December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Where are you, Santa Claus ?

by yoanndeplo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hello ! This is my first LD and I hope that you will enjoy my game : "Where are you, Santa Claus ?" I used RPG maker VX ace. If you see a bug or a mistake, report it and I will fix it.

Enjoy !

After a few comments, I realize that I should enter the Jam instead of the competition, I apologize.

Yoanndeplo

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#294Humor2.77
#438Audio2.64
#569Graphics2.79
#602Mood2.62
#683Theme2.55
#750Fun2.48
#795Overall2.63
#931Innovation2.07

Comments

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:37pm

Okay, I REALLY want to play this game. But I am not going to download a 190 MB file from a suspicous site. So I can't rate.

yoanndeplo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:05pm

Why do you think that the site is suspicious ? It's just a free files host.

john_conder9 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:52am

Will there be an english port anytime soon? It looks cool.

yoanndeplo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:04pm

Yes, I'm translating the game into english, it will be available this week.

yoanndeplo says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:24pm

Translation finished !!!

BeardoGames says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:04pm

Quite funny, and a surprising mashup of Christmas and RPG themes! The graphics are well done and the dialog is pretty hilarious! Great work!

yoanndeplo says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:23am

Thanks ! :)

occash says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:43am

I also whould like to play.. but can't download(

yoanndeplo says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:02pm

Why can't you download ?

dray says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:12pm

downloading the game right now. I think that a dropbox or google drive link should be easier and look safer for a lot of people.

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:26pm

That face!!! Sorry, cant download

dray says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:21pm

Nice one ! the game is a bit long for all the games i have to test but i make it to the end, without the easter egg sadly. Very entertaining game :)

yoanndeplo says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:57pm

I visited the host on an other PC, without adblock, and now I know what you were talking about :).
I will change the host.

GaTechGrad says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:46pm

Would be nice to see a time-lapse of the game and all of the assets being created in 48 hours.

Bw2801 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:32pm

I had the same idea: You only get one present for christmas :D
Fun game :)

yoanndeplo says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:49pm

I've changed the host, now it's google drive, thanks dray !

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:05pm

Nicely themed.

yoanndeplo says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:42pm

Thanks, your game is nicely themed too.

BrothersT says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:23pm

Hey yoanndeplo, if you want to use pre-made content for your game, you should enter the Jam, which has less strict rules. Other than that, a well constructed RPG! We had fun playing.

jarnik says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:04pm

At start, I was a bit suspicious about all the content that didn't look like it was made during the jam, but then I guessed you've used some of the JRPG editors and I thought, what the heck, why not, it's perfect tool for the first entry.
It's actually a nice little game, I had fund and managed to find Santa eventually :)
In English version, the yes/no choice actually gave me "oui/non" options, so I guess it might have been the typo from the french version.
Congrats on your first LD entry!

tobbez says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:34am

Kind of hard to rate this game since it is probably in the wrong category. Will leave graphic and audio as na. I did not manage to find the easter egg. Game was interesting but a bit lacking in gameplay the few unexpected deaths that was put in felt out of place. Good first game.

yoanndeplo says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:50am

I used RPG maker VX ace, wich was a middleware and there was the rule 4 : "All publicly available libraries and middleware are allowed." So I thought that I could enter the competition.

But now I realize, that I was wrong and I should enter the Jam. Sorry.

Jarnik : I've seen the error and fix it. At the moment, I'm uploading the corrected version. Thank you for report it.

lorniebear says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Quite like it... Nice graphics. I played it in French first and then in English, and it made me think about how the grammar in the two languages are so different!

Orangy Tang says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 11:31pm

Any chance of an OSX version?

local minimum says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 3:45pm

I didn't really get the hang of the game, but I managed to become Game Over at that woman's place answering questions. Nice effort for 48h, but I think the game needs to show a little more clearly how you are going to sort things out with Santa before exposing the player to large risks (such as "death").

yoanndeplo says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 7:18pm

Sorry, orangy but there won't be a OSX version.

psc1997 says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 3:58pm

RPGMaker? Good for first entry! Congratulations ^^
I like idea and gameplay. Soundtrack is nice too :)
But... next time enter to JAM if You're use RPG default assets, or someone else content ;)

Blinked says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 6:59pm

Holy damn that was well made, excellent job! 5/5

Blinked says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 7:00pm

Ah, after reading the comments it looks like you used RPG maker for this. Still, excellent job on your first entry, but next time submit in Jam.

yoanndeplo says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 5:41pm

Yes, I know that I should submit in the jam.

noobsticks says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 9:44pm

This game was great! I really enjoyed the humor. Totally got the easter egg. :)

Also, for Linux gamers: the unzip mangles the name of "Graphics/Titles1/Papa noël.png". If you rename it to have the ë in it, then wine will run this game just fine. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]