December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Fat the police

by Zekyon - Jam Entry

IMPORTANT: We recommend see the "Controls Guide" above before first playing

The police station of this city is a bit special, like all police squad worthy of the name there is one man that is fatty, huge, immense..., and in this case he can be rolled!. These cops have known how to take advantage of this "problem" into the team.

In order to win the game you have to catch the thief.
For do it you must place the cops on the board and push to the chubby man with they to its goal.

We have three cops to place on any section of the board. They can aim to the eight directions. For have control of the strength of the push, we have three bars of power that will determinate how many sections will be moved the chubby.

Controls
--------
Left click -> Almost all
Space -> Continue to next menu

Game Made by Asleep Games
-------------------------
Zekyon -> Programmer
Rageshow -> Pixel artist

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#47Humor(Jam)3.59
#49Innovation(Jam)3.61
#100Graphics(Jam)4.00
#126Audio(Jam)3.35
#153Overall(Jam)3.36
#201Fun(Jam)3.05
#213Mood(Jam)3.04
#376Theme(Jam)2.44

Comments

BradleySmith says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:56pm

Such beautiful pixel art.

oxysoft says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:58pm

Very nice graphics, audio, humor and theme interpretation, but the game isn't very playable. I couldn't even get past the first level

Rageshow says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:03pm

@oxysoft if you want you can!! :D

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:08pm

Cute game, An nice job on the tunes they were great.

Gas says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:19pm

nice game! really fun to play!! need votes on my game aswell: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-28/?action=preview&uid=20784

ratboy2713 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:29pm

I played the web version and I couldn't hear any audio. Windows 7 firefox. Anyway, loved the art and the gameplay was nice if a little difficult to control.

Waynetron says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:01am

Nice pixel art and the music is fitting.
But damn, that interface and those controls are just so hard to use. I gave up before completing the first level. Took me so song to figure out how to even roll the policeman.

Zekyon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:11am

ratboy2713: Yeah, the web version is a bit bugged about the sound, however, in google chrome it work good.

Waynetron: I added one gif to the post that can be used as a guide for the basic control, we thought the in-game tutorial would be enough, sorry for the inconvenience!

chamberlainpi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:32am

Great job on the pixel art. The HUD though is frustrating. It would be better if they stayed visible all the time, or at least bind keyboard shortcuts. Or a way to move the keep the policemen in place after trying a failed roll, and allowing to move them around. Other than that, nice level design too!

Flux says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:34am

Amazing graphics and audio! And the concept is pretty good too but it really is very hard to play. It's frustrating to have to keep restarting until you figure out the puzzle, spending many clicks to tweak one variable. I would have liked to just be able to move the policemen instead of restarting. That said I did beat a few levels. Could see this becoming a full game easily!

lucasmaismais says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:43am

this game has nice graphics and audio, but is unplayable, would really like to play it after some edits, though.

Pixelulsar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:52am

Nice music and looks great. A bit confusing at first.

Bactopiad says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:23am

The controls and gameplay were pretty hard to grasp, which is a real shame, since the game looks very nice and sounds even nicer. Despite this, I think the mechanic was pretty neat.

Mutt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:26am

Amazing graphics and music and general presentation. But as others have said, the interface is basically broken, which is sad because the look and feel really made we want to keep playing. And the idea is actually really solid, kind of a different take on chu chu rocket's gameplay. Keep working on it, seriously. The game has a lot of potential.

kbake says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:40am

I enjoyed the graphics and audio a lot, and your use of the theme was funny! It took me a little while to understand what to do, but your gif helped a lot. I got to the third level but it stumped me!

Sanguine says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:28pm

Great mood, but it just needs a bit more polish, like a more useful restart button and the like.

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:11pm

Very hard and addicting game, I love thinking with these kind of games, good work!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:33pm

It took a while for me until i knew how it worked, but i really like the idea. The graphics are also very nice.

aneeslol says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:44am

Great gameplay, graphics, audio, amazing game all around!

pele says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:51am

This is just awesome!

Dr. Mo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:54am

Given some time to iron out the interface issues, this could be cool. This would totally make a good mobile game.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:17am

So much epic. I like the concept, when you play the first time, dont understand, but when you know how to play, its so much fun. I like the animations and the gameplay Good job guys :D

glovecat says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:50am

Great work! It makes me think a lot. Very nice graphics ;)

glovecat says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:53am

Nice music and visual art. The gameplay its tricky but once you get the mechanic the concept it is very well done. I enjoyed it a lot.

vrld says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:57am

Positive: Original concept and very nice graphics and sounds.
Negative: Non-intuitive controls (putting the control-guide in-game would have helped) and apparently no way to restart a level.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:59am

Very niceart, but maybe you need to make to controls better or make a tutorial on how to play.

supremefist says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:59am

Graphics and music are amazing! Concept is also really good and humorous! Excellent work! Mechanic is really difficult, though. Couldn't finish the first level due to the difficult interface.

veiadoida says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:36pm

i really like it. and the art is really good. well done!

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:41am

I wanted to love this so much but it just doesn't work correctly. :(
Charging my shot sometimes resulted in moving 3 spaces, sometimes 1. I reloaded and tried several times and got the same inconsistent results.

Lovely concept and awesome art, though. Nice take on the theme. I just wish it worked as intended because I really wanted to play it.

Zekyon says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:45am

-SonnyBone: When the bar stays charged for a while it reload again since the start, maybe that is your problem.
I recommend charge the bar that you wanna use only to the middle.

mamoniem says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:04am

LOVED IT !
I was hoping to hear some cool music. But the game idea looks unique for me. And I meant to not check the "Controls Guide", to see how easy I can get the idea. And I found it in couple of tries. Good luck !

Erik Örjehag says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:05am

Such a good looking game and awesome idea! The music was nice to! But the gameplay was nothing but frustrating for me. The game would have been 10x better if the HUD wasn't so clunky and if you could reset the fat guy without removing all the other police men. It was also a pain to reset everything if you just wanted to move a single police man. Clearer instructions would have been nice too.

grifdail says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:41am

One of the best game i tested so far. It's would be awesome if instead of restarting the whole level, we could just restart the "deplacement" part.

Und[0]ne Devs says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:54pm

Good game! The controls are a bit confusing, but nice work!

agmcleod says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Took me a little to figure out, but I love the concept. I think it needs a bit better dictation on how the power bars effect the cop. Maybe make tutorial levels that are skippable over using an instruction gif. really solid game though. Not sure how it fits the theme i must admit.

Jgpicatoste says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:33pm

Graphics, mechanics and sound were really innovative. A great game!

rnlf says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:06am

Very beautiful graphics! Needs a bit polishing (cops should stay on the board after a failure so that the player may move them around instead of placing them all over again) and debugging (sometimes z-fighting between border of roof and cops), but very unique idea.

Dec 26, 2013 @ 1:54pm

Really innovative concept, great job!

01101101 says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 7:14pm

Quite a fun game, and nice visuals! Too bad we can't restart without removing all the cops, would be nice to be able to retry faster. Good job anyway!

somepx says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 9:07pm

Perfect and fun pixel art, complex (but rewarding) gameplay - is there an 'Undo' button or something? :D

greytram says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 9:37pm

Nice game but hard to play. The web version doesn't work very well and I couldn't figure out what to do when the round guy rolled away from the policemen...

Jan 5, 2014 @ 6:06am

Nice idea and pixel art but hard to play

lowcade says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 2:29pm

I love it! Nice graphics, sounds and a diferent gameplay!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]