't even see the other driver. Just the red tentacles. I picked the gun (when I read the choices I thought you got both for some reason).

Man... driving like that in the darkness is terrible. Again, cause of the bug, I didn't die. Instead I sort of raced tendrils and went out of my mind trying to find a way to the manor...

Came here to comment, realized you could choose the lantern, played again and it was much better.. Could see and the Horror showed up that time. Pretty interesting game, though the handling of that dune buggy was horrid. :P

Switchbreak says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:49am

Nice graphics and great audio work. I love the idea of a lovecraftian cart racer, and the mood of the game is great. I wasn't able to win, though, the slidy controls were pretty frustrating.

ian_snyder says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:20pm

Ouch, I thought I'd made the car handling pretty fun :P Lesson learned! I hope you'll all try the post-compo version, I've tried to ease it up a bit :) I appreciate all the feedback!

@stvr: Awesome feedback, thanks!

@Lissar: Thanks, it's a visual style I've been working on for a while, unfortunately I'm showing it off in an almost pitch-black game -___-

@SimianLogic: That was kinda the point, to juxtapose horror with racing :P The pistol is meant to be the "hard" mode; you have to hold right click and drag to look around behind you to aim and shoot at the Horror, so it's purposely clunky. I didn't want the pistol to be the easy option :)

@landowalters: Please try the post-compo version, the theme is you only get one: the revolver or the lantern, but I didn't make the choice clear enough in the compo version.

@Scipio Xaos: Yes, I was having a weird bug where when the wheel colliders clipped through the ground the cars could fall through the world -___- I finally got it fixed in the post-compo version, I'm surprised you're the first person that has mentioned it!

Venks says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:58am

Very interesting title. A little odd, but not too off putting.

van noctar says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Good job

Jan 3, 2014 @ 10:44pm

Great mood. Graphics are a bit basic, but not bad. The audio is where this really stands out, though: probably the most unsettling sound I've heard in a long while.

I didn't progress very far, but I might come back to it later.

JaJ says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 9:23pm

I have to say I wasn´t able to reach the manor without getting caught. I really like the visual style and mood!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]