December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

PLANET HEALTH

by kunzbe - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hi there everywhere,

This is my take on "you only get one",
hm, one ... ONE planet, thats your reality.

So defend a planet, THE planet...
Our planet in the future, where only trees
and crazy tree burning people have survived.

Hurry up, the crazy ones are after the trees.
Save the planet from over heating.

You are the planet.

Controls
===========
- arrow keys: move and run over destroyers
- TIP: if you feel disoriented look at the stars

Features
===========
- 'realistic' planetary feeling, space time
- procedural sounds, once again
- 7 different death sounds, home recorded with cans and similar
- explosions, fire and blood
- 4 lowpoly 3D-models
- And, ONE level! you only get one, hehe

Requirments
===========
- For the sounds you should have flash installed, the rest should work
- Browser should support webgl
- Browser recommendations: Chrome and Firefox , not too old

I hope you have fun and I'm looking forward for your feedback on
my first 3D spherical game

Happy voting, everyone! :)
Mr.BK

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#597Humor2.00
#648Innovation2.67
#683Audio2.00
#728Theme2.46
#750Mood2.39
#789Graphics2.30
#948Fun2.00
#969Overall2.19

Comments

Piat says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:01am

Interesting graphics style, game play was kind of over before I knew what was going on. Audio wasn't working unfortunately

jillytot says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:02am

I'm not sure what just happened..

Kettlecorn says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:03am

Nice use of three.js. It was a bit tough to figure out how to control things, and I couldn't seem to keep the planet alive. Are the planets procedural?, if so that's pretty cool.

kunzbe says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:15am

@Kettlecorn: Some parts are procedural. E.g. for the "wavy" terrain (when the planet is near the point of death) I dynamically change the geometry of the terrain.
Also whole sphere is done with a vertex shader, so I can adjust e.g. the height scaling as I wish. :)

kunzbe says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:17am

@piat: try it in chrome ;)

capnramses says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:43pm

nice concept! it took me a while to figure out which direction i was going in - maybe the player mesh could have been an arrow shape or something? there were a few graphical glitches/odd perspectives but i think it is a nice concept, and i really liked the procedural changes. it worked really well in my browser. well done!

ZYXer says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:31pm

I wonder how you created the human squashing sound... ;)

kunzbe says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:39am

@ZYXer: beer

Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:25am

The control works well but the game seems a little buggy. Sometimes I start and the stars are overlayed with a big white box. It was completely silent. I was able to move around but I have a feeling that the game makes more sense with sound.

zzzev says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:32am

Cool stuff, I particularly like the idea of navigating by the stars, though I can't say I got familiar enough with the constellations to do it. Is there a way to not die? Fun just to spin around the globe and smush guys anyways.

Audio also didn't work for me, and I'm using Chrome.

Hypnohustla says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:19pm

Such a weird game! :D Had fun running over the destroyers. The graphics were a bit glitchy but I didn't let that bother me :)

daredevildave says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Interesting. Very strange. Not sure I quite knew what was going on.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:54pm

Took me a wee while to work out what was going on but had fun once I realised what was what. :D

Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:36pm

I tried a few times, but I honestly have no idea what was going on and what I was supposed to be doing.

SimianLogic says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 5:20am

I found it very very hard to get a sense of how many enemies are on the planet... moving is quite awkward with no discernible "front" of the ship. Would also love to have start button instead of having to refresh the page and just jump right in.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]