December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Underbyte

by unusualcadence - Jam Entry

Have you ever wondered where characters end up when they fall down those bottomless pits in platformers? Well, now you can find out, in this shoot-em-up-lovely-jump-othon called Underbyte!

----

Arrow keys: Move!
Z/X: Jump and Shoot!
S/D: Jump and Shoot (for non QWERTY people)
P: Activate power-up... but use it wisely, for you only get one (groan).

----

Native Windows build has been added! It's in glorious fullscreen and if you ask me, feels loads better than the Flash version. Probably because it's spawning more particles with no slowdown!

Get it beellooowwwww

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#7Audio(Jam)4.21
#8Fun(Jam)4.08
#16Overall(Jam)4.02
#47Humor(Jam)3.59
#68Innovation(Jam)3.48
#70Mood(Jam)3.57
#139Graphics(Jam)3.79
#387Theme(Jam)2.39

Comments

travislucia says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:05am

Great game! Excited to see a fellow stencyl game! This game is like a mario cartridge thats been chewed on and never blown out! Great job!

Colorvade says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:32am

Solid gameplay and finely polished. The two glitch blocks exploding on collision was really interesting. The only thing holding it back for me were the really loose controls.

phi6 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:44pm

This is amazing! Love the glitchs, the art, music, sound, everything. One of my favs this LD

phi6 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:33pm

I've mentioned this in my top 6 games on LD28 so far:
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/12/17/my-top-six-ld28-games-so-far/

ResonantCraft says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:50pm

I love it ! The controls are slick and the gameplay is really solid here. Special mention to the soundtrack which is very well produced and rousing !

Cheers,
Nathan

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:03pm

Really good platforming here. I also love the sounds and feel of the gun!

GravityScore says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:04pm

Awesome!!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:10pm

Wow this was supafun! But bro, you definitely need a glitchhop soundtrack ;)

Senevri says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:15pm

Tight controls, lots of fun. Not sure how much it relates to the theme, though. only one life? One character model? :D

ob6160 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:29pm

I actually love this, the gun and the sound and the exploding blocks are amazing :D You should win :)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:35pm

@phi6: wow, thanks for the mention! :D

@Senevri: yeah it's a bit tenuous but... you get one invincibility power-up which you can use at will once it's unlocked. I really wish I'd found a better way to communicate it in-game but I totally messed up my original plans to put in more power-ups that You Only Get One of. Time limits, aah! (You also only get one life, one enemy type, one weapon, one love)

headchant says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:05pm

So juicy, it drips.

Strangelander says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:35pm

Fun, but lacked variety. Blowing stuff up felt good.

Coblynau says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:16pm

Great classic arcade style with a twist. :)

Dmitrix says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:02pm

Actually a pretty awesome platformer! :D

mortus says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:15pm

Amazingly fun! The exploding cubes mechanic is just perfect, a great find! It's just too bad sometimes they reset too soon.

Lipedal says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:31pm

Hahahah, great concept! The Underbyte, glitchburbia, where the fallen souls wander and try to keep the fun flowing. Weapon, deaths and explosions all provide great feedback. I had some trouble with the explosion cubes, sometimes they fall from a great height and won't explode what they were supposed to, sometimes it was hard to get them in the right place to shoot a way out. Apart from that, loved the quintuple jump and the upgraded gun :D Great job!

MrTedders says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:58pm

Excellent work! Your game is a very creative game in art, sound, design, just all around. Very well done.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:48pm

Amazing!
this game feels really good to play! the music is great too!

stvr says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:06am

Really great interpretation of the theme; I don't think I've seen a single-use invincibility yet! Burning Tiger (my son) says: "your game is amazing and I like the idea of invincibility."

igoramendola says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:51am

awesome!!! sooo intense! and very nice music :D

havana24 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:04am

Great old-style platformer! It's addicting!

nka says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:24am

Love it. Great controls and narrative. And I like how you utilized game mechanics to give that awesome retro super mario bros impression.

raarlac says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:12pm

Definitely the most original entry I played so far! Really good, everything

Raiyumi says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:07pm

Awesome game. :) Lovely sounds and gameplay.

GFM says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:01pm

Wooow. A game about bugs!
You got mean when I first saw those glitching tiles. xD That reminded me of the debug mode on Sonic The Hedgehog 2 (after you spawned thousand of things xD)

It's really fun and the music was great! I didn't got tired of it even after playing for a while!.
The graphics were pretty cool. And the glitching effect was amazing!

But I got stuck in one level... I'll probably come back to finish this game later.
Great job! =D

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:41am

This was hilarious! Really loved the graphics and music especially.

syawqy says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:54am

this is really fun...

tchem says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:24pm

Awesome, everything!!!!!

rnlf says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:38pm

Amazing game. The camera feels a bit to shaky to me, but all in all great. I like how the gun feels like POW block in Super Mario :D

JoeProgram says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:19pm

There's so many cool things here. I love the cannibalistic nature of the beings, all trying to steal each others bits despite being the same people. Getting the blocks to smash together was really satisfying too. I found it was a little too easy to push the blocks into a corner repeatedly - would have loved some move to get easily get them away from the wall.

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:54pm

Excellent game! It's fun. It's solid. The gameplay feels right. The theme is a bit forced... But still a great game! Good job!

kalth.streil says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:00am

Great game :)

The theme isn't really there much, but the rest is awesome. Love how the grass and the clouds share the sprite, just like in Mario XD

The glitch part is very unique and funny :)

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:19am

I really cool idea. Loved the mixture of themes and those glitched blocks looked awesome. Reminded me of the original super mario when it glitched in the NES. Solid entry even if the overall theme was a little week.

TeamFlare says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:07pm

Dont know how that relates to the theme, but wow this was fun..probably the LD game I played for the longest time this LD. Good action,plays very smooth :) Great music and visuals.

NightShadow0 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:13pm

This is awesome, the cube explosions are particularly satisfying.

Katamori says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:22am

I swear I couldn't even feel myself in a LD game!

moop says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:29pm

Great game, will probably end up playing again since I didn't have time to finish it.

bitslap_ says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:44am

A really cool take on the glitchness. Awesome art direction.

Jgpicatoste says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:12am

Innovative, addictive and well executed. Top 10 for sure, if not higher. Congratulations.

fluffypillow says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:52pm

One of the best entries, and one of the rare games that support non-QWERTY keyboards. Great work!

jsspiegel says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:37pm

One of the best games I've played so far! Love the glitch aesthetic, and the whole concept is so unique :)

nyrrrr says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:27am

all in all a close-to-perfect game :) good job!

Husky says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 6:19am

SO MUCH GLITCH lol.
I love this game, it's pretty fun.
Good job :D

Xavier says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 10:52am

Glitch, glitch, please, more glitch!!!!

Christian S. says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 8:44am

I really enjoyed this one. Great opening.

FrederickK says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 11:38pm

Great mechanics! Just think it doesn't fits the theme very well.
Other than that, the graphics, sound and gameplay are great!

Tom 7 says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 2:59am

This one was really fun! The physics and enemy behavior are not that tight, but the glitchfest made it make sense. I loved the music too. It was maybe a little too cruel to make your score persist between rooms, because I entered the last one with like 60 health, which made it extra hard. But I completed the game. :)

mcapraro says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 7:05am

really fun and fast and fluid!

patrickgh3 says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 7:05am

I love this game, it feels so magical exploring the secret underworld. Awesome glitch graphics and the exploding blocks fit in perfectly. The music was spot on too. I had to quit after a while because I kept getting swarmed by enemies and it felt unfair. But overall really great.

Xanjos says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 2:56pm

Amazing game. Absolutely loved the retro/glitchy visuals and the mechanics were just spot on.

mmickyman says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 4:04pm

That a great game, waoh. I want to play it with a controller during a insanely number of hours.

Just one thing : the scrolling feels weird when you go back and forth too fast.

anvoz says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 4:23pm

Really nice idea. I enjoyed this game so much. Some parts were hilarious. The sound was also really good.

Jishenaz says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 10:13pm

Very nostalgic! The music is fantastic. Is there anyway we can get it?

rincewind_cz says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 11:18pm

Nice shooting mechanics, but after few levels the fun was over for me.. :-) The actual game is good, mechanics too but I somehow prefer more puzzle than action based platformers. Good job.

Jan 5, 2014 @ 9:03am

Really nice game, well done.

Muciojad says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 4:52pm

Fantastic! I love audio and amazing mechanic, shot dynamic is really awesome! Veery nice!

Waynetron says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 4:42am

To tie it to the theme: I like to think that Mario only really has one life. But there are actually many clones that die and end up in the Underbyte. Tragic, really.

BluShine says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 5:51am

Awesome idea, solid gameplay, cool graphics, catchy music. Didn't really go with the theme very well, but no big deal!

Ditto says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 4:17pm

Love this to bits, really hard in places, and feels messed up all the time! Flawless execution!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]