December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Refuge To Keep

by Zhrack - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hello everyone!
This is my compo entry! It's a stealth game about hot and cold. I'm not a modeler, so no good graphics here, sorry for that. :(

Wood is scattered across the map, so search for a blue light!

EDIT: Corrected minor bugs with camera and enemies sight!

Hope you enjoy it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#249Mood3.16
#299Audio2.89
#386Humor2.50
#431Theme3.00
#603Fun2.71
#718Graphics2.48
#724Overall2.74
#737Innovation2.52

Comments

meek says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:02pm

Really nice! Love the graphics and the atmosphere. I like the sounds the enemies make when they lock on to you, that's my favorite part. Finding the wood was a little difficult, I only managed to find one piece!

dsoft20 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:47pm

Nice idea :D it fits the teme very well

Zhrack says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:11pm

Thank you guys! Wood respawns randomly across the map, and there are many respawn points in houses!

Elforama says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:58pm

I liked this, those robots were well done.

TobiasNL says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:58pm

Liked the athmosphere. Especially the sound from the enemies.. had something scary to it. A mini-map would be nice though.

acp_ld says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:59pm

well made, camera was a bit wonky and could use minimap or at least compass to know how to get back to refuge

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:01pm

The camera work is a combination of great and annoying. It's great when you're moving fast in the proper direction, since it shows you a lot with a nice angle, but it's annoying when you're moving back, since you can't really see where you're going. Other than that a nice effort!

jillytot says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:47pm

Graphics aren't bad. Really good mood and sound effects. I spent a bit of time fighting with the camera, and i wasn't sure if there was much to find, but still enjoyable.

Ted Brown says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:03pm

Love the sound effects and the theme (I used a fire-based one as well!). At first the camera seemed wonky, but then it started accentuating the mood. =)

If you revisit this, as an experiment, try swaps those bricks for ice blocks, and change the ground to snow. =)

MaTX says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:30pm

I feel thrown back playing this game, the graphics aren't there but the tension is. Nicely done!

ob6160 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:40pm

heh i really love the graphics and the theme keep it up :D

danbo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:44pm

The robots are scary!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:45pm

Love Unity Capsules! ;)
And my game is about freezing!
Nice compo entry!

Galdor says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:48pm

Nicely done! I like the color palette and the sound effect, just the camera annoys a bit for backward movements.

Keep goin' ;)

Zhrack says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:55pm

Thank you guys! Your feedbacks are very important to me! I've modified the camera a bit, now it stays right even when going south! Also corrected a minor bug with enemies!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:48am

Crazy idea, but i like it. Hard to find the wood. but i like the gameplay and the concept.

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:55am

Good 3d and control, I have enjoyed the game, good work!

AmmoreChicks says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:25pm

Nice concept and good game! Bye!

Moist says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:39pm

It would be really helpful to be able to move the camera. The light effects are really cool, they help to set nice atmosphere. A solid entry, good job.

GBolt says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:20pm

Despite the graphics, it's a nice game with stealth mechanics and a survival theme.

atombrot says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:54pm

Cool idea, but for me it is a bit to slow... Also as others has mentioned, it would be cool if you could see in the direction your going...

Dec 25, 2013 @ 9:28pm

Nice game mechanics. I like the survival idea very much ! Great work with the stealth system !

ratboy2713 says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 4:37am

I liked the glow that the logs and the enemies had. Wasn't quite sure what to do after I found 5 pieces. It would have been nice to be able to free look with the camera to make sure I didn't miss anything.

Zhrack says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Thank you all for your feedbacks!

@ratboy: this is an endless game, you keep on collecting logs. There always are logs in the level.

About camera movement: i didn't manage to code it, but i'll make a more complete game in future. I like this concept.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]