December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Desert Robot Commandos

by Binary Gambit - Jam Entry

A turn based Strategy/Roguelike game where you can only harvest one resource at a time.

INSTALLATION
To run on Windows, Linux, OS/X, install love 0.8 then drag the .love file onto love.exe. Not compatible with love 0.9. Download links for love, select the OS appropriate link for love 0.8.0:

https://bitbucket.org/rude/love/downloads

If you are on Windows you can try the executable file.

Please post your seed and how far you got in the comments!

DESCRIPTION
In Desert Robot Commandos your goal is to reach your home planet after making 10 jumps through a desert filled with hostil bots. Collect resources and deploy your own bots to survive! Each safe jump costs 10 of each resource, while an emergency jump costs 30 random resources, 10 hp and strips your shields when you arrive, so spend your resources wisely!

After a jump it takes 60 turns to charge your engines for another safe jump, but an emergency jump is available whenever you can afford it. Each resource stockpile has limited supply of a particular resource type that corresponds to the bot you may produce from it. 1 resource produces a single bot.

Hills block bot and enemy UFO movement and bots may not be deployed on them, however your own UFO can freely travel over them. Your UFO has 30 hp and a 10hp shield that will regenerate a few turns after taking damage.


ENEMIES

UFOs:
Move slowly towards either resources piles or your own UFO. They deploy new bots every 5 turns and are very tough, although they have no weapons of their own.
(50 health, 5 shield)

HUNTER:
Move at double speed, but are weak and short ranged. They will seek out enemy UFOs and bots.
(5 health, 3 range)

SIEGER:
Tough units that will seek out and protect resource stockpiles.
(10 health, 4 range)

TURRET:
Weak until they deploy, then the strongest bots in the game. They will move towards stockpiles for a few turns before transforming.
(3 health, no weapon)
(15 health, 6 range)


CONTROLS

Moving your UFO:
Up
Down
Left
Right

Deploying Bots:
1 - Turret
2 - Hunter
3 - Sieger

Collecting Resources/Waiting:
Spacebar

Jumping to the next world
"J"

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#139Innovation(Jam)3.25
#155Overall(Jam)3.35
#204Fun(Jam)3.04
#269Graphics(Jam)3.21
#313Mood(Jam)2.78
#387Audio(Jam)2.36
#428Humor(Jam)1.69
#471Theme(Jam)2.13

Comments

Mocuto says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:30pm

Is there anyway you can provide a download link for LOVE? The site only lists 0.9

scrapworks says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:15pm

Here's the download link to LOVE 0.8 for anyone who needs it:
Windows 64bit - https://bitbucket.org/rude/love/downloads/love-0.8.0-win-x64.exe
Windows 32bit - https://bitbucket.org/rude/love/downloads/love-0.8.0-win-x86.exe

jsjwooowooo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:22am

I was a bit confused, after the first level, my guys wouldn't move...

Binary Gambit says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:33am

oh it might be worth mentioning that the simulation only runs when you move. Press spacebar to wait!

ambi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:33am

Very interesting concept. Could use a tutorial of sorts, because the gameplay is not immediately obvious.

AaronGordon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:41am

seed: 007
3 jumps

sudorossy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:17am

Interesting concept, but even with the instructions I felt a little lost as to what to do at any given moment. still quite an interesting game

ninjacharlie says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:53am

Nice job! I really like this one. I would've liked slightly better instructions, but overall it was great.

ehtd says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:25am

A bit confusing, but has potential.

BluShine says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:33am

Windows EXE didn't work, asked for DevIL.dll. Installed LOVE and ran the game that way instead.

I got 4 jumps with seed 007. It was going pretty well until I spawned right on top of a bunch of turrets and I died in about 3 turns. Really interesting concept, it's like a roguelike strategy game. You really have to budget your resources, which makes the game much more interesting.

bazza_oz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:21am

Seed: 7
5 Jumps

Binary Gambit says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:17am

ive added the required DLLs to the executable. Should be aok now. Thanks for all the comments so far!

Alismuffin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:19am

This was pretty fun. Nice concept and well implemented.

moop says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:28am

Really enjoyed it once I figured out what I was supposed to be doing and found some working tactics.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:57pm

Could have used some clearer instructions and a more precise take on the theme but pretty good for a 72hr game.

j_stirk says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:18am

Nice work. Took a bit to realise what I had to do and how to play, but good fun once I got the hang of it.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:34am

Nice game, but a sound would be nice. And does the enemy keep respawning? It's get though just having many turrets with endless enemies lol

insane66 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:46am

I had one huge battle going on. That was pretty neat, some stats would be fun just to see how many of the enemy you killed waiting to jump.

rogueNoodle says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:05am

Really interesting concept, although a bit tricky to understand. Obviously hard to create a tutorial in 72 hours, but it would be nice to see it expanded with one in the future.

Und[0]ne Devs says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:45am

Great logos! Fun Game!

glovecat says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:14am

Good art style but it was hard understand the mechanics

Dikkop says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:30pm

Really cool game! Awesome idea and gameplay as well as challenging. Sound/music could use a little boost ;)

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:09pm

I don't know what to do :D But it looks great. Maybe a tutorial could help? :)

Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:21pm

Cool game ! I like the turn based concept. The seed add a lot replayability ! Great job !

xk says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:47pm

Would be a much better game if it had some soft start tutorial thingy!

Vladp995 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Cool game, great job. Got to a point where I placed like 40 torrents and no one could pass and eventually no more waves came to me, but I couldn't jump either.

lightsoda says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:28pm

A pretty good strategy game, I managed a couple of jumps. Not quite sure how to regain resources and units.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:03pm

PEW PEW PEW PEW PEW!!! AWESOME!!!!

Kane says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:56pm

My first turn based RTS of this LD, and it was greatly done!
I think a move to/attack order may be a plus for a next version.

Thanks for the fun :)

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 9:31am

Super fun and addicting. REALLY nice job on the gameplay for this. Like I already said, making a full game (probably a flash game) out of this would be really interesting, as the gameplay is catchy, simple enough and just plain fun. Really really nice job!

Binary Gambit says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 11:01am

I've uploaded a new version that is compatible with Love2d 0.9.0
Thanks for all the comments so far. :D

Jan 2, 2014 @ 7:19pm

Really enjoyed this. Very in depth game I really lost too much time to this lol. 5 stars Great entry guys

rincewind_cz says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 12:34pm

Wow, really great and deep gameplay. I enjoyed this. Good job :-)

Jan 8, 2014 @ 12:14pm

Seed: 7
3 Jumps
So far!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]