December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Triceratops

by Jacques_le_lezard - Jam Entry

Triceratops, a poetic dinosaur quest.
You only get one life so try to survive until the end
(small trick : keep "space" pressed when attacking)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#134Audio(Jam)3.33
#143Mood(Jam)3.29
#165Humor(Jam)2.81
#181Graphics(Jam)3.55
#353Overall(Jam)2.90
#419Theme(Jam)2.31
#420Fun(Jam)2.45
#467Innovation(Jam)2.26
#1083Coolness46%

Comments

LatFoued says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:43pm

A very mysterious mood, simple gameplay and nice music. Good work.

ehtd says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:13am

It is not superman, its the triceratops! Good job!

Tyu says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:46am

ℐ ♭εℓїℯ♥ε ℑ ḉαᾔ ḟł¥

daredevildave says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:24pm

Great style! Triceratops can almost fly...

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:01pm

Oh God, I laughed so hard after reading the line in the sky.. .hahahaha!!! xD
Really a nice work. Well done!

torcado194 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:03pm

haha, funny. pretty too. good job :D

ferrzo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:59am

It looks interesting, but i had problem with jumping over obstacles. After reading comments I tried to fly :)

Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:06am

Reversed Limbo graphics! I must say I liked this style better, good job on style! Gameplay is a little bit repetitive but forgiven for the style. Well done.

Diptoman says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:45am

This had a great mood going, but going back was almost impossible. And yeah, I flew over all the raptors xD
Get a bit repetitive and tedious later on. Great aesthetics, though. It could have been amazing with more features, but 3 day jam, so it's ok.

madflame991 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:32am

The world is ending but my triceratops couldn't care less - he's off flying to the stars! Your game has a nice eerie mood about it and the graphics are suitable.

lotusgame says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:02pm

I really like graphics. Your aerial sentence made me laugh. I though it was a glitch to fly so high ^^ Good start !

Monoquartz says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:53pm

Nice game, pretty good music and graphics BUT there is a little problem: when you spam the jump key, you can fly !

goerp says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:07pm

amazing what a piece of music can do. It made the quest very melancholic.

The silhouet graphics work very well.
I'm not sure about using a physics engine for this type of platformer, but for the time you had, I may have been the right choice (I had a lot of trouble with my custom made platformer engine)

Antylum says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:38pm

Beatiful art and charming music! Thank you for creating this game!)

Toureiro says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:15pm

Great look and music choice. Also loved that you embraced not having a "check if grounded" condition to jump properly (I made a similar thing, but yours is better).

But the legs, man. The legs freak me out! xD

Haha. Apart from that, cool entry.

moop says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:29pm

Great atmosphere thanks to the music and graphics. Couldn't get past a few bits without cheating and flying however, and the attacks felt too slow so a small timing error could get you killed while waiting for the next attack.

caranha says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:24pm

I really liked your choice of graphics! The white outlines made a nice effect, just take a little more care to avoid floating objects.

The controls were iffy - I tried to beat the first raptor three times, and three times I failed. It is not very clear when the horn actually hits - maybe a sound signal, or making the hit window bigger, would help?

Thanks for the game, fellow dinosaur lover!

Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:43pm

Thanks for theses comments! A small trick than can help you : just keep space pressed when a dinosaure try to eat you, the head's collider is bigger than the head but require you keep space pressed during the attack ;)

Jgpicatoste says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:27pm

Moodwise, it's one of the best. Graphics and audio aren't that great on their own, but combined they create something mystical. Good one.

local minimum says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:24pm

I was about to complain about the controls and some climbs being too steep until I noticed... very good.

Keith Evans says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:02pm

Very nice mood, love your color choices.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Beautiful music! Being a flying triceratops made my day. :D

ezolotko says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 7:30am

Some serious mood here

sandbaydev says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Liked gfx a lot. Nice details and animations. Bit repetitive gameplay... but cool work still.

First time flying a triceratops. :)

rezoner says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 8:38am

Oh bugger, doesn't want to work under WINE. Looks like a reverse Limbo with triceratops. Totally alluring.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]