December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Me And My Arrow

by mtinkerhess - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In this game, you only get one arrow (unless you lose it, then you can get another). Pop balloons to score points and progress through the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#151Theme3.53
#179Overall3.45
#242Innovation3.29
#324Fun3.13
#414Audio2.68
#419Graphics3.08
#545Mood2.69
#693Humor1.81

Comments

Jellycakes says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:11am

Really nice! I dig the style so much, including the sounds. Really fun to play, nice and simple, very retro feel. Only thing I'd point out is it's a little tedious when dying resets you to the start when the platforming gets difficult. Other than that really nice job!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:20am

I like the concept. The mix of FPS and puzzle solving was fun. Going back to get the arrow was tedious, but it added insensitive not to miss and not fire filly nilly(although sometimes you could not get the arrow back not matter what). Also, several graphical aspects looked rushed (unaligned textures, clipping blocks, ect).

gupta_shvm says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:56am

Interesting game. Nice sounds.

anvoz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:10pm

Like it a lot, really good gameplay idea!

iquinn says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:03pm

I got sucked into this for two hours (happily so) and I'll be back for more. Smooth play action. In level three is there any way to retrieve the arrow shot at the yellow balloons sitting up in those big block high chair structures? Eventually I just went back to the arrow block to reload but I WANT TO KNOW! Great mix of challenge and reward. Very gratifying to have new pathways appear as balloons are hit. Brilliant to have the tables moving at angles at the end of level three, and overhanging that brick wall. Also liked the surprise balloons - makes you want to be armed and ready at all times. Nice piece of work.

mtinkerhess says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:05pm

@iquinn There's only one balloon in the game that requires you to give up your arrow, and it's not one of the ones you're talking about -- it should be possible to get your arrow back from every other balloon. But (without going into too much detail) it's possible to get the level into a state where you can no longer easily retrieve your arrow from a balloon, so don't necessarily keep banging you head against it.

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:16pm

Cool aesthetic, really liked the platforming/puzzle solving - it usually doesn't work that well in First Person cameras, but this game manages to pull it off rather well.

skarab says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Yes it's an interesting concept, like the sounds as well.

zkenshin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:05am

Great concept!

jongtao says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:05am

I really like this. It was really smooth and the setting felt really nice. The slight echo in the sound added to the feeling. This kind of game really sucks you into the world. I wish I could move faster and have a less sensitive mouse, though. Aiming and retrieving the arrow was a bit time consuming.

ratboy2713 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:10am

Nice gameplay, though having to re-collect the arrow doesn't add much to the experience. Forcing yourself to a theme like that limits the fun.

Lacutis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:28am

Good use of the theme, good arrow mechanic.
Nicely done!

Before Light says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:55pm

Good gameplay mechanic.

Erkberg says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:19pm

Nice gameplay, I had quite some fun with it.

Und[0]ne Devs says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:23pm

Nice mechanics! I like it, nice work! :)

Dec 25, 2013 @ 9:20pm

Cool game ! Plateformer, aiming, really nice I love it ! The gameplay is smooth,polished, great work!

van noctar says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 1:32am

Like minecraft realisations! Great gameplay!

chiguireitor says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 3:47am

Nice bleepy sounds, made remember my atari 2600, a little bit angering getting back to the baginning just because you shot your arrow in a wrong direction. Still, great game.

uchiro says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 6:00am

I really liked game, interesting mechanics and level design.

chapachapa says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 6:01am

Great game for the theme!

Jedi says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 6:04pm

I like the look and feel of this game.

My biggest complaint is that the character moves too slowly.

Also, it took me a while to figure out what the graphics were trying to show me when I shot my arrow, at first it just looked like something naughty.

Overall: Nice job!

jfroco says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 12:47am

Excellent game. I really liked the mechanics. I made a similar game a couple of years ago.. but you shoot a ball.. I should have remembered that game instead of creating a new one.... but great game. Congrats.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]