December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Shot. One Kill.

by shatley123 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hello everybody who was kind enough to click on my game! This game is about being an elite sniper assassin. For each level you only have 1 bullet (and that is of course how I used the theme in this game). There are 6 different levels, each get harder as you go. You will need to start from the beginning if you miss. Have fun!

I used unity, blender, gimp, and Bfxr to make this.

This is only my second ludum dare, and i'm 15 so I have school to worry about, so it's not the best, but i'm proud of it. It's much nice, well put together game then what I did last time. I love to here what people think of my games, so good or bad please leave what you think in the comments.

Update: Fixed mac and linux builds.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#141Theme3.55
#507Fun2.85
#570Overall2.93
#692Graphics2.55
#707Humor1.79
#715Audio1.81
#804Mood2.29
#841Innovation2.30

Comments

MrBlade says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:02am

Awesome game! Really cute graphics, top UI, and overall a lot of fun! Really love the 'bad guy' model with the little eyes. I am really glad you added some sounds. Shadows are nice, as are the blood(?) particles that come off of the guy once you shoot him. I feel like the bullet counter is a bit of a waste, but eh, leaves room for DLC! Haha! Keep it up!

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:42am

I think you did a nice job I like the theme you followed and you made something worth while.

jmcrafty says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:57am

Liked it!
Wish you didn't have to start over from the beginning if you miss however.

GameRespect says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:09am

Pretty impressive for a 48hour endevour with the ever-present mood killer that is school present :) Alittle odd that you aim with WASD and fire with the mouse though but thats a little nitpicky. Good job mate, keep doing good :D

ossah says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:00am

Cool game. Liked the graphics. Nice and cute. Love the sniper type games.
One criticism would be that having 'space' or a key closer to WASD to advance would have been nice.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:32am

I like it, but there just isn't enough there.

louis.denizet says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:27am

Really nice ^^
Concept is great and really good realisation! =)

Darkcoder says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:16pm

Cool concept, it's strangely addictive.

noethis says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:05pm

The choice of WASD for aiming was interesting. Didn't like having to start over from the beginning if I failed.

Mnemusyne says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:36pm

It's interesting, but I wish you could control it with the mosue.

petermd says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:12pm

nice game. i don't mind WSAD or being forced to restart from beginning but what happens at the level with two targets who dont cross over?

Snail_Man says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:27pm

Nice game, but WASD + Mouse + Enter wasn't a happy combo. Why not just make click advance to the next level?
Anyway, it was fun other than that.

bugninja says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:12pm

It's OK, works well with the theme. Since I had to aim with the keyboard and shoot with the mouse, then press Enter when I lost, the controls seemed a little off. Would think everything could be either on the keyboard or mouse.

IHateATMFees says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:55pm

Nice job! The starting from the beginning was frustrating, as I never got pass the car level. Keep making games!

tatelax says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:55pm

Love the concept! Wish I didn't have to restart everything though when I lost.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:02pm

Haha strangely addictive! Like it! ^^

stenol says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Awesome but should be better with all mouse control. :)

Ted Brown says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:28pm

Pretty straightforward. Mixing and matching keyboard and mouse controls was a bit odd... felt like it should have been WASD and Enter or mouse control and click.

isaacmarco says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:10pm

a little slow to play, but it's a good game idea

MarGolith says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:04pm

Good idea, you just went from nice and easy to irritating a little too fast. I like to ease in to my frustration.

Donutttt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:42pm

I really liked this - especially the way it was 3d with a 2d scroll. Good fun and well made - well done!

Croze says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:07pm

Didn't like that you have to restart, and I think you should make moving the scope with the mouse. Other than that pretty great job

Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:42pm

Really nice looking game, very addictive. I like it. I included it in my Ludum Dare 28 video compilation series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/sSLhI-W0qCg

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:52am

Nice graphics, fun game, good use of the theme.

ZXeno says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:17am

This was pretty good. Enjoyed 4th and final levels. Good job!

SnoringFrog says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:47am

I like it; I failed a surprising number of times on the first two levels lol. Looking at this, I feel like I could replicate it from scratch in Unity, which is good for me because I need to make something in Unity without just following a tutorial step by step but never could think of anything.

Felt a bit short, but this is LD, so I tend to expect that. It's also partly because I got lucky on the last couple levels and got them both on my first try lol. Nice sound effects as well, it's surprising how much something that simple adds to a game.

Kvisle says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:22pm

Hi! The Linux version is the Windows version.

Would it be possible to put the Linux export out there somewhere?

shatley123 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Thank you everybody for playing! It seems the majority of people's criticisms are the controls, which totally makes sense. The reason I didn't make it all with the mouse, was because i'm not 100% sure how i would go about doing that, lol. I probably should have just stuck with all keyboard then. The reason I made you start from the beginning when you lost is because I thought it was to easy, I guess I should have expected if you didn't spend a total of hours play testing it, it would probably be a decent amount harder. And @Kvisle, unity only has one export for windows, mac, and linux, so it should technically work for linux just fine, but that is untested. I honestly never would have expected this much people to play, my last LD had 5 comments. lol, I almost jumped out of my sit when I saw how many comments were on this page.

shatley123 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:54pm

oh yeah, and @petermd, you need to shoot the string on the boxes to drop it on them to win that level.

Hunt_Dialga says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:44pm

Nice game overall, I had a feeling there would be a couple of sniper games during this Ludum Dare.

Kvisle says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:31pm

I don't know Unity at all, but I know that when I download other Unity games - they come with a Linux-specific version that has a Linux binary (well, it's a mono program in the end). The version I downloaded here does not.

So, I'm on a little thin ice here - but I don't think it's true that Unity exports one version that covers all platforms -- because all the other Linux versions of Unity apps I've downloaded have had Linux specific binaries in it - and no Windows stuff.

shatley123 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:39pm

turns out there is a tiny drop down menu there to switch it. Mac and Linux download should work now :)

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:17am

Woah.Im feel how Kennedy killer. Nice game!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]