December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Red and Gold

by Christina Nordlander - Jam Entry

A raising sim in Twine where you are an incorporeal alien possessing a human. You need to train up your human Casing to the point where it can defeat the opposing faction's champion in a battle.

Source code is available.

I apologise for the unpolished state of this entry: even with the extra day for the Jam, I had to dummy out a bunch of variables (for example, I was planning to implement a money and food system), and the theme of "you only get one" would have been more prominent. Still, the entry as it stands is fully winnable (and losable).

Some tips for successful human management:

-Don't work your human into the ground. Not only does that impact the human's health, but its suspicion that it is being controlled will also rise.
-Running is kind of poor for levelling up the Toughness stat. However, other options are available.

Inspirations: "Bloody Princess Farmer" by Porpentine; "Horse Master" by Tom McHenry.

EDIT: Note that the list of options may sometimes extend past the bottom of the screen. If anything seems to be missing, just scroll down.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#166Innovation(Jam)3.16
#188Theme(Jam)3.05
#267Mood(Jam)2.88
#353Humor(Jam)2.04
#426Overall(Jam)2.69
#467Fun(Jam)2.26
#476Audio(Jam)1.35
#542Graphics(Jam)1.42

Comments

Vi-King Games says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:19am

So far, this is the most original way to use the theme I've seen. Good job!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:19pm

Nice use of the theme! I liked the tension in reading books, and the time management in going to town to expand the options. Nice work all around!

Aaants says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Interesting approach. I tried to make him super smart but, unfortunately, the smart kid tends to lose the playground fights :(

Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:32pm

Great use of the theme. Really do enjoy this kind of game (Porpentine's work in particular is fantastic), this is great work within the 48 hours

Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:27pm

impressive, and vaguely disturbing, the way i wouldn't let my human get intelligent enough to see how i used it.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:04pm

I love the imagination that has gone into this, such an original idea

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:14pm

Good Job.. Nice entry, that works fine with Twine!

MrTedders says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:24pm

Wow innovative stuff here. Really well done

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:25pm

Awesome game

tobbez says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:40pm

Liked the buildup although it was much too slow to replay. The text got repetitive quickly and there were many unneccessary clicks that could have been removed in the training process.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:43pm

@tobbez: Yeah, when I played through it for troubleshooting I realised it was very click-heavy.

Thank you very much for your comments, all of you!

postmodestie says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:08pm

As for a LD entry, it would have indeed benefited from less repetitiveness, as stated before..

NikinCZ says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:23pm

Not much fun, it's repeatedly clicking. Like a classic text-adventure.

Gungnir says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:01am

Enjoyed the build up and the conclusion. Wish there were more branching opportunities during training, possibly the case - but perhaps I missed the opportunity. Like the concept, point of view and general language.

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:23am

As Christina gave my entry (also Twine) a lot of feedback.

I went back and wanted to pay her entry the same respect:

The first time I played it I gave it a shot - I liked the style and the build-up.

After a while, when playing it again, I, as many other comments state, see that it's real repetitive. The main concept of controling a unaware human is interesting, and could be something good.

But eventually the constant clicking gets tedious.

Feels that, instead of doing a shorter game with less content, you've tried to make a longer game with the same content.

Anyways.

I like the different style (a lof of Twine games are just the standard design) and the start grabs you.

But the end doesn't really delivers.

Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:08am

@Gungnir: More branching for the training would definitely have been great, but I kind of bit off more than I could chew with this game, and was lucky to even get the main story finished on time.

@PaperBlurt: You're right, within hindsight it should have been shorter. This is the first simulation game I made, and it was rather hard for me to gauge variables such as length, challenge level etc.

The original idea was actually for the game to be even longer, which wouldn't have been a good thing.

Thank you very much for your in-depth critique.

SnoringFrog says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:46am

I like the idea, but it did get a little monotonous. I am about to begin my 3rd playthrough where I will attempt to make my human smart enough to find me out.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:27pm

Game was pretty interesting and quite enjoyable but it seemed too long and repetitive.

BradleySmith says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:33pm

Interesting take on the theme. :)

Erkberg says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 4:58pm

A very interesting game. It did get a little repetetive, like stated before. A little more variety in the outcomes of actions would be nice. For example, I was hoping to find some more by going to town than just one thing or that something will happen if I let the human read enough or maybe some random event happens while going for a run. Overall though, it kept me interested for one playthrough, good job!

Dec 26, 2013 @ 1:10pm

@Erkberg: All those are very good suggestions. I would definitely have put in more of that if I'd had more time.

SPOILER


Actually, if you take the option of running at night, the human has a low risk of getting assaulted by muggers. The outcome depends on their level of strength and remaining fatigue. If they're injured, going to town the next day will open the opportunity of visiting the hospital.

loxo says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 7:02pm

I like the idea very much. But I think the game would really profit from a different kind of presentation (some graphics), because there is not much variation in the text and the given options. In the current form maybe shorter days would work better. But you had planed more, so maybe you find some time to incorporate your other ideas.

x70x says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 12:01am

I feel like this was a lot of clicking for very little payoff. A Twine game should give me something new to read as often as possible. I was skipping past the repeating text as much as possible. The concept and setup was interesting though.

Jan 1, 2014 @ 1:15am

Very interesting entry, and very cool use of twine + variables.

local minimum says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 9:57pm

I liked the tone in the text, it felt a bit long, the character training with too few ways to influence the how one progresses. It was hard to know what stats were good, so some general indication would have been great. A nice text-game though.

finefin says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 12:41pm

really interesting way to use twine for an RPG-esque game! the texts could have been a bit more philisophical/existentialist - for example the moment the human recognizes he's controlled could be fleshed out... but hey, I really like it!

RodRoy1 says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 11:44pm

nice game. The use of twine is great, and the management sim idea is good. I used twine for the competition, but i didnt manage to play much with the formatting before submission. I always love a good text game.

Peni6 says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 11:36pm

I'm not spending this long just to assign skill points

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]