December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Captain Younkin's Quest

by ZYXer - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Pirates have repeatedly raided Port Cecilia. We need your help to fight the pirates.

You only get one ship to fight the pirates.

INSTRUCTIONS
Your task is to destroy the five pirate ports and all pirate ships.
You can upgrade your ship when you are near Port Cecilia.
Your ship will automatically be repaired when you are near Port Cecilia.

CONTROLS
WASD or arrow keys: Move ship
Mouse: Aim and fire cannon
Space: Upgrade ship (only if you are near Port Cecilia)

NOTE
I wasn't able to complete all graphics before the deadline. I am currently working on a post compo version.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#56Fun3.69
#121Overall3.59
#208Mood3.25
#335Graphics3.24
#493Innovation2.93
#528Humor2.17
#670Theme2.57

Comments

kunzbe says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:00am

I want more enemies! :)

Karlux says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:16am

Fun pirat game. Clear elegant design.

Lazdo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:53am

Really liked this game! Probably the best I have played so far. Became easier as the game went on, which i think should be reversed however. I really liked the style but it linked loosely to the theme.

bttf says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:01pm

Cool game, probably needs a little more work but nice idea and great execution so far. I am really interested in this game since it was implemented with Javascript/HTML/Canvas ... I implemented my submission the same way. Great to see other Canvas games. Definitely will be taking a look at the code! Nice job :]

Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:03pm

Game was rough to start, and damn those pirate invasions at your home base. The upgrade system was cool though.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:19pm

Fun to play maybe a little too easy, lacks something though. Secrets hidden in islands, maybe add wind system to limit the boat's movements. But it's great, i like the minimap and upgrades.

ludotrix says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:36pm

Quite fun but needs more things to do.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Indeed, our game is quite similar to yours! It seems you did the planning better than we though and in 48 hours :O, we also intended to have a minimap, harbors and upgrades but we spent too much time debugging javascript - still rookies at that...

enosshenk says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:30am

Fun! It seems like it could have benefited from wind or some other factor to manage. But it works well.

NightShadow0 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:10pm

This is pretty fun! You get the upgrades very easily though, then it's all smooth sailing (...sorry). Maybe upgrade the pirate ships after every port destroyed as well?

Azzar says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:03pm

I love this type of games. And making something like that in 48 hours is a great achievements. The concept of being torn between defending your home and launching attacks is really appealing. With some difficulty and variety added this has a potential to become a great game.

olafsworld98 says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 12:30pm

I liked that game, it was..... fun

x70x says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 4:23pm

Mechanics were pretty solid, but I agree with the other comments about difficulty. I died the first time I set out to attack another group of pirates, but after upgrading it wasn't as bad.

Pyro says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 5:24pm

I really like your game. Too bad it's unfinished. I would really like to play it with all graphics and audio.

Jan 2, 2014 @ 5:31pm

Nice work! Lovely minimap. I really wanted some sound effects for those cannons, though. =)

The cannonball velocity wasn't cumulative with the ship's velocity, which made aiming in the direction of travel a little strange, but probably easier overall. Upgrading before setting sail for the first time appears to be super important; I got whacked my first time out.

I never figured out what the spies did; maybe notifying you of an attack before the ships were actually close enough to fire on the port?

-mildmojo

Christian S. says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 1:36pm

Solid design with nice little details (like the trail the ship leaves in the water). Well done!
(Ond en Schwiizer, das freut mi natürlich auch, hehe.)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]