December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dive

by ismyhc - Jam Entry

I worked alone.
Created everything except a handful of sound effects and the font.

The game is called Dive. You have only one breath. To stay alive you must collect bubbles that rise from the bottom. You kill fish and jellyfish for a high score.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#109Audio(Jam)3.40
#121Mood(Jam)3.37
#130Overall(Jam)3.41
#141Fun(Jam)3.23
#160Theme(Jam)3.13
#214Graphics(Jam)3.41
#361Innovation(Jam)2.62
#1305Coolness39%

Comments

yapshuter63 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:22am

Fun! Easy to play and addictive :P

glovecat says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:23am

Fun, simple and addictive. I like this kind of endless games.

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:37pm

Very very fun, I love that retro style.

stenol says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:38pm

Addictive game. Good work !

meek says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:41pm

Lovely ambiance to this game. The music and sound effects are perfect. I love the old school HUD at the top of the screen. The timing between bubbles appearing is nicely timed as it doesn't allow you to regain the breath easily

Pickle says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:46pm

Reminds me of an old NES game. Anyway, excellent job.

Shaun Lebron says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:10pm

I like the title screen framing. Fun game. Great music.

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:20pm

Simple and fun, very well done! You may want to tone the ending score sound down a bit though.

robhor says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:52am

Very fun! Very well done.

Glitched out for me after the first restart, I could only see some background bubles.

Also loved the title screen.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:29am

Pretty cool game, it reminds me of "Jaws" for the NES.

Tomski says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:53pm

I cant see anything when I try to play :( I only see bubbles, anyway to fix this?

CarbonCoder says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:54pm

Nice graphics! Cool style!

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:54pm

poor dude. when does he get to eat the fishies?! nice game. :-)

_zulli says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Fun and addictive! I like the arcade style! :) Good job :DD

ismyhc says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:50am

Thanks everyone for the feedback! ;) @Tomski, I'm not sure what the problem is… What browser are you using? Maybe try restarting?

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:01pm

Simple and clean. Very nice.

greytram says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 12:11pm

Loved the retro style for graphics and sounds!
Controls are a bit difficult because i'm using an AZERTY keyboard: alternate controls with arrows/ZQSD would be great.
Well done!

steamgirl says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 3:33pm

Hehe, we had similar ideas! I participated in the #nokill subtheme so no killing in mine. ;)

Simple but effective - like the animation a lot. Wish I could restart into the game quicker after running out of breath though. On the upside the intro is really nicely done. Good job!

PS. Sound didn't work for me for some reason so I've left that unrated.

ismyhc says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 3:07am

@steamgirl Im not sure why the sound wasn't working. That really sucks because the music really goes along with the game! Ive created an OS X and Windows build if you'd like to try one of those. Thanks again and Ill go try your game out now ;)

StMatn says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 5:23pm

Nice game!
You could have made the penalty for touchting seacreatures more unforgiving (e.g. 3 lives). The music is quite cool!
All in all great work :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]