December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Space Escape Catastrophe

by LiamLime - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Space Escape Catastrophe is a tech support game, in which you play the ever helpful sidekick to fleeing escapee. Your job is to keep the ship flyable and survivable. There are a few machines on the ship that can (and will) break, and you have to repair them as soon as possible. The score is the distance traveled, determined by your speed, which is in turn determined by the state of your navigation and thurster computers, and your engine. You also need to keep up with the state of your oxygen generator. You fail when you die, and you die when you stay without oxygen for too long.

You can recover oxygen if you repair the generator, but you can never recover your health, so mind that. The game also gets progressively harder.


Note: This is a prototype. Its graphics are as simplistic as they get. There is also no sound. I'm satisfied with what I've managed to create in two days, even if it is unpolished, unbalanced, and ugly.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness97%
#350Innovation3.12
#503Humor2.24
#702Overall2.76
#756Mood2.38
#761Audio1.43
#779Fun2.43
#881Graphics2.09
#958Theme1.86

Comments

apwolf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:55am

I believe something went wrong so before I rate, none of the text is legible!

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:57am

Very FTL-y! :-) I wish there was a better way of indicating what to activate though!

mcgraw says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:57am

Clever idea! Well done!

Elforama says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:00am

Not sure how this relates to the theme, but I enjoyed it non the less. Good job!

Dooleus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:00am

I don't really see the theme in this. Really lacking in atmosphere due to the bland visuals and absence of audio. The gameplay wasn't too compelling to me, either.

errorage says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:35pm

The relevance to the topic was you having one chance at freedom, and had to keep the ship running for that chance to remain.

Currently you just have a score ticking up, but there was another thing I wanted to implement, but ran out of time. A second fail condition. You were supposed to be chased by the space police, so you had to maintain a certain speed. That'd probably translate to the topic a lot better, but ah well, ran out of time.

Citiral says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:09pm

It is a great idea, but I didn't find it compelling as it wasn't hard enough, or didn't get hard enough fast enough! I also didn't really see the theme in this game.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:14pm

I liked the idea. It took sometime for me to get the spirit of it, but then I had some fun. But the game is very easy, if you add more stress, the game could be much more fun.

TomboFry says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:42pm

Great idea! I love the concept but it gets a little repetitive after a while, I got over 1,000,000 points and still going strong, so it definitely needs to be more difficult in that regard. It would be good to have something like asteroids hit the ship every once in while that take a bit of repairing, maybe?
I won't vote for audio since there was none

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:12pm

amusing tech support game. ;-) the randomization and triggers worked well; nicely done.

ob6160 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Love the idea nice visuals but a little bit plain? :)

Snail_Man says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:48pm

It was quite fun, although it could have done with an intro or help file.

kratorspore says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:54pm

An interesting idea that feels more like a typing tutor than a roguelike. The game has some usability issues with the white on yellow very hard to read.

Capitals says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:35pm

Interesting Idea!

Hyde Wyvern says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:43pm

I love the concept, something I've never seen before and I like it, you're right once you spend a few more days on it I'll be perfect! Good Job :)

Sean Noonan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:46pm

This is a super cool idea. You're winning no awards for visuals but the idea is solid as a rock. I really like the idea of random typing challenges per activity. I'd love to see an expanded (and prettier version of this).

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:30am

This game is a bit to easy and i can't the the theme. Took me a while to get that the yellow planes are "problems". But in summary a really nice idea. I like your graphics. :-) Next time maybe 2 hours more to finish the game. Great work.

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:31am

If you expand the game a bit more, this could make a decent speed typing educational game. Good job!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:41am

This is a fun idea. I played for a long time but I still wonder what my crew was doing. I think a module like this needs to be added to the science officers con on the artemis bridge sim. (http://www.artemis.eochu.com/). It's perfect for it.

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:59am

It wasn't at all clear what to do at the start of the game, but once I understood that I needed to click then type, it got pretty fun!

SilentBunny says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:37am

Very ambitious, kudos for that. My personal experience was one of confusion though, lots of text to read.

Lacutis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:05am

I can see what you where going for, and as a prototype I think it works well. I hit a point though where I was going and could leave the power, one computer and the captains internet down and just repair the second computer, o2 and the engine and keep going forever.

You should flesh this idea out more.

LatFoued says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:21am

The concept is very cool, but i didn't understand what to do at first (most people dont read instructions when it's too long).

Diptoman says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:16pm

"Computer encountered bluescreen, press power button repeatedly."
LOL.

Unsure of the use of theme here, and game needs some explaining at the beginning. But once I got what's happening, it was pretty good. Not enough challenge though!

davisan says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:30pm

The concept is good, but after a while it becomes repetitive, it need new elements to surprise the player.

van noctar says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:10pm

Good gameplay :)

BeardoGames says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:54pm

I was surprised to see how quickly I memorized the commands for different malfunctions-- I think it shows that there's plenty of promise in the concept, especially if even more variables gradually get added in to the mix. Nice work, I'd love to see it expanded upon and polished!

Rothens says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:49pm

This could be a great idea, but I found it a little boring :(

Spelchan says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:22pm

With a bit of work, this would make a really good typing tutor. Alternatively, you could have a set of mini-games for the different repairs that you make. Lots of potential but right now it simply is not very fun. I've seen quite a few "you only get one life" themed games so I'll let you go on the theme.

larb says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:25pm

Agreeing with other commenters. Cool idea. Confused how to play at first. It's fun, but a bit easy.

dray says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:32pm

i stopped at more than 1.000.000, i think the game difficulty don't rise quickly enough. I really like your idea and after reading your pitch was really excited to play it. the result isn't there yet, you have a good start but i was hoping running from place to place smacking computer to reboot them. the letter game is good but all the mood of the game go only from the flavor text and we don't have time to really read them. Good start and yes it's a good entry.

MrTedders says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:45pm

Enjoyed the game but i dont see how it relates to the theme but this has already been said :P good work otherwise.

Dec 27, 2013 @ 9:21pm

Nice work ! Funny idea, it feel like tech support a lot :P

Liam :D says ...
Dec 3, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Thank you everyone for your reviews :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]