December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Master Thief

by Kareemroks101 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls:
WAD / Space / Arrows to move

You are a thief who has been hired to steal some valuable gems, however you are also one of the worst thieves that ever lived. Every time you steal something, you manage to set off the security alarm, and it this case, the security will kill you. You have one minute to escape the area alive or the job is a bust.

Just as a side note, the exit is randomly placed, so if you found it easy the first time, try it again and see if you can find it in time!


Uses 2 libraries:
- A framework I've been working on called JGame (https://github.com/kareemroks101/JGame)
- An audio playing library called TinySound (https://github.com/finnkuusisto/TinySound)



- Kareem El-Faramawi

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#142Humor3.25
#358Mood2.96
#478Fun2.88
#509Theme2.84
#607Graphics2.72
#644Audio2.13
#710Overall2.75
#821Innovation2.35

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:18pm

I'm on Ubuntu running the following:

java version "1.6.0_27"
OpenJDK Runtime Environment (IcedTea6 1.12.6) (6b27-1.12.6-1ubuntu2.1)
OpenJDK 64-Bit Server VM (build 20.0-b12, mixed mode)

I received this message:

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: ld28/Driver : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0

I'll check back later!

Kareemroks101 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:50pm

This was originally compiled for Java 1.7, recompiled it for 1.6, so it should work now.

ambi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:43am

Aw, only two levels.

sudorossy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:45am

Runs quite badly, and it's strange how everything moves when you move/jump, but an interesting idea. Alarm scared the crap out of me when it came on!

bttf says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:45am

Funny game

voidqk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:49am

heh, fun game... alarm sound was a bit much, but it was nice to have SOME sound (many games, including mine, don't have any!)... simple story, with basic platforming... only died once, so I did pretty good!

sjames_93 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:50am

Really good game, good job! I like how you did the alarm stuff

Capitals says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:51am

It's a shame it only had two levels. Great fun though!

Binary Gambit says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:51am

it runs very well on my machine. Character animations are great. I like the level intro sequences with the boss. Good font selection. :D

ajfischer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:51am

I liked this a lot. Level 2 was actually quite hard! Always died before my minute even ran out. Wasn't sure if there was actually a way to avoid the bullets. Only thing is, there are holes in the story! Why would the thief steal the gems for someone else and not just take it for himself? Hehe. :)

loggs2 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:55am

The controls felt really good and the limited field of view was a nice touch. I think it was too easy to get away - I would have enjoyed less enemies and more platforming when escaping, but I still enjoyed playing.

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:14am

the dude looks awesome. pretty intense.

MrBlade says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:10pm

Pretty good game, the sounds are super loud, pretty nice graphics. Very funny story. As others are saying; I am getting TERRIBLE FPS, MAYBE 3FPS. Oh well. Very nice and polished menu Keep it up!

TeamKl0n says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:24pm

Holy crap, that alarm really makes your heart pump! I find that the enemies are too much. I died mostly with the enemies than with the time up.

mcapraro says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:24pm

great work on this! i love the idea of having the gem be super easy to get and having the escape be so difficult. great concept and i like the time spent on the little dialog parts to build the story

Freel4tte says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:47pm

Wonderfull! Love the intro dialogue. Gave me quite a laugh. Especially all those turrets shooting in your face made me smile. Good job!

Kareemroks101 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:54am

Updated the game with lowered volume on the alarm, never realized how loud it was when I was testing it here.

LD_LAN_Party says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:41am

The first time I touched the gem I expected the level to end. Instead the alarms went off and guns popped out everywhere. Scared the poop out of me.

_zulli says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:47am

Nice job! I like how intense it gets when you touch the diamond. Pretty cool!

If you have time please consider rating my game! I would really appreciate it :)

Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:29am

The fixed resolution made the bottom 10% or so of the screen not show. The alarm sound scared the shit out of me the first time as well. Apart from that it's a pretty cool game.

tobbez says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:34am

Not much in the game, the exit seems to be randomized so escaping is mostly about luck. Nothing interesting in the levels it seems like the size was only to make searching for the exit take longer with many long dead ends.

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:59pm

It's not and untitled alpha. Points for that.

A fine concept, but gameplay, to me, is too simplistic.

Take some pointers from games like N, Mark of The Ninja and Stealth Bastard.

Predictable enemies which are relatively easy to bypass on their own, yet in combination with each other create interesting and challenging dynamic situations.

More interactions with the world (Doors, switches, airducts, traps, keys, robots... You name it) which can be tied to overall objectives (go there, steal that) or to sub-objectives (how do I get past this turret?, how do I open this door?).

A more refined and complex movement system (sliding, crouching, running, wall/roof-climbing, etc.) and/or gadgets (grappling hook [ninja rope], stun/emp. devices, smoke bomb, hacking device. etc.)

And possibly stealth, even if the main character is a master thief only in sarcastic sense.

Jeasonfire says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 6:05pm

The dialog was hilarious. Some kind of enemy other than turrets would've been fun but oh well.

TheThirdOne says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 10:32pm

Good start, but on continuation should add a level of skill to avoiding turrets.

Ashedragon says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 1:44am

Very fun, I thought. Your little thief character is cute, hahah.

cappelnord says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 2:25pm

Cool main character, Controls were OK, game was fun. Some kind of hint where the exit will be would have been good though.

Kareemroks101 says ...
Jun 22, 2014 @ 12:30am

Links are broken, mirror: https://www.mediafire.com/folder/xlukpq95c5ts7/LD28

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]