December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You Only Get Juan

by barrucadu - Jam Entry

Time travelling platform shooter, where you must go back in time to help your past selves.

Controls:
W / up - jump
A / D / left / right - move
space - shoot

Developed and tested against love2d 0.8.0 and 0.9.0.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#282Humor(Jam)2.30
#342Innovation(Jam)2.66
#364Graphics(Jam)2.84
#415Fun(Jam)2.47
#415Mood(Jam)2.46
#417Audio(Jam)2.15
#419Theme(Jam)2.31
#463Overall(Jam)2.53

Comments

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:01am

Strange but addictive I wanted to see what would happen the more I tryed it was difficult but playable.

osthekake says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:01am

It looks pretty cool, but I need to have love2d to run it? (whatever that is) Some instructions for how to run it would be appreciated.

icedmetal57 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:02am

Got an error. Missing "MSVCR110.dll" from my computer. Had to download a redist to get it. Might want to include that, or something of that sort.

icedmetal57 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:07am

Not sure what was going on, but it seemed to speed up on occasion.

kbake says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:17am

Interesting idea, though in some ways it was a little frustrating constantly getting set back; I think I would've preferred it if, instead of X seconds passing and me getting set back, I only get set back on death. But you may have tried that and liked the current way better, regardless it was well made!

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:54am

Fun game, but took me a while to figure out what was going on. I loved the idea thou

GravityScore says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:55am

Well made. Interesting art.

crockid5 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:55am

There is way too much going on, not obvious what to do

Anton_D says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:28am

I took a while until I figured out what to do and I got somewhere. It was pretty hard to play through with constantly getting set back. Overal great idea and pretty fun, but it needs some more balance.

TobiasNL says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:35am

Pretty nice mechanic!

TheCze says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:38am

The game looks like as if it's running too fast on my pc.
Also - I wasn't really sure what to do other then to run to the right.
The name is definetely gold though!

Edd Morgan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:30am

Nice graphics, takes a bit of time to work out what the hell is going on. Kinda fun though

Thingus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:45am

Found it pretty good fun; with a bit of polish, this could be something special.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:13pm

I could not run it on my computer :/

MarekkPie says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Interesting concept. I get some massive slow down the later the game goes. I'm guessing you don't clean up the bullets efficiently enough.

barrucadu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:51pm

- Updated game to include sound and be more balanced -

Nisshoku says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:24pm

Cool mechanic and I'm impressed you got it to work. I was a bit confused at the start, I thought the sudden jumps were caused by a bug, so I think next time you should focus more on explanation or more audiovisual cues for the time jumps.

chamberlainpi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:32pm

Ran really aweful on my system, not sure if it's platform specific. Running on Windows 7 here.

mtrc says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:13am

Very very hard. Love the idea and looked cool, but could barely get past the first screen! :)

ocathalain says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:05pm

Interesting and unusual concept! Very difficult though. I constantly felt like I didn't have anywhere near enough time before time travelling(?)

tigerrenko says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:21pm

Dont really get it

tobbez says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:43pm

The warpback mechanic was never really used for anything and only felt odd and misplaced. Remembering where you were 5 seconds ago so that you can avoid shots is not really easy especially for a mechanic that doesn't add anything. The 3 levels seemed nice but constantly being chased by an army of enemies made it hard to really experience them. The shooting sound quickly got quite annoying.

I like the graphic but the main mechanic is somewhat misplaced.

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 2:52pm

Nice concept, pretty confusing at first but part of the fun was figuring out what was going on! I think a little more variety in the sound effects would have helped as it started to sound a little repetitive. Original.

SnoringFrog says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 9:26am

Never could get past level two, but it was an interesting game. It was weird trying to figure out how it worked, but even after I understood it I still didn't do very well haha. Loved the design of Juan.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]